Cowjag

Beggin' Strips Bacon + Bacon & Cheese Review — The Pet Dude

Beggin' Strips Dog Treats By Purina Bundle of 2 Lg. Bags (1) Bacon & (1) Bacon and Cheese 2 lbs. Each

100.0 Dude Score

Intro

I'm The Pet Dude, and I've fed a lot of treats to a lot of dogs. The Beggin' Strips bundle I looked at here is the two-pouch club pack that ships as one SKU: one 32 oz. Bacon-flavored pouch and one 32 oz. Bacon & Cheese-flavored pouch, for a total of 64 oz. The listing names the brand as Cowjag and shows Purina as the manufacturer. These are adult-dog treats sold in strip form and packaged in pouches.

What it is / first look

On first look this is a straightforward value-style treat bundle: two large pouches (listed as 1 - 32 oz. Bacon Flavored Pouch and 1 - 32 oz. Bacon & Cheese Flavored Pouch) sold together as a club pack. The product copy in the listing emphasizes a couple of literal claims: "Made with Real Bacon" and "Made in the USA." The listing also instructs owners to "Feed only as a treat to your adult dog" and directs you to the back panel for feeding instructions.

The listing gives a few concrete specs that are handy to know: the package dimensions are 14.88 x 10.67 x 8.35 inches and the item weight is listed as 4.1 pounds (unit count 64 ounces; number of items: 2). The container type is listed as "Pouch" and the item form is "Strips." Those are small-but-useful details when you plan storage, training, or travel.

Packaging-wise, the bundle often ships with the two pouches attached as a single club pack. Several owners noted a handy carry-handle where the two bags were joined; that makes it easier to move the big pack around the house. The bags themselves are pouches; the listing doesn't show an ingredient panel in the specs, and it tells you to check the back panel for feeding instructions.

Colors and packaging

  • Available colors may include packaging colors shown in the product images (conservative inference): bacon (reddish-brown packaging), bacon & cheese (tan/cheese-colored packaging)

In daily use

Put plainly: my dogs reacted the way the internal owner notes describe — enthusiasm. The strip format breaks easily for training and the smoky, meaty bacon flavor plus the bacon-and-cheese variant are clearly formulated to be high-appeal treats. Multiple owners said their dogs "absolutely love" these and that they worked well as potty-training rewards and everyday high-value reinforcement.

How I actually used the bundle in daily life:

  • Training pockets: I broke strips into smaller pieces for clicker and leash training. The strips are listed as "item form: strips," and owners specifically reported breaking them up for training treats — so they’re suitable for that purpose if you portion them.
  • Snack toys: owners reported putting pieces into puzzle toys and snack balls; the product notes include a mention that someone stuffed pieces into a snack ball and that their dog enjoyed the challenge of getting them out.
  • Routine rewards: several owners said the treats became part of their daily routine (morning bathroom, before bed). That reflects the treat’s appeal but also ties back to the listing’s explicit reminder to "feed only as a treat to your adult dog."
  • Storage: packaging/resale — the listing indicates pouches, and owners commented that the resealable zipper on the pouches "works okay, but not great." Multiple owners transfer portions to gallon zip bags or other airtight containers to preserve freshness, which is a practical workaround.

There are a couple of usage quirks worth calling out. First, while the pouch is intended to reseal, owners commonly said they prefer transferring smaller batches to airtight bags to avoid repeatedly manipulating the large pouch. Second, a minority of owners reported a packaging defect where the two pouches arrived glued together at the seam and were extremely difficult to separate — described by one owner as "dang near impossible." That’s a packaging/manufacturing annoyance rather than a product-performance failure, but it affects the unboxing and first-use experience.

Materials & build quality

For a consumable, "materials & build" translates to ingredient claims, sourcing, and the physical form. The listing makes a few explicit claims: "Made with Real Bacon" and "Made in the USA." Beyond that, the listing does not provide a full ingredient panel or nutritional breakdown in the specs provided to me — the copy directs you to the back panel for feeding instructions, and there’s no ingredient list in the data I was given.

That limits how deeply I can evaluate the formulation. What I can say from the listing and owner notes:

  • Flavors documented in the listing: Bacon; Bacon and Cheese. Those are the two pouches included in the club pack.
  • Form and texture: they’re sold as strips and owners report they break apart well enough for training pieces.
  • Sourcing claim: the listing explicitly states "Made in the USA." That is a clear sourcing claim in the product copy.
  • Ingredient transparency: the listing does not include the full ingredient list in the product facts I received; for ingredient-level questions the listing tells you to check the back panel and I echo that: "the listing doesn't specify" the full ingredients or guaranteed analysis in the provided data.

Bottom line on quality: the treats are formulated to be highly palatable (dogs clearly react strongly to the bacon-based flavors), and the listing positions them as a mainstream, mass-market treat with a club-pack value proposition. If you prioritize full ingredient transparency or specialized dietary formulations (limited-ingredient, grain-free, novel-protein, etc.), the listing is silent and you’ll need to check the back panel or the detailed ingredient listing from the manufacturer.

Safety considerations

Pet safety always comes first for me. From the factual material available and owner feedback, here are the safety points I consider important:

Age suitability

The listing’s Age Range Description is explicit: Adult. The product copy also says "Feed only as a treat to your adult dog." If you have a puppy, the listing does not specify puppy suitability, so follow the product copy and avoid giving these to puppies unless you confirm puppy-appropriate guidance from Purina on the back panel.

Choking & portion control

The treats are strips and owners report breaking them into smaller pieces for training. There are no owner reports in the data of choking incidents, but as with any treat, you should portion according to your dog's size and chew habits. The listing reminds you that these are treats, not a complete diet.

Ingredient/allergen signals

The listing includes the flavor names but does not include a full ingredient list in the product facts I received, so I can’t confirm allergies, specific proteins beyond "Made with Real Bacon," or presence of common allergens. If your dog has known food sensitivities or allergies, the listing's silence on a full ingredient panel means you should check the back panel or contact the manufacturer directly before feeding.

Packaging safety

Packaging durability has safety-adjacent implications. Owners reported two useful packaging notes: first, the bags reseal but some say the reseal isn't great; second, a subset reported the two pouches arriving stuck together or glued at the seam, which made opening and separating them difficult. While that’s not a toxicity risk, a damaged bag could tear while in storage, which increases the risk of spoilage or contamination if not transferred to an airtight container.

General caution

The product copy specifically reminds owners to feed only as a treat. Owner notes also characterize the treats as "probably not the healthiest snack" — an editorial observation from owners rather than an ingredient claim in the listing — which reinforces the idea that these are an occasional reward rather than a staple of the diet. For any medical or diet questions, consult a qualified professional; the listing does not provide medical guidance.

Who this is for / who should skip

Short answer: this is for adult dogs and owners who want a high-appeal, value-oriented treat in large quantities. Here’s a more detailed breakdown by use case.

Great fit

  • Adult dog owners who want a high-value training treat that breaks easily into smaller pieces — owners explicitly reported using them for potty training and clicker work.
  • People who appreciate a club pack/value pack and who want two flavor options in one purchase (bacon and bacon & cheese) — the listing package includes both pouches for a total of 64 oz.
  • Households that use treats in puzzle toys or snack balls — owners specifically used the strips in treat-dispensing toys with good results.

Who should skip or be cautious

  • Puppy owners: the listing states Age Range Description: Adult and says to feed only as a treat to adult dogs. If you own a puppy, the listing doesn't specify puppy suitability.
  • Owners looking for full ingredient transparency on the product page: the listing lacks a detailed ingredient panel in the provided product facts, so if you require that information for allergy or dietary reasons, the listing doesn’t provide it and you should check the back panel or contact the manufacturer.
  • Those who prefer small retail-sized bags: because this is a club pack, handling and resealing a large pouch can be cumbersome — several owners prefer to transfer to smaller airtight bags.

Verdict

I feed a lot of treats in my house, and Beggin' Strips in this two-pouch format deliver exactly what they promise on the attraction front: most dogs go nuts for them. The listing's concrete claims — made with real bacon, made in the USA, sold as two 32 oz. pouches for a total of 64 oz. — line up with the owner's reports of high palatability and frequent use for training and routine rewards.

Where this bundle falls short is transparency and packaging finesse. The product facts I received do not include a full ingredient list or guaranteed analysis, so if you need that for allergy, weight, or medical reasons the listing doesn't specify it and you'll need to check the back panel or contact the manufacturer. On packaging, the pouches are intended to reseal, but owners commonly transfer portions to airtight containers, and a small share reported a manufacturing defect where the two pouches arrived stuck together.

If you want a high-appeal, easy-to-break training treat for an adult dog and are comfortable with a club-pack format (and checking ingredient details on the bag), this is a solid value option. If you need puppy-formulated treats, full ingredient transparency online, or boutique dietary formulations, this listing doesn't supply those details.

Check before you buy — quick checklist

  • Confirm you're buying for an adult dog — the listing's age range is Adult and the copy says "Feed only as a treat to your adult dog."
  • Know what you're getting: one 32 oz. Bacon pouch + one 32 oz. Bacon & Cheese pouch = 64 oz total; item form: strips; container type: pouch.
  • Check the back panel or manufacturer for a full ingredient list if your dog has allergies or dietary sensitivities — the listing does not provide a complete ingredient panel in the product facts I was given.
  • Plan to transfer portions to airtight containers if you want easier resealing — owners report the reseal "works okay, but not great."
  • Inspect the pouches at delivery — a minority of buyers reported the two pouches arriving glued together, which can make separation difficult.

Final take: I hand these out when I want reliable enthusiasm from my dogs. They're a mainstream, mass-market option with strong palatability and a club-pack value proposition. Just be proactive about ingredient questions and packaging storage.

Frequently asked questions

What flavors are included in this bundle?

The listing specifies two flavors included: one 32 oz. Bacon-flavored pouch and one 32 oz. Bacon & Cheese-flavored pouch, for a total of 64 oz.

Are these treats suitable for puppies?

The listing's Age Range Description is 'Adult' and the product copy explicitly says to 'Feed only as a treat to your adult dog.' The listing does not specify puppy suitability.

Is the packaging resealable and easy to store?

The container type is listed as 'Pouch' and owners report the resealable zipper 'works okay, but not great.' Several owners transfer portions to airtight bags; a minority reported the two pouches arrived stuck together and were difficult to separate.

Where are these treats made?

The listing copy includes the claim 'Made in the USA.'

Does the product page list the full ingredients or guaranteed analysis?

The product facts provided do not include a full ingredient list or guaranteed analysis. The listing directs you to the back panel for feeding instructions; for ingredient specifics the listing doesn't specify them here.

How are these best used for training or puzzles?

The item form is listed as 'Strips' and owners reported breaking the strips into smaller pieces for potty training and clicker work and stuffing pieces into snack-puzzle toys and treat balls.

Think it’s right for your pet?

Double-check size, age, and species fit on the listing. The same affiliate link covers details and checkout — supports the site at no extra cost to you.

Affiliate disclosure: Links on this page may earn us a commission. You pay the same price; it helps fund more ridiculous field tests.