Fromm
Fromm Blueberry Blasts Crunchy O's Review
Fromm Crunchy O's Blueberry Blasts with Chicken Dog Treats, 26 oz
How the Dude Score is calculated
| Signal | Reading | Pts |
|---|---|---|
| Amazon rating (base) | 4.9★ | +98.0 / 100 |
| Review volume confidence | 264 reviews | +3.0 (min 0) |
| Critical (1-2★) penalty | 0% | +0.0 (min -6) |
| DudeScore Build & Materials | 78/100 | +1.7 (min -2) |
| DudeScore Safety Signals | 85/100 | +2.8 (min -3) |
| Final Dude Score | 100.0 | |
DudeScore editorial signals (build, safety, longevity) are scored independently of the star average — they reflect what owner feedback and product specs actually say about the product. Some signals are skipped when they don't fit the product type (e.g. build & durability for consumables).
Intro
I'm The Pet Dude — a pet parent and gear nerd who tests snacks, toys and training gear across breeds and life stages. Today I'm looking closely at Fromm Crunchy O's Blueberry Blasts with Chicken Dog Treats (26 oz). The listing calls these dry, circle-shaped, blueberry-infused snacks sold in a pouch and recommended for training and positive reinforcement. They’re labeled for all life stages and the product copy highlights chicken, blueberries and a touch of tapioca.
What it is / first look
On first glance this is a classic crunchy training treat: a dry, circle-shaped snack aimed at frequent rewarding. The Amazon product facts list the unit count as a 26 ounce pouch with product dimensions of 11 x 5 x 3 inches and an item weight of about 1.6 pounds. The listing calls out several selling points in the bullet copy: chicken, blueberries, a touch of tapioca, "no artificial colors," and an oral-health use case. The brand and manufacturer are Fromm / Fromm Family Foods, and this flavor is listed as Blueberry (Full name: Fromm Crunchy O's Blueberry Blasts with Chicken).
What the package says
- Container type: pouch (the listing identifies the product as coming in a pouch).
- Item form: dry.
- Age range: All Life Stages (the listing specifically lists "Age Range Description: All Life Stages").
- Product benefits and features called out: "Healthy, natural, low-calorie treat for all dogs," "No Artificial Colors," "Natural, Premium, Blueberry-Infused," and "Oral Health."
- Flavors / size options: the listing shows a range of named flavors including Bacon Blasters, Banana Kablammas, Blueberry, Peanut Butter Jammers, and Variety Pack among others.
First impressions in hand
From the product copy and images the Crunchy O's are small, hard, circle-shaped crisps meant for frequent rewards. The listing emphasizes crunch and flavor (chicken + blueberry) and positions these as a low-calorie option suitable for training and positive reinforcement.
In daily use
I look at treats from three practical angles: palatability, usability during training/walks, and mess/transport. The listing and owner testing notes give us enough to cover all three.
Palatability and picky dogs
Palatability here is mixed. In my testing notes and owner feedback, some dogs gravitate toward these and perform great for training; others find the blueberry flavor underwhelming. One testing note even said the blueberry version tasted "bland" to people who compared it to other Fromm flavors — while the cheddar or other flavors seemed more universally popular. If your dog is a picky treat eater, the blueberry variety may or may not be a winner; the naming and product copy emphasize blueberries and chicken, but actual dog preference varies.
Training, portioning and transport
The listing calls out training and positive reinforcement as recommended uses. The treats are dry and crunchy, and in practice they can be broken into smaller pieces for frequent rewards or used whole. Testing notes specifically mention they break easily into smaller pieces and don't leave greasy hands, which makes them practical for clicker work, reward-based obedience or a pocketful during walks. The listing also highlights their low-calorie positioning, which is helpful when you need to reward often without adding a lot of extra calories to your dog's day.
Smell, texture and mouthfeel
Testing notes describe a crunchy texture and a faint blueberry smell. The listing's bullet features call the product "recklessly crunchy," and owner testing aligns with that — these are meant to deliver an audible crunch and a dry, snap texture. Because they’re dry and not greasy, they’re easy to handle and store in a jacket pocket while training.
Materials & build quality
With treats you’re looking at ingredient transparency and consistency more than "build" in the hardware sense. The listing gives some ingredient-level cues but not a full guaranteed analysis.
- What the listing specifies: The product description and bullets list chicken and blueberries, and mention "a touch of tapioca." It also calls out "No Artificial Colors" and labels the treats as natural and premium.
- What the listing does not specify: The full ingredient panel and guaranteed analysis (protein, fat, fiber, calories per treat) are not included in the product facts provided. The listing therefore does not specify an exact ingredient breakdown, calorie counts, or feeding guidelines.
- Form and consistency: The treats are circle-shaped snacks that are crunchy and dry; they break into smaller pieces easily for portion control, according to testing notes.
Bottom line: Fromm presents these as a simple, crunchy training biscuit with identifiable top-level ingredients (chicken, blueberry, tapioca) and without artificial coloring, but the listing leaves out the full ingredient and nutrition panel that many shoppers look for if they’re tracking macronutrients or specific allergens.
Safety considerations
Safety comes first. Here’s what the listing and testing notes tell us about potential hazards and who should be cautious.
- Life-stage suitability: The product facts list the Age Range Description as All Life Stages, and the breed recommendation is "All Breed Sizes." That suggests Fromm positions these treats for puppies through seniors and for small to large breeds.
- Choking / size: The listing calls the treats circle-shaped and testing notes say they break into smaller pieces easily; that makes them adaptable to small mouths. The listing does not provide exact treat diameter or per-treat weight, so if your dog gulps or tends to inhale treats you may want to break pieces down and supervise.
- Digestibility / allergens: One testing note specifically called them "easily digests well," but the listing does not provide a full ingredients panel or allergy guidance. The copy calls out chicken and blueberry and mentions "a touch of tapioca," and it states "No Artificial Colors." If your dog has documented allergies to chicken or another ingredient, the listing does not give enough detail to clear that risk — consult the full packaging ingredient list before feeding.
- Oral health claim: The listing lists "Specific Uses For Product: Oral Health," so Fromm positions this as having an oral-health angle; the listing does not provide supporting clinical data in the product facts provided here.
- special diet label: The product facts list an "Animal Food Diet Type: special diet." If you are feeding a dog on a strict prescription or therapeutic plan, check with a qualified professional before adding any non-prescription treats, even those with a special diet label.
Given the available information: supervise treats with dogs that gulp, verify the full ingredients list on the package if your dog has allergies, and consult a professional when in doubt about adding new treats to a special diet.
Who this is for / who should skip
I break this down by use case and life stage so you can decide quickly if Blueberry Blasts fit your dog and routine.
Good fit
- Owners who want a crunchy, low-calorie training treat they can hand out frequently — the listing markets these for training and positive reinforcement and positions them as a low-calorie snack.
- Multi-dog households where you want a neutral, easily-portable treat — the pouch format and dry texture make transport straightforward.
- Dog parents who prefer treats without artificial colors — the listing explicitly states "No Artificial Colors."
- People training any breed or life stage — the listing identifies "All Life Stages" and "All Breed Sizes."
Who should skip or proceed with caution
- Picky-eater households where flavor is make-or-break — testing notes show mixed palatability for the blueberry variety; some dogs prefer other Fromm flavors.
- Dogs with known allergies to chicken or other ingredients — the listing names chicken and tapioca but does not supply a full ingredients panel in the product facts we have, so confirm the full label before feeding.
- Owners who need detailed nutrition or calorie-per-treat numbers — the product facts here don’t provide a per-piece calorie figure or full guaranteed analysis, so if you’re counting every calorie the listing is incomplete for that level of tracking.
- Households where dogs rapidly gulp treats — while the treats break easily into pieces, exact size/dimensions aren’t in the listing, so break into small pieces for dogs who bolt food.
Verdict
Fromm Crunchy O's Blueberry Blasts with Chicken are a straightforward, crunchy training biscuit positioned as a low-calorie, natural treat for all life stages. The package facts say they come in a 26 oz pouch and emphasize chicken and blueberry as primary flavors with "a touch of tapioca." Testing notes back up the crunchy texture and pocket-friendly dryness, and they repeatedly name training and positive reinforcement as intended uses.
Where these treats shine is in training use: the dry, crunchy texture and breakability make them easy to hand out repeatedly with minimal mess. The lack of artificial colors is a plus for owners who monitor additive exposure. If your dog likes blueberry-chicken combos, you’ll probably find these useful during sessions that require many small rewards.
The main downsides stem from missing detail in the product facts we have: there’s no full ingredient panel or per-treat calorie count included here, and palatability for blueberry specifically is mixed in testing notes. Also, while the listing includes a curious "special diet" label and an oral-health callout, supporting nutrition or clinical data are not part of the product facts provided.
Check before you buy
- Check the full ingredient list on the package if your dog has food allergies — the product facts here only name chicken, blueberries and a touch of tapioca.
- Check whether your dog likes blueberry flavor — testing notes show the blueberry variety is less popular with some dogs than other Fromm flavors.
- Check calorie details if you track intake strictly — the product facts here do not list a per-treat calorie count; testing notes mention small, low-calorie portions but the exact number per piece is not part of the official product facts.
- Check that the pouch format works for your routines — the item is sold in a 26 oz pouch per the listing.
- Check with a qualified professional before adding treats if your dog is on a professionalerinary prescription diet — the listing lists the animal food diet type as "special diet," so verify compatibility first.
Overall, for owners who need a dry, crunchy, low-mess training treat and who want to avoid artificial colors, Fromm Crunchy O's Blueberry Blasts are worth a look. If your dog is picky about fruity flavors or has ingredient sensitivities, check the package before committing.
Frequently asked questions
Are these suitable for puppies and senior dogs?
The product facts list the Age Range Description as "All Life Stages," and the listing recommends the treats for all breed sizes, so Fromm positions these for puppies through seniors. If your dog has specific dietary needs, check the full package ingredients and consult a qualified professional before introducing new treats.
Can I use these for frequent training rewards?
Yes. The listing identifies "Training, Positive Reinforcement" as recommended uses and markets the treats as a low-calorie option. Testing notes also report the treats break easily into smaller pieces and are not greasy, which makes them practical for repeated training rewards.
How many calories are in each crunchy-o?
The product facts here do not include an official per-treat calorie count. Testing notes reference a very small-calorie portion (noting about two calories per crunchy-o), but the full product facts provided do not include a guaranteed calorie-per-piece figure.
Do these treats contain artificial colors or flavors?
The listing explicitly states "No Artificial Colors" and calls the treats "Natural, Premium, Blueberry-Infused" with chicken and "a touch of tapioca" listed in the product bullets. The full ingredient panel is not included in the product facts provided here.
Are these treats good for dogs with sensitive stomachs?
One testing note mentioned the treats "easily digests well," but the product facts do not provide a full ingredient list or allergen panel. If your dog has a known sensitivity or allergy (for example to chicken), check the full package ingredients and consult a qualified professional before feeding.
What size and quantity do these come in?
The product facts list this flavor as a 26 ounce pouch with dimensions of 11 x 5 x 3 inches and an item weight of about 1.6 pounds. The treats are described as circle-shaped snacks in the listing.
Think it’s right for your pet?
Double-check size, age, and species fit on the listing. The same affiliate link covers details and checkout — supports the site at no extra cost to you.
Affiliate disclosure: Links on this page may earn us a commission. You pay the same price; it helps fund more ridiculous field tests.