Blue Buffalo

Blue Buffalo True Chews Chicken & Apple Review

Blue Buffalo True Chews Dog Treats, Made in the USA with Natural Ingredients, Chicken and Apple Sausage Recipe, 12-oz Bag

100.0 Dude Score

intro

Hi — I’m The Pet Dude. I chase down the gear and snacks that actually make life with pets easier, safer, and more fun. Today I’m taking a deep look at Blue Buffalo True Chews Dog Treats, Chicken & Apple Sausage Recipe in the 12-ounce bag. The headline features are straightforward: real USA chicken as the first ingredient, made in the USA, and formulated without corn, wheat, soy, artificial flavors, or preservatives. The listing positions these as a tender, chewy reward for training and everyday use across all life stages and breed sizes, and owner research notes I reviewed show a mix of enthusiastic fans and a few freshness/texture complaints. I broke down what matters for training, seniors, picky eaters, and safety so you can decide if these belong in your treat jar.

What it is / first look

The listing describes Blue Buffalo True Chews Chicken & Apple as a soft, sausage-style dog treat made with real USA chicken listed as the first ingredient. It’s sold in a 12-ounce bag and marketed as a limited-ingredient, grain-free snack with apple as a special ingredient. Packaging identifies the product as dry, tender & chewy, and suitable for behavior uses like training, behavior modification, everyday use, and special occasions.

Two listing details are worth calling out as you look at the bag: the product is labeled for All Life Stages and the listing also includes a field for Breed Recommendation: All Breed Sizes. Separately, the listing’s technical field shows Dog Breed Size: Medium. Those are the exact fields the manufacturer provides; how they map to your individual dog depends on your dog’s size, age, and chew style.

What's on the label (short)

  • Real chicken listed as the first ingredient.
  • Apple is included as a special ingredient.
  • Allergen info listed as corn-free, soy-free, wheat-free.
  • No artificial flavors or preservatives, per the listing.
  • Made in the USA.
  • Sold as a 12-ounce bag.

In daily use

These treats are positioned and packaged as training and reward snacks, and in daily routines they behave like other soft training treats: they’re intended to be easy to tear into smaller pieces and quick to hand out for reinforcement.

Training & behavior

The listing explicitly lists training, behavior modification, and everyday use as recommended uses. The treats are described as tender and easy to tear, which makes them convenient for repeated small rewards during a session. Owners I reviewed reported that the pieces are small and easy to break, with several people noting the size works well for stuffing into puzzle toys or using as quick rewards without filling up a dog.

Puppies

The product listing states Age Range: All Life Stages, so these are marketed for puppies as well as adults and seniors. The tender & chewy description and multiple owner notes about the treats being soft and easy to break suggest they can be portioned down to suit a puppy’s needs; however, the listing does not specify any age-based feeding guidelines or caloric info.

Seniors & picky eaters

One consistent positive thread in research notes: senior and picky dogs sometimes respond very strongly to these treats. I saw a detailed note from an owner who said a senior chihuahua who had been off food took to these treats when little else appealed. Multiple other notes described picky pups and small dogs that loved the flavor and texture. The listing’s first ingredient being real chicken and the soft texture line up with these reports.

Large breeds

The listing calls these suitable for all breed sizes, but also includes a data field of Dog Breed Size: Medium. Owners say the treats are on the smaller side (one compared them to the size of a silver dollar), so if you have a giant or very food-driven large-breed dog you may find you go through bags quickly. The listing doesn’t include a larger-bag option in the provided specs, and the item is sold as a 12-ounce bag.

Materials & build quality

For edible products, "materials" translates to ingredient sourcing and formulation transparency. The listing makes several explicit claims that support a higher ingredient-quality impression:

  • Real chicken is listed as the first ingredient.
  • The treats are made in the USA.
  • The product contains no chicken (or poultry) by-product meals, and no corn, wheat, soy, artificial flavors, or preservatives, per the manufacturer copy in the listing.
  • The product is marketed as limited ingredient and high-protein.

Those are useful, concrete listing points. The internal notes also include a consumer observation that the percentage of meat used in the formula declined from a previous high of 25%—this is an owner-reported perception, not a manufacturer-stated fact, but it appeared repeatedly enough in research notes that it’s worth flagging as a point some owners have noticed.

Safety considerations

Safety is always first for me. From the available data, here's what to know:

  • Allergen profile: The listing explicitly states the treats are corn-free, soy-free, and wheat-free. If your dog has grain or grain-protein sensitivities to those specific ingredients, the listing positions these treats as free from those allergens. The listing does not claim a full hypoallergenic or single-protein guarantee beyond what appears on the label.
  • Artificial additives: The manufacturer copy states the treats contain no artificial flavors or preservatives.
  • Texture & choking risk: The listing and several research notes describe the treats as tender, chewy, and easy to break into smaller pieces. Owners reported tearing them into smaller pieces for seniors and puppies and stuffing them into toys. That tends to reduce choking risk compared with hard, large biscuits; still, as with any treat, monitor dogs while they eat—especially fast gulpers and unsupervised chewers.
  • Freshness concerns: One critical pattern in internal notes is an occasional bag that arrived rancid or with an off odor at opening. The majority of notes describe the treats as fresh, soft, and not stinky, but a small number reported a rancid bag on arrival. Because edible safety depends on freshness, I recommend inspecting each bag on arrival and discarding any product with an off smell or visible spoilage.
  • Ingredient transparency gaps: The listing highlights chicken-as-first-ingredient and apple, plus the "no by-products" and no-corn/wheat/soy callouts. It does not provide a full guaranteed analysis or caloric/feeding-by-weight guide in the supplied specs. If your dog has specific dietary restrictions beyond what the label specifies, consult a professional and check the full ingredient list on the manufacturer's packaging (the listing copy doesn't include the full guaranteed analysis in the provided data).

Who this is for / who should skip

I try to be specific here — this product is not "one-size-fits-all." Use the listing facts and the owner experience patterns to decide.

Great fit

  • Owners looking for a soft training treat that’s easy to break into smaller pieces — the listing says the treats are tender and easy to tear.
  • Dog parents who prefer formulas that list real chicken first and prioritize no corn, wheat, soy, or artificial flavors/preservatives.
  • People who want a U.S.-made option; the listing explicitly says the treats are made in the USA.
  • Families with picky eaters or senior dogs who need a softer, more palatable reward — internal notes include multiple reports of senior and picky dogs loving these.

Who should skip or be cautious

  • If your dog needs a very large, filling treat you may go through the 12-ounce bag quickly — the listing shows a 12-ounce unit and research notes describe the pieces as relatively small.
  • If you have a dog with strict dietary restrictions beyond corn/soy/wheat avoidance, or if you need exact percentages and a guaranteed analysis for medical diets, the listing doesn't provide full nutritional breakdowns in the supplied product facts. Check the full packaging or consult the manufacturer.
  • Buyers who cannot tolerate any risk of occasional spoiled product should note research notes that document at least one bag arriving rancid; inspect each bag on arrival.

Verdict

Bottom line: Blue Buffalo True Chews Chicken & Apple comes across as a convenience-forward, soft training treat that checks a lot of boxes on ingredient claims: real chicken first, no chicken by-product meals, no corn/wheat/soy, and no artificial flavors or preservatives, plus a made-in-USA claim. In my view they’re a solid mid-to-premium training snack for most households, especially if you need a soft option for seniors or picky dogs.

Strengths I keep coming back to: the tearability for small rewards, the real-chicken-first ingredient callout, and the fact the listing positions them for all life stages and behavior/training work. On the flip side, the 12-ounce bag size and small piece size mean you may consume a fair number of bags if you’re working with a large or very food-motivated dog. Also, a minority of owner notes mention freshness problems, so check the bag when it arrives.

Check before you buy (quick checklist)

  • Confirm the 12-ounce bag size meets your training frequency and household needs.
  • Inspect the bag on opening for any off or rancid odor—research notes include at least one report of a rancid bag on arrival.
  • Break treats into smaller pieces for puppies, seniors, or puzzle feeders—the listing says they tear easily.
  • If your dog has complex dietary needs, check the full ingredient panel and guaranteed analysis on the manufacturer packaging; the listing highlights key exclusions but doesn’t show a full analysis in the supplied specs.

Colors available (packaging)

The product photos show packaging artwork and color variations. Available colors may include red, orange, beige, green, and white tones in the pack art. Image file names associated with the product include:

  • B0BJGD9BJG_9520.jpg
  • B0BJGD9BJG_4284.jpg
  • B0BJGD9BJG_5423.jpg
  • B0BJGD9BJG_4382.jpg
  • B0BJGD9BJG_7947.jpg
  • B0BJGD9BJG_1586.jpg
  • B0BJGD9BJG_4177.jpg
  • B0BJGD9BJG.jpg

My take as The Pet Dude

I keep a jar of soft training treats handy and for most of my dogs a tender, real-chicken option is ideal. Based on the listing claims and the research notes, Blue Buffalo True Chews Chicken & Apple fits that role well: real chicken first, apple as a complementary ingredient, and no corn/soy/wheat or artificial flavors, with manufacturing in the USA. If you have a senior, small, or picky dog that needs small, easy-to-chew rewards, these are worth trying.

That said, expect the 12-ounce bag to be on the smaller side for heavy trainers or large-breed dogs, and inspect the bag carefully when it arrives because a small number of owners reported a rancid bag on opening. If you prefer a larger bulk bag or need a full guaranteed analysis before feeding, check the manufacturer’s full packaging or product page—those details are not included in the supplied listing facts above.

Overall, I’d call these a practical, mostly reliable training treat with an ingredient profile that aligns with modern limited-ingredient, grain-free preferences. Expect good palatability for many picky dogs, the convenience of easy tearing for small rewards, and the caveat that freshness should be checked at delivery.

Frequently asked questions

Are these treats safe for puppies and senior dogs?

The listing specifies Age Range: All Life Stages, and the product is described as tender and easy to tear into smaller pieces. Internal notes also include reports of senior and picky dogs enjoying the treats, which suggests they can be portioned for puppies and seniors. The listing does not provide age-specific feeding guidelines.

Do these treats contain common allergens like corn, wheat, or soy?

The listing explicitly lists the allergen information as Corn-Free, Soy Free, Wheat Free and states the treats contain no artificial flavors or preservatives.

How big is the bag and what size are the treats?

The product is sold as a 12-ounce bag (unit count: 12 ounce). Research notes describe the pieces as relatively small—one owner compared them to the size of a silver dollar—so they are easy to break into smaller portions. The listing does not provide precise treat dimensions.

Are there any freshness or spoilage reports I should worry about?

Most notes describe the treats as fresh and soft, but internal research notes include at least one report of a bag that smelled rancid on opening. The listing itself does not specify shelf-life or a guaranteed freshness policy, so inspect each bag on arrival and discard any product with an off odor.

Is real chicken the main ingredient?

Yes. The listing states that real chicken is the first ingredient and highlights 'Real Chicken First' as a bullet feature.

Can I use these for training and behavior work?

Yes. The listing lists Specific Uses For Product as Behavior and Recommended Uses as Dog Training, Behavior Modification, Everyday Use, and Special Occasions. The treats are described as tender and easy to tear, which suits repeated small rewards.

Is this a grain-free formula?

The listing describes the product as Grain-Free and also highlights that it is corn-free, soy-free, and wheat-free.

Think it’s right for your pet?

Double-check size, age, and species fit on the listing. The same affiliate link covers details and checkout — supports the site at no extra cost to you.

Affiliate disclosure: Links on this page may earn us a commission. You pay the same price; it helps fund more ridiculous field tests.