Cleverpup

Cleverpup Bistro Box Small Review — Travel Dog Food Kit

Cleverpup Small 7-Piece Bistro Box Dog Food Travel Kit, 6-Cup BPA-Free Kibble Storage, 2 Silicone Bowls, Mat & Scoop - Portable Pet Food Kit for Weekends, Overnights, Daycare & Camping, Leopard

100.0 Dude Score

Intro

I test and evaluate a lot of pet gear, and the Cleverpup Small 7-Piece Bistro Box is one of those travel-focused products that promises to keep meals organized when you’re out with a dog. On paper it’s a compact “all-in-one” kit built around a 6-cup capacity, foldable bowls and a handful of travel-friendly extras. In this review I walk through the kit, how it behaves in everyday use, what the materials tell you about longevity and care, safety considerations I pay attention to, who should consider it (and who might skip it), and a final verdict with a short "check before you buy" checklist.

What it is / first look

The Cleverpup Small Bistro Box is sold as a travel kit that combines food storage and feeding gear into a single portable unit. The listing describes it as an "all-in-one travel kit" and lists these included components: an insulated bag with two small food-safe food containers (6 cups total), two small food-safe collapsible bowls (2 cups), a feeding tray, and a food-safe food scoop. The product is presented in a Small size (6 cups total) or a Large size (12 cups total), and the kit is intended for outdoor and active uses such as hiking, camping, walking, training and daycare, per the listing's specific uses for the product.

Physical specs the listing provides: the Small item dimensions are 8" L x 5.5" W x 6.5" H and the item volume/capacity is stated as 6 cups. Materials called out in the listing include woven polyester with vegan leather details for the bag and food-safe silicone for the collapsible bowls. The title and product copy also describe the kibble storage as BPA-free and the listing notes that the bowls are dishwasher safe while the bag should be spot cleaned with mild soap and air dried.

Design and feature highlights the listing emphasizes: two zippered food containers, a raised-edge feeding tray to contain messes, a dedicated ice pack pocket, a treat pocket, and an overall compact design that the listing says "fits neatly inside a backpack." Other features listed are collapsible, adjustable, durable, lightweight, portable, food-grade material and nonslip elements.

In daily use

I look at travel kits like this through several everyday lenses: quick potty breaks and walks, day-long outings, overnight trips and multi-day camping when you want to carry food and feeding gear without a lot of bulk. The Cleverpup Bistro Box is set up specifically for portability and single-dog day trips based on what the listing states.

Short outings, training and walking

The kit’s stated purpose includes training and walking. The Small kit's 6-cup capacity and the two included collapsible bowls make it straightforward to carry a single dog’s kibble and a water bowl while you’re out for an extended walk or a training session. The listing calls out a dedicated treat pocket and a scoop, so you have measured servings and a place for small rewards without mixing them into the main storage space.

Overnights, daycare and short trips

For overnights and daycare drop-offs the 6-cup total capacity is the key number to watch. The Small kit gives you a compact way to portion meals for a day or two depending on your dog’s feeding amount. The listing also highlights an insulated bag and a dedicated ice pack pocket, which helps keep food cooler during car rides or when you want to slow spoilage during warm weather travel.

Camping and longer outdoor use

The listing calls camping and outdoor use out explicitly among the kit’s specific uses. If you need more capacity for a longer trip, the listing indicates a Large size option with 12 cups total. The Small kit’s stated compact design is meant to slip into a backpack, and internal research notes I reviewed repeatedly flagged the kit as "great for traveling" and "well organized," which aligns with the listing’s compact/portable claims.

Materials & build quality

Here’s what the listing provides on construction and care, which is the primary source for any quality assessment:

  • The bag material is described as woven polyester with vegan leather details.
  • Bowls are listed as food-safe silicone and dishwasher safe.
  • The product is labeled as having food-grade materials and the listing says the food containers, bowls and scoop "meet human-grade standards."
  • Cleaning instructions in the listing: spot clean the bag with mild soap and air dry; the bowls are dishwasher safe.
  • Dimensions for the Small kit: 8" x 5.5" x 6.5" and 6 cups total capacity.

From the listing's language the kit is aimed at being both functional and presentable—"vegan leather details" and woven polyester suggest a finished look beyond a plain nylon pouch. The inclusion of food-safe silicone bowls and an explicit dishwasher-safe claim for the bowls is a practical touch for hygiene and maintenance. Internal research notes I examined contain multiple positive references to perceived quality and organization—phrases such as "great quality," "best design and quality," and "zippers and all items included seem good quality and durable" appear as recurring themes in those notes, supporting the listing's claim that the kit is built to feel premium for a travel accessory.

Safety considerations

Safety is always front and center for travel gear. The listing contains several safety- and food-handling-relevant claims:

  • BPA-free kibble storage is explicitly mentioned in the product title.
  • Bowls and containers are described as "food safe" and the listing says the containers, bowls and scoop meet "human-grade standards."
  • The listing lists "nonslip" among its special features, which is relevant for keeping bowls and the feeding tray stable while feeding on uneven surfaces.

Those labels in the listing are reassuring for food contact. The listing does not mention other safety specifics like temperature ratings for the insulated pocket, choking-risk guidance for chews or treats, or certifications, so I won’t invent them. If you need medical or dietary safety guidance for your dog, the listing doesn’t replace professional advice—consult a qualified professional for feeding or allergy concerns.

Who this is for / who should skip

Use cases called out in the listing (Active, Training, Walking, Hiking, Camping, Outdoor) and the two size options (Small — 6 cups; Large — 12 cups) give a clear way to decide whether the Small kit is the right fit.

Who this fits

  • Owners who want a compact, organized solution for day trips and short overnights: the Small kit lists 6 cups total capacity and includes the bowls, scoop and tray you need.
  • People who value easy cleaning: the listing states bowls are dishwasher safe and the bag can be spot cleaned with mild soap and air dried.
  • Travelers who want insulated storage and a place for an ice pack: the listing calls out an insulated bag and a dedicated ice pack pocket.

Who should skip or consider the Large instead

  • If you routinely need more than 6 cups of kibble for multi-day outings, the listing indicates a Large 12-cup option—check that size rather than stretching the Small kit beyond its stated capacity.
  • The listing does not specify life-stage suitability (puppy/adult/senior), so if you need kit features tied specifically to a medical diet or large-volume portions, verify portioning needs against the 6-cup capacity before buying.

Verdict

Overall, the Cleverpup Small 7-Piece Bistro Box presents as a thoughtful, travel-focused kit with an emphasis on organization and food-safe materials. The listing gives a clear set of included components, materials and care instructions—woven polyester and vegan leather accents, food-safe silicone bowls, dishwasher-safe bowls and spot-clean bag care—plus two size options so you can scale up if 6 cups isn't enough. Internal research notes I reviewed align with the product copy: reviewers consistently praise the kit as "great for traveling," "well organized," and of good quality relative to its positioning.

Pros (based on listing & compiled research notes)

  • All-in-one kit with container, bowls, scoop, tray and a treat pocket per the listing.
  • Portable small size with stated 6-cup capacity and backpack-friendly dimensions (8" x 5.5" x 6.5" for Small).
  • Food-safe materials called out across containers, bowls and scoop, plus BPA-free storage language in the title.
  • Dishwasher-safe bowls and simple bag-care instructions make cleaning straightforward.
  • Listing highlights an insulated bag and dedicated ice pack pocket for travel-sensitive food or warm-weather trips.

Cons / limitations (based on listing & compiled research notes)

  • Small capacity is 6 cups total by the listing—plan around that amount or choose the Large option if you need more.
  • The listing doesn’t spell out per-bowl capacities unambiguously: it lists "two small food safe collapsible bowls (2 cups)" without clarifying whether that is per bowl or the combined capacity; the listing itself is ambiguous on that point.
  • The product copy doesn’t include hard specs like ice pack temperature performance, certifications beyond "human-grade standards," or life-stage recommendations.

Check before you buy

  • Confirm the capacity you need: the Small kit is listed as 6 cups total; a Large option is listed as 12 cups total.
  • Decide whether the Small kit’s listed dimensions (8" x 5.5" x 6.5") and 6-cup capacity match your typical daily or overnight food needs.
  • Note the care instructions: bag = spot clean with mild soap and air dry; bowls = dishwasher safe.
  • Verify the colors available and whether the aesthetic matches your other gear (colors are listed in the product information below).
  • Availability on the listing currently shows a low-stock note; the listing states "Only 20 left in stock - order soon."

If you want a tidy, single-dog travel kit with food-safe components and a compact footprint, the Cleverpup Small Bistro Box does what the listing promises. If you routinely need larger volumes of kibble for longer trips, consider the Large 12-cup option the listing provides.

Available colors (as listed):

  • Leopard
  • Sand
  • Graphite
  • Heather Grey
  • Tan Checkerboard

Frequently asked questions

How much kibble does the Small Cleverpup Bistro Box hold?

The listing states the Small kit has a total capacity of 6 cups. The product also comes in a Large option listed at 12 cups total.

What materials are the bag and bowls made from and how do I clean them?

The listing specifies the bag is made from woven polyester with vegan leather details and the bowls are food-safe silicone. Cleaning instructions from the listing: spot clean the bag with mild soap and air dry; the bowls are listed as dishwasher safe.

Are the food containers and bowls food safe?

Yes. The listing describes the containers, bowls and scoop as meeting human-grade standards and calls the bowls food-safe; the product title also mentions BPA-free kibble storage.

Does the kit include an ice pack or an insulated pocket?

The listing details an insulated bag with a dedicated ice pack pocket. The ice pack itself is not listed as an included component.

What exactly comes in the Small 7-piece kit?

Per the listing, the Small kit includes an insulated bag with two small food-safe food containers (6 cups total), two small food-safe collapsible bowls (2 cups), a feeding tray and a food-safe food scoop, plus a treat pocket.

How durable is the kit for frequent travel?

The listing calls the materials durable and lightweight, and internal research notes consistently describe the kit as "great for traveling," "well organized," and "good quality and durable," which supports the listing’s durability claims.

Is the bowl capacity listed per bowl or total?

The listing is ambiguous: it lists "two small food safe collapsible bowls (2 cups)." The listing does not specify whether that refers to per-bowl capacity or combined bowl capacity.

Is this suitable for long multi-day trips?

The listing highlights camping and outdoor use and offers a Large size with 12 cups total. If you need more than the Small kit’s 6-cup capacity for multi-day trips, the listing indicates you should consider the Large option.

Think it’s right for your pet?

Double-check size, age, and species fit on the listing. The same affiliate link covers details and checkout — supports the site at no extra cost to you.

Affiliate disclosure: Links on this page may earn us a commission. You pay the same price; it helps fund more ridiculous field tests.