Bdmetals
Bdmetals Expandable Barricade Gate Review — metal pet gate
Expandable Barricade Gate,82" Metal Safety Barrier Gate with Casters,Accordion Garden Yard Outdoor Indoor Fence Folding Security Dog Gates Wall Mount,Black
How the Dude Score is calculated
| Signal | Reading | Pts |
|---|---|---|
| Amazon rating (base) | 5.0★ | +100.0 / 100 |
| Review volume confidence | 6 reviews | +1.1 (min 0) |
| Critical (1-2★) penalty | 0% | +0.0 (min -6) |
| DudeScore Build & Materials | 82/100 | +1.9 (min -2) |
| DudeScore Safety Signals | 88/100 | +3.0 (min -3) |
| DudeScore Long-term Durability | 80/100 | +1.8 (min -2) |
| Final Dude Score | 100.0 | |
DudeScore editorial signals (build, safety, longevity) are scored independently of the star average — they reflect what owner feedback and product specs actually say about the product. Some signals are skipped when they don't fit the product type (e.g. build & durability for consumables).
Intro
I’m The Pet Dude — a gear-first pet parent — and I spent time digging through the Bdmetals Expandable Barricade Gate listing and owner feedback to see where this metal accordion gate fits in a household with pets. The gate is built from metal with a black powder coating and is described in the listing as a folding, expandable safety barrier that can be used indoors or outdoors. In practice it’s a heavy-feeling, mobile gate with casters and a top latch that keeps the unit condensed for storage. Below I break down the real-world usefulness, how it installs and moves, the safety notes that matter, and who should (and shouldn’t) pick this gate.
What it is / first look
At first glance the Bdmetals Expandable Barricade Gate looks like a metal accordion fence on wheels — a portable safety barrier rather than a one-piece door-style baby gate. The listing specifies a product height of 40.5 inches and identifies the material as metal with a Black Powder Coating. The gate has handles on both sides, a top latch to secure the fence when it’s fully folded, and a bottom crossbar whose endpoints have PVC covers that the listing says make it flat and safe.
There are a couple of sizing numbers in the listing you should note. The product specs list a Minimum Shrinkage Size of 12.4 inches and a Maximum Extension Size of 129 inches. Elsewhere in the listing the gate is described as extendable from 9.8 inches to 82.7 inches and the title mentions 82" (which aligns with the 82.7" figure). The listing also shows multiple size variants (B-S, B-M, W-S, W-M, W-L in the available sizes block), so different SKUs appear to have different extension ranges. My takeaway: check the specific size variant carefully before you buy so you match the extension range to the opening you need to block.
The gate includes four universal wheels that rotate 360 degrees. The listing says the wheels can be secured by pressing down with your foot when you push the gate to the position you want. There’s also a closure type listed as "Latch" and a spec called "Maximum Compatible Thickness: 2 inches." The listing labels the product for "Dog" pet type and lists "Dog Breed Size: All," so this is marketed as a general-purpose dog barrier rather than a breed- or weight-specific gate.
In daily use
I use—and recommend—gates for clearly defined tasks: keep dogs out of a garage while the car is in, block access to stairs, or section off a porch. The Bdmetals gate is built around mobility and expandability, so that’s where it shines.
Doors, halls, and stairways
The listing calls out that the gate can block doorways, kitchens, porches, hallways, or stairs. Because the height is 40.5 inches, it’s tall enough for most adult dogs that don’t jump extremely high. The accordion design lets you expand across wide openings when you need a long run of barrier: the listing’s maximum extension measurement varies by the variant you choose, so measure your opening and match the SKU (B-S, W-S, W-M, etc.) to that measurement.
Garages and workspaces
From the internal research themes: owners used the gate across garage openings and reported it stays put once deployed. The unit’s weight and the metal construction are called out as helpful for keeping larger dogs contained while the casters make it easy to fold or move the gate aside when you want to pass through.
Outdoor and garden use
The listing says the metal is coated with Black Powder Coating and that the gate "can be used outdoors in harsh climates for a long time," which positions it as suitable for porch and garden use. Keep in mind the listing mentions wall installation for both sides (you can fix one or both sides to the wall), and suggests drilling holes with expansion screws for wall-mount installations. If you plan to leave it outdoors, place it on level ground and expect to operate the caster locks to keep it from rolling.
Folding, moving, and storage
There’s a top latch that secures the gate when fully retracted, and handles on both sides the listing says are round and won’t harm hands. The four universal wheels rotate 360°, and the listing mentions you can secure them by lightly stepping on the wheels once the gate is in position. Internal feedback themes match that description and add that the wheels have brakes and are easy to attach during assembly.
Materials & build quality
The listing repeatedly emphasizes the metal construction and a black powder coating finish. It calls the metal "high-precision" and notes the fence structure has four rows of screws for stability. Internal owner themes highlight that the gate feels heavy-duty and sturdy once set up and that it blends in well with the space. Those consistent signals — listing callouts plus owner feedback themes pointing to a heavy-feeling metal frame — make a strong case the gate is built to be robust rather than flimsy.
Other build touches listed:
- Handles on both sides that are described as round and not harmful to hands.
- Bottom crossbar endpoints have a PVC cover, described as making it flat and safe.
- Top latch to keep the accordion section secured when retracted.
- Four universal, 360° rotating wheels; the listing notes you can step on the wheels to secure them.
- Wall installation design on both sides with a simple two-step fixed-step process mentioned in the listing.
For tools, internal themes say assembly was fairly easy but you’ll need both a wrench and a screwdriver at the same time. The listing doesn’t spell out a full tool list or whether every fastener is included, so plan to have basic hand tools on hand.
Safety considerations
Pet safety is the top priority. Here’s what the listing and owner feedback themes tell us:
- The gate’s height is 40.5 inches (listing). That’s a relevant number to compare to your dog’s jump height before assuming it will stop a determined jumper.
- The listing calls out a PVC cover at the bottom crossbar endpoints, saying that makes the bottom flat and safe. That reduces exposed sharp metal edges at ground level.
- Handles are described as round and comfortable to open, which lessens the chance of hand scrapes during use.
- The wheels rotate 360° and the listing and owner themes both describe an easy way to secure the wheels (press down/step on them); owners specifically reported wheels with brakes. Locking casters are essential for preventing unwanted rolling when pets push against a gate.
- The listing describes a latch at the top to secure the gate when folded; it also lists "Closure Type: Latch." That gives a way to lock the gate in the closed or stowed position as needed.
- The listing indicates the gate can be fixed to a wall on one or both sides, by drilling holes with expansion screws. Anchoring to the wall will always be more secure than a freestanding arrangement. The listing doesn’t specify which anchors are included, so assume you may need to provide hardware appropriate for your wall material.
What the listing does not specify (so I won’t invent): whether chew-resistant coatings exist, whether mounting hardware is included, whether small gaps between accordion slats meet any specific child-safety standard, or whether the powder coating is certified lead-free. If any of those are important to you, look for confirmation from the seller before purchase.
Practical safety callouts I make from the listing and owner themes: because the gate is metal and described as heavy-duty, it’s a strong physical barrier for most dogs, but always measure the gap at the bottom and sides after installation so a small dog or puppy can’t squeeze under or through a gap if the gate isn’t anchored to the wall. The listing’s maximum compatible thickness spec reads "2 inches" — if that relates to how the gate interfaces with a wall or frame in your setup, confirm the measurement fits your opening and hardware choices.
Who this is for / who should skip
The listing lists the pet type as "Dog" and the dog breed size as "All," and internal owner themes repeatedly note owners used it for big dogs and in garages. Based on the listing and owner themes, here’s how I’d slice the fit:
Good fit
- Owners who need a long, expandable barrier for wide openings such as garage bays, porches, or long hallways — but double-check the SKU’s maximum extension before ordering.
- Homes where you want a mobile barrier that you can fold and roll out of the way — the casters and top latch make this gate well suited to that use case.
- People who want a visually minimal, black metal gate with a powder-coated finish for indoor or outdoor use as the listing claims it handles harsh climates.
- Families who want a tall gate (40.5 inches) for larger dogs that are less likely to clear that height without serious effort.
Who should skip or be cautious
- If you need a gate specifically sized to a precise doorway and the SKU’s extension range doesn’t match, skip this gate — the listing provides multiple extension numbers across variants so confirm the right SKU.
- If you require documentation that mounting hardware is included or that the powder coating meets a specific chemical standard; the listing doesn’t specify those details.
- If you have a very small puppy or a small-breed dog prone to squeezing through gaps, verify gap sizes after installation and anchor the gate to the wall. The listing doesn’t provide exact gap measurements between slats.
- If you need an electronically controlled or smart gate — the listing explicitly lists "Not Smart Home Compatible."
Verdict
Overall, the Bdmetals Expandable Barricade Gate is a heavy-duty, flexible option for pet owners who want a long, mobile metal barrier. The listing emphasizes metal construction with black powder coating, a 40.5" height, 360° casters with the ability to secure them by stepping on the wheels, handles that are rounded and hand-friendly, a top latch to secure the gate when retracted, and PVC-covered crossbar endpoints for a flatter, safer bottom profile. Internal owner themes echo those strengths, describing the gate as sturdy, heavy-duty, and easy to move on its wheels once it’s set up.
Areas to double-check before you buy: the listing contains multiple extension measurements (12.4" min / 129" max in one place; 9.8" to 82.7" in another), and there are several size variants, so pick the correct SKU for your opening. The listing also mentions wall installation requires drilling and expansion screws, but it doesn’t itemize which anchors or tools are included, so keep basic hardware on hand. Finally, while the listing highlights outdoor-use powder coating and PVC safety covers, it doesn’t detail chemical certifications or child-specific gap compliance — check with the seller if those specifics matter in your household.
Check before you buy (quick checklist)
- Measure the opening you want to block and confirm the specific SKU’s minimum and maximum extension match your needs.
- Confirm you’re ordering the correct size variant (listing shows B-S, B-M, W-S, W-M, W-L entries).
- Have a wrench and a screwdriver ready for assembly — owner feedback says both tools are required at the same time.
- Decide whether you’ll anchor the gate to the wall. The listing mentions wall installation by drilling holes with expansion screws; verify whether you need to provide anchors for your wall type.
- Plan where to store the gate when retracted and make use of the top latch to secure it.
- If you plan outdoor, expect the Black Powder Coating to provide weather resistance per the listing, but confirm long-term exposure expectations with the seller if you have a harsh coastal or chemical environment.
If those checklist items line up with your needs, the Bdmetals gate is a practical, heavy-duty accordion-style solution for containing dogs across wide openings while allowing the gate to fold away and roll when you need access.
FAQ
- Q: Will this gate fit a very wide opening like a garage bay?
A: The listing includes multiple extension values depending on the variant. One part of the listing lists a Minimum Shrinkage Size of 12.4 inches and a Maximum Extension Size of 129 inches; another part describes extension from 9.8 inches to 82.7 inches and the title references 82 inches. There are several SKU sizes (B-S, B-M, W-S, W-M, W-L) so measure the opening you want to block and choose the SKU that matches the extension range.
- Q: Is this gate tall enough to stop large dogs or jumpers?
A: The listing specifies the gate height as 40.5 inches. Whether that stops a particular dog depends on that dog’s jumping ability; the listing lists "Dog Breed Size: All," but you should compare 40.5 inches to your dog’s actual jump height before relying on it as the sole barrier.
- Q: Does it have locking wheels so it won’t roll when the dog pushes it?
A: The listing says the gate has four universal 360° wheels that can be secured by lightly stepping on them once the gate is positioned. Internal owner themes also describe the wheels as having brakes. That alignment suggests the casters lock to keep the gate from rolling in use.
- Q: Is the gate suitable for outdoor use?
A: The listing states the folding door gate uses high-precision metal coated with a Black Powder Coating and specifically says it "can be used outdoors in harsh climates for a long time." That indicates the manufacturer intends it for outdoor as well as indoor use, but the listing doesn’t provide details on specific environmental ratings.
- Q: What tools do I need to assemble and install it?
A: The listing describes assembly as "very reasonable and simple" and internal owner themes say assembly was fairly easy but required using both a wrench and a screwdriver at the same time. The listing also mentions you can fix one side or both sides to the wall by drilling holes with expansion screws; the listing does not itemize whether those anchors are included.
- Q: Can I secure the gate when it’s fully folded for storage?
A: Yes — the listing states that when you fully retract and store the retractable gate you can press down on the top crossbar to fix the entire gate; it also mentions a latch on the top to secure the pet fence when fully folded.
- Q: What color options are available?
A: The listing specifies the color as Black. Image file names and the product color field indicate Black as the available color for this listing.
- Q: Is the product smart-home compatible or electronic?
A: No — the listing specifically lists "Smart Home Compatibility: Not Smart Home Compatible."
Frequently asked questions
Will this gate fit a very wide opening like a garage bay?
The listing includes multiple extension values depending on the variant. One part of the listing lists a Minimum Shrinkage Size of 12.4 inches and a Maximum Extension Size of 129 inches; another part describes extension from 9.8 inches to 82.7 inches and the title references 82 inches. There are several SKU sizes (B-S, B-M, W-S, W-M, W-L) so measure the opening you want to block and choose the SKU that matches the extension range.
Is this gate tall enough to stop large dogs or jumpers?
The listing specifies the gate height as 40.5 inches. Whether that stops a particular dog depends on that dog’s jumping ability; the listing lists "Dog Breed Size: All," but you should compare 40.5 inches to your dog’s actual jump height before relying on it as the sole barrier.
Does it have locking wheels so it won’t roll when the dog pushes it?
The listing says the gate has four universal 360° wheels that can be secured by lightly stepping on them once the gate is positioned. Internal owner themes also describe the wheels as having brakes, which suggests the casters lock to keep the gate from rolling in use.
Is the gate suitable for outdoor use?
The listing states the folding door gate uses metal coated with a Black Powder Coating and specifically says it "can be used outdoors in harsh climates for a long time." That indicates the manufacturer intends it for outdoor as well as indoor use, though the listing doesn’t provide specific environmental ratings.
What tools do I need to assemble and install it?
The listing describes assembly as simple, and internal owner themes report assembly was fairly easy but required using both a wrench and a screwdriver at the same time. The listing also notes wall installation involves drilling holes with expansion screws, but it does not specify whether anchors or all hardware are included.
Can I secure the gate when it’s fully folded for storage?
Yes. The listing states that when you fully retract and store the gate you can press down on the top crossbar to fix the entire gate, and it mentions a top latch to secure the fence when it is fully folded.
What color options are available?
The listing specifies the color as Black. Image filenames and the product color field indicate Black as the available color for this SKU.
Think it’s right for your pet?
Double-check size, age, and species fit on the listing. The same affiliate link covers details and checkout — supports the site at no extra cost to you.
Affiliate disclosure: Links on this page may earn us a commission. You pay the same price; it helps fund more ridiculous field tests.