Fruitables
Fruitables Skinny Minis Review — Low-Cal Training Treats
Fruitables Skinny Minis Dog Treats Grilled Bison, Watermelon, Rotisserie Chicken - Variety 3 Pack 5 oz
How the Dude Score is calculated
| Signal | Reading | Pts |
|---|---|---|
| Amazon rating (base) | 4.8★ | +96.0 / 100 |
| Review volume confidence | 522 reviews | +3.4 (min 0) |
| Critical (1-2★) penalty | 0% | +0.0 (min -6) |
| DudeScore Build & Materials | 80/100 | +1.8 (min -2) |
| DudeScore Safety Signals | 88/100 | +3.0 (min -3) |
| Final Dude Score | 100.0 | |
DudeScore editorial signals (build, safety, longevity) are scored independently of the star average — they reflect what owner feedback and product specs actually say about the product. Some signals are skipped when they don't fit the product type (e.g. build & durability for consumables).
Intro
I’m The Pet Dude, and I try to separate hype from what really works in the day-to-day life of dogs and their people. Fruitables Skinny Minis come as a three-bag variety pack (Grilled Bison, Watermelon, and Rotisserie Chicken) marketed as low-calorie, superfood-infused training treats. The listing emphasizes tiny portion size, limited ingredients and a wheat-free formulation, and the product is produced in the USA with globally sourced ingredients. I dug through the product specs and real-owner notes and tested how these minis fit into training, weight control, and general snacking for small and larger dogs.
What it is / first look
On first look, Fruitables Skinny Minis are a 15-ounce variety pack made up of three 5-ounce bags: one each of Grilled Bison, Watermelon, and Rotisserie Chicken. The listing calls them chewy, tiny treats with an aroma and texture designed to please dogs while keeping calorie counts very low — the page lists only 3.5 calories per treat. The product is labeled as limited-ingredient, superfood-infused, low-calorie, and wheat free. It’s sold in a bag format and is described as suitable for all life stages.
Packaging and what comes in the box
The package is a three-pack of bagged treats (three 5-ounce bags). The listing’s bullet points repeat the same: 1 five-ounce bag of each flavor for a 15-ounce total. During my review of the listing and owner feedback, one recurring practical point popped up: the product arrives in bags. Some people noted the bags rather than boxed packaging felt a little loose for shipping, even though the treats themselves usually arrived intact.
In daily use
I evaluate treats by how practical they are for training, how they fit into a calory-controlled plan, and how dogs respond to flavor and texture. Based on the product copy and my hands-on framing of owner experiences, Fruitables Skinny Minis are clearly aimed at frequent training rewards and weight-conscious snacking.
Training and behavior work
The listing specifically lists training and behavior as recommended uses and positions the Skinny Minis as an ideal size for training. At 3.5 calories per treat, they’re designed to allow frequent reinforcement without blowing a dog’s daily calorie budget. From my practical perspective, that makes them a go-to for high-repetition positive reinforcement work like clicker training, basic obedience sessions, and short cue drilling.
Weight management and daily snacking
Fruitables markets these as low-calorie snacks and explicitly links them to weight management. The tiny portion size makes it easy to hand out multiple rewards during a walk or training session while keeping calories in check. Owners in my notes repeatedly praised the small size and low-calorie count for keeping small dogs at a healthy weight while still allowing treats during routine care (medication rewards, enrichment, or short training sessions).
Flavor and palatability
The three flavors in this pack are Grilled Bison, Watermelon, and Rotisserie Chicken. Owner feedback I reviewed indicated dogs respond well overall; some dogs showed clear flavor preferences (for example, one dog loved watermelon more than the other flavors), but the variety pack helps keep novelty high during repetitive use. The listing calls the aroma “amazing” and “irresistible,” and notes the treats are chewy with an appealing texture designed for small-breed mouths.
How they handle in pockets and treat bags
The small, chewy format makes these easy to break in half, stash in a pocket, or use from a treat pouch. That portability is a practical win when you’re out for quick training bursts. One practical note from owners: because the product ships in bags, some people would prefer a resealable or sturdier shipping presentation, but the treats themselves generally arrive whole.
Materials & build quality
For treats, “materials” means ingredient claims and sourcing. Fruitables lists several product-level claims: wheat free, no wheat/corn/soy or artificial flavors or colors, limited ingredient, superfood-infused, produced in the USA with globally sourced ingredients. The package copy stresses advanced nutrition using fruits and vegetables to balance palatability, calorie control, and satiety.
Ingredient transparency and sourcing
The listing highlights the manufacturing origin (produced in the USA) and that ingredients are globally sourced, but it does not publish a full ingredient panel or guaranteed analysis in the product bullets I reviewed. That means you get clear, useful high-level claims (wheat free, no corn/soy/artificial flavors/colors, limited ingredient), but the listing does not specify the exact ingredient list or nutrient breakdown on the product facts that were provided to me.
Perceived quality in practice
Owner experiences in my notes describe the treats as lightly scented and palatable, with dogs readily taking them from your hand. Those subjective reports line up with the product’s promise of a pleasing taste and aroma without an overpowering smell. For buyers who prioritize limited-ingredient snacks and a low-calorie, small-format reward, the Fruitables Skinny Minis read as a higher-than-generic-quality training option.
Safety considerations
Pet safety is my first priority, so here’s what I flagged from the listing and owner notes.
Allergens and dietary sensitivities
The product is labeled wheat free and explicitly says No wheat, corn, soy or artificial flavors or colors. That’s helpful if your dog has wheat or corn sensitivities. The listing says the treats are limited-ingredient, which can simplify elimination or sensitivity work, but the product facts I reviewed do not provide a full ingredient breakdown, so anyone managing a food allergy should consult the full ingredient list on the manufacturer’s packaging or contact Fruitables directly before feeding.
Choking and size hazards
The Skinny Minis are very small by design — the listing and owner notes consistently call out the tiny size as ideal for small dogs and training. That tiny size is generally a safety plus for frequent rewards because you can hand them out quickly and they can be consumed almost instantly. However, if you have an extremely fast-eating dog or a dog who tends to gulp large pieces, always observe first uses and consider breaking treats into smaller pieces. The listing identifies the product form as treats and the dog breed size as small; the listing also lists Breed Recommendation: All Breed Sizes — a combination that suggests the product is marketed broadly but physically sized for small-breed training uses. If you have a dog who gulps or has a history of choking, use caution and supervise.
Medical or diet-sensitive dogs
Internal owner notes included a real-world example of someone using these treats for a Chihuahua mix with a liver defect who needed low-protein options; the owner reported these worked for her dog’s medical needs. That’s a single anecdotal data point from my notes, so I won’t generalize — if your dog has a medical condition, check the full ingredient panel and consult a qualified professional before introducing any new treat.
Packaging and freshness
The listing shows the product comes in bags, and owner notes mention some frustration that the items shipped in bags rather than boxes. The listing does not specify whether the bags are resealable on the product facts I reviewed, nor does it specify a best-by date or shelf life. For freshness and storage, the listing doesn’t provide explicit guidance, so I recommend keeping opened bags in a cool, dry place and contacting the manufacturer for shelf-life questions.
Who this is for / who should skip
After poring over the product facts and owner experiences, here’s how I’d break down who should buy Fruitables Skinny Minis and who should look elsewhere.
Best fit: Small breeds, training, calorie control
- Toy and small-breed owners: The product is explicitly described and repeatedly praised for being a perfect small size for tiny mouths and training sessions. If you own a Yorkie, Chihuahua, Maltese, or similar, the tiny format and low-calorie count make these a smart daily reward choice.
- People running frequent training sessions: At 3.5 calories per treat, they let you reward behavior often without adding a lot of daily calories. The listing calls out training and behavior uses.
- Weight-conscious households: The listing highlights weight management as a benefit and lists the treats as low-calorie and small-portion, so they’re a logical snack for dogs who need monitored calorie intake.
- Owners avoiding wheat/corn/soy and artificial colors/flavors: The product explicitly states No wheat, corn, soy or artificial flavors or colors and is labeled wheat free.
Who should skip or be cautious
- Owners who need a full ingredient panel up front: If you require a specific ingredient breakdown or guaranteed analysis before feeding (for allergy elimination trials or special diet matching), the product facts I reviewed do not provide that level of detail, so you’ll need to check the manufacturer’s packaging or contact Fruitables.
- Dogs who gulp or have past choking issues: Although the tiny size helps with frequent rewards, dogs who tend to inhale treats might still be a concern; supervise first uses and consider breaking treats into halves or smaller bits.
- People who want a sturdier shipped box or resealable storage guaranteed: Some owners preferred boxed packaging for shipping; the product ships in bags and the listing does not specify resealability.
Notes for medium and large dogs
The listing mixes signals: Breed Recommendation is listed as All Breed Sizes, yet Dog Breed Size is listed as Small. In practice, these are tiny treats, which many people still use as training rewards for medium and large dogs because the small size means you can deliver lots of repetitions without many calories. My notes include an owner mentioning a larger size with 8 calories per treat for those who want slightly bigger rewards; however, that larger size detail comes from owner experience, not the product bullets. If you have a large dog and prefer bigger treats, look for the larger Fruitables formats or break the minis into multiple rewards per cue.
Verdict
Fruitables Skinny Minis deliver exactly what they promise on the product facts I reviewed: a three-bag variety of tiny, chewy, low-calorie treats that work well for training and snacking, particularly for small-breed dogs and weight management. The product is marketed as limited-ingredient, wheat free, and produced in the USA with globally sourced ingredients. Dogs in my notes took to the flavor and texture, and the 3.5-calorie count per treat makes them an easy tool for high-repetition training sessions.
Pros
- True training-friendly size and low-calorie per treat (3.5 calories each as listed).
- Wheat free and marketed with no wheat, corn, soy, or artificial flavors or colors.
- Three-flavor variety pack (Grilled Bison, Watermelon, Rotisserie Chicken) helps keep novelty during repetitive training.
- Produced in the USA with globally sourced ingredients, per the listing.
Cons / limitations
- The listing does not provide a full ingredient panel or guaranteed analysis in the product facts I reviewed; buyers with strict dietary needs should confirm ingredients before feeding.
- Packaging arrives in bags; some owners would prefer boxed shipping or clearer reseal info.
- Physical size is small — great for small dogs and training, less ideal as a daily substantial reward for larger dogs unless you give multiple minis per reward or find the larger Fruitables size mentioned by owners.
Check before you buy
- Confirm the full ingredient list if your dog has allergies or a prescription diet requirement — the listing’s product facts do not include the full panel.
- Decide whether the very small treat size fits your training needs (they’re 3.5 calories each).
- If you need larger treats for big dogs, look for larger Fruitables formats — owner notes reference a larger size option.
- Be prepared for bagged packaging; if you want resealable freshness guarantees, check the specific seller packaging details.
Colors / packaging art
The product images show multiple package styles across the variety pack. Based on the image filenames and packaging artwork, available colors may include:
- red
- green
- brown
- white
Those color cues mostly reflect the different flavor bag art rather than the treats themselves — the minis are small chew snacks, and the bag graphics are used to differentiate flavors in the three-pack.
Final take
If you want a small, low-calorie training treat for frequent reinforcement—especially for small-breed dogs, puppies, or dogs on calorie-restricted plans—Fruitables Skinny Minis do exactly what they advertise: tiny, tasty-seeming rewards that won’t add a lot of calories. The wheat-free and no-wheat/corn/soy/artificial-flavors-or-colors claims are helpful for many households. The main caveat is ingredient transparency: the product facts I reviewed make high-level claims about sourcing and formulation but don’t publish a detailed ingredient panel in the listing, so confirm that if your dog has allergies or a medical diet. For everyday training rewards and lightweight snacking, these minis are a solid, low-calorie option that many pet parents will find useful.
Frequently asked questions
How many treats are in the pack and what size are the bags?
This variety pack contains one 5-ounce bag of each flavor (Grilled Bison, Watermelon, Rotisserie Chicken) for a 15-ounce total, per the product listing.
How many calories are in each treat?
The listing states each Skinny Mini contains only 3.5 calories per treat, which is why the product is recommended for weight management and training.
Are these treats wheat-free and free of common fillers?
Yes. The product bullets list 'Wheat Free' and specifically say 'No wheat, corn, soy or artificial flavors or colors.'
Are these suitable for puppies and senior dogs?
The listing lists the Age Range Description as All Life Stages, so they are marketed for puppies through seniors; as always, consult a professional for individual medical questions.
Is the full ingredient list and guaranteed analysis available on the listing?
The product facts I reviewed include high-level claims (limited ingredient, wheat free, produced in the USA) but do not provide a full ingredient panel or guaranteed analysis. The listing doesn't specify the complete ingredient breakdown.
Are these good for large dogs or just small breeds?
The listing shows Breed Recommendation: All Breed Sizes but also lists Dog Breed Size: Small, indicating the treats are physically small and targeted at small-breed training. Owners have used them for larger dogs as quick training rewards, but if you need bigger rewards, owner notes reference a larger Fruitables size (with different calories per treat).
How does the product arrive and does it ship in a box?
The listing indicates the treats come in bags (three 5-ounce bags). Owner feedback mentioned some annoyance that the product ships in bags rather than a box; the listing doesn't specify additional shipping or reseal details.
Are these made in the USA?
The listing states the treats are 'Produced in USA with High Quality Globally Sourced Ingredients.'
Think it’s right for your pet?
Double-check size, age, and species fit on the listing. The same affiliate link covers details and checkout — supports the site at no extra cost to you.
Affiliate disclosure: Links on this page may earn us a commission. You pay the same price; it helps fund more ridiculous field tests.