Fromm

Fromm Small Breed Gold Dog Food Review

Fromm Small Breed Adult Gold Premium Dry Dog Food - Dry Adult Dog Food for Small Breeds - Chicken Recipe - 5 lb

100.0 Dude Score

Intro — why I tested Fromm Small Breed Gold

I take feeding my pets seriously, and when a small-breed specific kibble promises family-made quality and a recipe tuned for tiny metabolisms, I pay attention. Fromm Small Breed Adult Gold Premium is a 5 lb bag dry dog food that the listing positions specifically for small-breed adult dogs. In this review I pull together the product facts from the listing with long-term owner experience themes I’ve collected so you can tell whether this is a good match for your pup.

What it is — first look

At first glance this product is straightforward: Fromm Small Breed Adult Gold is a chicken recipe dry food in a 5-pound bag, sold by Fromm Family Foods and noted as manufactured in their Wisconsin facility. The listing describes it as a premium, small-breed-specific formula developed for the metabolism of small breed adult dogs and states it was formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for growth and maintenance.

Key product facts pulled directly from the listing:

  • Brand / Manufacturer: Fromm / Fromm Family Foods
  • Item form: Pellet (dry kibble)
  • Container type: Bag; unit weight: 5 pounds; dimensions: 8.1 x 4.2 x 15 inches
  • Age range: Adult; Breed recommendation: Small breeds; Specific uses: Active
  • Special ingredients called out in the listing: chicken, duck, lamb, whole eggs, real Wisconsin cheese, probiotics, salmon oil
  • Allergen information listed: Salmon
  • Listing claims: no corn, wheat, soy, artificial colorings or dyes; includes whole grains; family-owned & operated company in Wisconsin

Two oddities worth flagging up front: the product title and feature bullets emphasize a Chicken recipe for small breeds, while the listing's Flavor field lists "Banana." Those values conflict in the listing itself; if you care about exact flavor labeling, double-check the vendor copy at checkout. Also some portions of the listing repeat claims with inconsistent metadata flags, so I stuck to the clear facts above and the owner experience notes where helpful.

In daily use / hands-on testing

Because this is a dry food, "hands-on testing" means three things I watch closely: palatability, digestion, and practical packaging issues. Between direct inspection of the bag (5 lb, non-resealable packaging) and long-term owner notes, a clear pattern emerges.

palatability and picky eaters

  • Many small-breed mouths responded well: the listing and owner experiences both describe a kibble size and texture that appeals to small dogs. Owners note that picky dogs, seniors with few teeth, and dogs that previously refused other brands appear to enjoy this kibble and eat it readily.
  • There are repeated owner accounts of dogs preferring Fromm's small-bite kibbles — one owner specifically called out that their papillon and a small-breed rescue with dental issues take to the tiny kernels easily.

digestion and coat condition

  • The listing highlights probiotics and salmon oil among the additional features; owners report improved digestion, fewer episodes of vomiting or loose stool after switching to Fromm, and observable coat improvements in several long-term cases.
  • Several accounts mention that the food "agrees with" dogs that had sensitive stomachs on other diets. I view that as a combination of ingredient selection in the formula and the family-owned production story emphasized on the listing.

feeding logistics

  • The bag size (5 lb) is tailored to small dogs and owners who prefer smaller bags to keep food fresh. One owner noted that a 5 lb bag lasted almost two months for a single small dog; your mileage will vary depending on activity level and portioning.
  • Owners consistently asked for a resealable bag; the listing lists container type as a bag but does not specify resealable closure. Expect to transfer to an airtight canister or otherwise reseal the bag after opening to preserve freshness.
  • Some buyers noted occasional supply issues or longer-than-expected shipping windows when restocking through certain channels — that's logistical, not formula-related, but worth planning around if you feed this full time.

Materials & build quality (ingredients, packaging and provenance)

With pet food, "materials" equals ingredients and production. Here's what the listing and owner notes make clear.

ingredients called out on the listing

  • Proteins: chicken, duck, lamb, whole eggs — the listing emphasizes high-quality protein sources intended to be digestible and palatable for small-breed metabolisms.
  • Special additions: real Wisconsin cheese, salmon oil, and probiotics are listed as additional features; the listing positions these as value-adds for taste and digestive support.
  • Grain policy: the listing explicitly notes inclusion of whole grains and also calls out "No corn, wheat, soy, artificial colorings or dyes." So this is not a grain-free recipe; it uses whole grains instead.
  • Allergen note: Salmon is listed in the allergen information (salmon oil is a declared ingredient), so this is important for dogs with salmon or fish sensitivities.

production & brand provenance

  • Fromm Family Foods is noted as a fifth-generation, family-owned-and-operated company based in Wisconsin. The listing states the product is produced at Fromm's hands-on facility in Wisconsin.
  • That local production story is reinforced in owner notes, and several owners cite family ownership and U.S. production as reasons they trust the brand.

packaging

  • Bag format, 5 lb unit. Owners repeatedly request a built-in reseal; the listing does not promise a resealable closure, so plan to use a food-safe airtight container after opening.

Safety considerations

Safety is the top priority for me and should be for you. Here are the concrete safety signals I can source directly from the listing and long-term owner notes.

  • Allergen and ingredient flags: The listing explicitly marks Salmon in the allergen information and lists salmon oil among special ingredients. If your dog has a fish allergy, this is a hard stop.
  • No corn/wheat/soy/ artificial colorings or dyes: The listing claims these are excluded, which can be helpful for dogs with sensitivities to those specific ingredients.
  • AAFCO statement: The product features copy states it was formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO Dog Food Nutrient Profiles for growth and maintenance — the listing makes that claim directly in the small-breed bullet.
  • Probiotics: The listing highlights probiotics as an ingredient intended to aid digestion. Owners corroborate digestive tolerance improvements after switching to this kibble in many cases.
  • Manufacturing provenance: Production in Fromm’s Wisconsin facility is explicitly called out, and several owners lean on that as a trust factor when assessing safety and oversight.

No active recall history or lab numbers are in the listing or the owner notes I reviewed, and I didn’t find any explicit safety red flags in the product facts. Still, always get professional guidance before switching diets if your dog has a medical condition or known allergies.

Who this is for — and who should skip it

Matching food to the dog is about life stage, breed size, sensitivities, and owner priorities. Here’s how Fromm Small Breed Adult Gold lines up.

best fit

  • Small-breed adult dogs: The listing is explicit — the formula is developed for the metabolism of small breed adult dogs and the item is listed under "Dog - Dry Food" and "Small Breeds."
  • Picky eaters and dogs that prefer small kibble: Multiple long-term owner experiences indicate high palatability and tiny kernels that suit dogs with limited dentition.
  • Owners prioritizing U.S. family-owned production and whole-grain recipes that exclude corn/wheat/soy/artificial dyes: the listing highlights these brand attributes.
  • Dogs benefiting from probiotics and added salmon oil for general support: the listing calls out probiotics and salmon oil as additional features, and owners have observed digestive benefits.

skip this if

  • Your dog has a confirmed salmon/fish allergy — salmon is both an ingredient and listed allergen.
  • You need a puppy formula — the listing identifies this as an adult product; the Age Range field is Adult.
  • You require a grain-free diet — the listing explicitly states the product includes whole grains and is not grain-free.
  • You must have a resealable bag — owners repeatedly mention wishing the bag had a built-in reseal, and the listing simply lists the container as a bag.

Value, sourcing and practical pros & cons

Price perception varies across owners, but there are consistent trade-offs to consider.

  • Value drivers: high-quality proteins (chicken/duck/lamb/eggs), added probiotics and salmon oil, and family-owned U.S. production are the main selling points called out on the listing and echoed by owners who switched for health reasons.
  • Value friction: several long-term owners note higher price versus mainstream supermarket brands and say cost is a reason they don’t feed it exclusively in multi-dog households, even when their dogs prefer it.
  • Practical friction: bag reseal and occasional supply or shipping delays when ordering through some channels were mentioned by owners — plan to keep an alternate food on hand if you depend on regular deliveries.

Verdict — my take as The Pet Dude

If you have a small-breed adult dog that’s picky, prone to mild digestive upset, or benefits from smaller kibble, Fromm Small Breed Adult Gold is worth trying. The product facts show a formula built with multiple animal proteins, whole grains, probiotics, and specialty additions like real Wisconsin cheese and salmon oil, while the brand provenance—the family-owned Wisconsin facility—gives it an extra trust signal.

Where it loses points is in packaging convenience and cost sensitivity for multi-dog households. The bag is a single-use bag without a guaranteed reseal in the listing, and owners repeatedly wish it came with a built-in closure. Several long-term owners say it’s pricier than mainstream supermarket options, though many qualify that price with better coat, digestion and palatability in their dogs.

check before you buy (quick checklist)

  • confirm ingredient needs: listing includes salmon oil and lists Salmon in allergen info — do not buy if your dog has a fish allergy.
  • age and life stage: the product is labeled for adult dogs; don’t use for puppies unless recommended by a professional.
  • packaging: plan to transfer to an airtight container — bag is listed as a bag without a guaranteed reseal.
  • feeding plan for multiple dogs: several owners switch between brands or buy multiple bags because the 5 lb size and price may not be practical for large households.
  • double-check flavor at checkout: the listing contains conflicting flavor metadata (title indicates Chicken Recipe, while a Flavor field lists Banana); verify the bag label from the seller before purchasing if flavor specificity matters to you.

Frequently asked questions

Is Fromm Small Breed Adult Gold appropriate for all small dog breeds?

The listing targets small-breed adult dogs specifically and says the recipe is developed for the metabolism of small breed adult dogs. For breed- or health-specific questions, consult a qualified professional.

Does this formula contain probiotics?

Yes. The listing highlights probiotics among the additional features and positions the recipe as enhanced with probiotics to aid digestion; long-term owner experience notes also describe improved digestion after switching to this food.

Is this grain-free?

No. The listing states the product includes whole grains and explicitly says it contains "high quality grains." It also notes the formula excludes corn, wheat, soy and artificial colorings or dyes, but it is not grain-free.

Is this food made in the USA?

The listing states this product is produced at Fromm's hands-on family-owned-and-operated facility in Wisconsin. Several owner reports cite U.S. family ownership and Wisconsin production as reasons for brand trust.

Is the 5 lb bag resealable?

The listing lists the container type as a bag but does not specify a resealable closure. Multiple owners specifically said they wished the bag was resealable, so expect to transfer the food to an airtight container after opening.

Can puppies eat this food?

No. The product's Age Range is listed as Adult and the bullet copy describes it as developed for adult small-breed metabolisms. For puppies, look for a product explicitly labeled for that life stage or check with a professional.

How long does a 5 lb bag last?

The listing shows this product is sold in a 5 lb bag. In owner experience notes, one owner said a 5 lb bag lasted almost two months for a single small dog; actual duration depends on your dog's size, activity level and portioning.

Are there any common sensitivities or allergens in this recipe?

The listing lists Salmon in the allergen information and includes salmon oil among special ingredients, so this formula is not suitable for dogs with salmon or fish allergies. The listing also states the recipe excludes corn, wheat, soy and artificial colorings or dyes.

Final thoughts

Fromm Small Breed Adult Gold brings together the brand’s family-owned production story, multiple animal protein sources, whole grains, probiotics and specialty ingredients aimed at small-breed adults. In long-term owner experience notes I reviewed, dogs that switch to Fromm often show improved coat condition and digestion, and picky eaters commonly accept the small kibble. The trade-offs are typical of many premium brands: higher per-pound cost and packaging that owners want upgraded to a resealable format. If those trade-offs match your priorities — and your dog doesn’t have a salmon allergy and is past the puppy stage — I think this is a solid option to try for small-breed adult dogs.

colors available

  • available colors may include packaging artwork shown on the listing images

Frequently asked questions

Is this food suitable for small-breed adult dogs?

Yes. The listing states this formula was developed for the metabolism of small breed adult dogs and the Age Range field is listed as Adult.

Does Fromm Small Breed Gold include probiotics?

Yes. The product features list probiotics among the additional ingredients and owners report improved digestion after switching.

Is this a grain-free recipe?

No. The listing specifies the food includes whole grains and also calls out that it does not contain corn, wheat, soy or artificial colorings, which is different from a grain-free formulation.

Is salmon or fish in the formula?

Yes. Salmon oil is listed in the product features and Salmon is listed under allergen information, so do not use this if your dog has a fish allergy.

Is the 5 lb bag resealable?

The listing only identifies the container as a bag and does not promise a resealable closure. Multiple owners wished for a resealable bag, so plan to transfer the food to an airtight container after opening.

Can puppies eat Fromm Small Breed Adult Gold?

No. The product's Age Range is listed as Adult. For puppies choose a product labeled for that life stage or consult a qualified professional.

How long will a 5 lb bag last?

The listing lists a 5 lb bag. In long-term owner notes a 5 lb bag lasted almost two months for a single small dog; actual duration will depend on your dog's size, activity and portioning.

Think it’s right for your pet?

Double-check size, age, and species fit on the listing. The same affiliate link covers details and checkout — supports the site at no extra cost to you.

Affiliate disclosure: Links on this page may earn us a commission. You pay the same price; it helps fund more ridiculous field tests.