GOUUN

GOUUN Modern Dog Crate Furniture Review

Modern Dog Crate Furniture with Charging Station Medium Kennel Indoor with Flip-up Hidden Acrylic Door for Small and Medium Breeds up to 50lb Wood Pet End Side Table Cage, Oak

85.7 Dude Score

Intro

I’m The Pet Dude — a pet parent who loves gear that both looks good and does the job. The GOUUN Modern Dog Crate Furniture is a furniture-style indoor kennel that’s positioned as a 2‑in‑1 nightstand/side table and dog sanctuary. On paper it promises a built-in charging station, a flip-up clear acrylic door, and an interior sized for dogs up to 50 lb. In this review I break down what the listing says, what my research notes turned up about real-life use, and who this actually fits in a home.

What it is / first look

At first glance the GOUUN crate is a modern, low-profile piece of furniture that’s meant to double as a functional side table. The listing presents it as an indoor crate made from engineered materials (Acrylic, Engineered Wood, Metal) and calls out FSC-certified wood in the product story. The SKU is offered in two main finishes and two size footprints, and the smaller model’s item dimensions are listed as 19.9"L x 25.6"W x 23.6"H with a product weight of 45 pounds.

What the product includes

  • Included components: Charging Station, Drawer (the listing confirms these as included components).
  • Built-in charging: listing calls out a 4-device charging station (2 AC outlets, 1 USB-A and 1 USB-C).
  • Door style: clear acrylic flip-up door that tucks under the top when open.
  • Assembly: listing advertises 40-minute assembly with pre-drilled, numbered parts and a step-by-step video guide and says no extra tools are required.

Colors and sizes

Available colors are Oak and Grey. Available size footprints shown in the listing include the smaller dimension (19.9" x 25.6" x 23.6") and a larger option (24.2" x 36.6" x 29.5"). I list the color options below and weave them into the rest of the review.

  • Oak
  • Grey

In daily use

Here’s how this crate functions in everyday life, based strictly on the listing features and my research notes.

Small and medium dogs (recommended use)

The listing recommends the crate for small and medium breeds and explicitly states it provides ample room for dogs up to 50 lb — examples given in the product copy include French Bulldogs and Corgis. Measure your dog before you buy to confirm the fit; the listing itself advises buyers to confirm measurements.

The flip-up acrylic door aims to save floor space by tucking neatly under the top surface. The listing says the acrylic door gives pets a reassuring view of the room when closed, and the flip-up design avoids the typical swing arc of a hinged wire door.

Cats and other indoor pets

The product specs list Pet Type as Cat and Dog, so it’s marketed for both. If you plan to use this for a cat, the acrylic panel gives visibility while the engineered-wood surrounds provide a more furniture-like appearance than a wire enclosure.

Using the top as furniture

The premise of the design is that it functions as a side table or nightstand. The listing advertises a built-in charging station with two AC outlets plus one USB-A and one USB-C port — handy for phones, tablets, or small devices. The crate is also described as having a pull-out drawer and a charging station included among the components.

Materials & build quality

The listing lists the materials as Acrylic, Engineered Wood, and Metal, and the brand copy emphasizes FSC-certified wood and "premium pet-safe boards." The product also appears to position itself as eco-conscious in the brand story, calling out FSC certification for the wood sourcing.

What the listing says

  • Materials: Acrylic, Engineered Wood, Metal (from the specifications).
  • FSC-certified wood: brand narrative in the listing references FSC certification and reclaimed-material ethos.
  • Features: listing calls the interior "smooth" and "hazard-free," and labels the crate as chewproof and lockable among the additional features.
  • Assembly: pre-drilled parts, numbered tags, clear manual, and an assembly time of 40 minutes are stated in the product bullets; the listing adds a step-by-step video guide and claims the assembly time was verified by over a thousand verified buyers.

What my research notes show about quality

My internal research notes capture a mix of reactions. Several notes praise the crate’s look and say it’s "pretty" and "blends perfectly with home decor," and multiple people described assembly as easy thanks to labeled parts and clear instructions. A number of positive notes used the words "sturdy" and "high quality" to describe their experience.

On the other hand, the notes also include concerns: some people described the wood as cheaper-feeling engineered material, and one specific detail from the notes is that the pull-out drawer is not all wood — the internal storage compartment is a collapsible fabric drawer rather than a solid wood drawer. That’s something to expect, because it’s explicitly mentioned in the research notes even though the listing’s short spec list just says "Drawer."

Safety considerations

Safety is the part I treat first. The listing markets the crate as chewproof and lockable and highlights a "smooth, hazard-free interior." Also, the flip-up acrylic door is presented as giving pets a reassuring view of the room, which can help with separation anxiety in some dogs, per the product copy.

Escape and door durability

This is the most important safety signal to note: my research notes include multiple reports of doors or door hardware failing. Specifically, internal notes flag that a door broke on first use for one owner and another reported screws holding the door popped out within the second week, allowing the dog to escape. One note warned that if a puppy hates being alone or is determined, the door may not hold up as well as a heavy-duty wire crate. Because those reports are in my research notes, I’m flagging the door and hinge/screw hardware as a significant factor to inspect immediately during assembly and the first days of use.

Electrical safety for the charging station

The crate includes a built-in 4-device charging station (2 AC outlets, 1 USB-A, 1 USB-C) per the product bullets — a convenient feature. The listing does not specify third-party electrical safety certifications or UL listings for the integrated outlets, so if you plan to use powered devices or chargers on top of the crate I recommend confirming the product documentation or contacting the seller for electrical-safety details before relying on it for critical devices.

Materials, off-gassing, and indoor air

The listing emphasizes FSC-certified wood and an eco-friendly narrative, but it does not explicitly answer off-gassing questions in the shown copy. The listing contains a buyer question string asking "Will this off-gas?" but the product details do not provide a direct answer; therefore the listing doesn’t specify whether there’s any off-gassing period. If you have heightened sensitivities (infants, certain respiratory conditions, or very young puppies/kittens), that unknown is worth following up on with the seller.

Other hazards

The listing claims the interior is smooth and hazard-free; it also calls the piece chewproof. Even so, because the internal notes include at least one failure of the door hardware and some buyers perceiving lower-quality engineered wood, I recommend doing a quick safety check after assembly: pull at the door, tug the latch, and inspect the drawer (noting again that the internal drawer compartment may be a fabric collapsible insert rather than a solid wood drawer).

Who this is for / who should skip

I try to be direct on fit — the listing lists specific use cases and the research notes give nuance.

Who this fits

  • Owners of small to medium dogs who want a crate that doubles as furniture: the listing explicitly states it’s sized for dogs up to 50 lb and markets the piece as a nightstand/side table with a charging station.
  • People who prioritize aesthetics and a furniture-style look: the product is marketed as a modern dog crate that "fits both your lives," and multiple positive research notes call it attractive and furniture-like.
  • Buyers who want easier assembly: the listing touts 40-minute assembly with pre-drilled, numbered parts, a clear manual, and a video guide — the listing even states the assembly time was verified by 1,200+ verified buyers.

Who should skip or be cautious

  • Owners of very determined chewers or escape-artist puppies: research notes include door breakages and screws popping out, which suggests this may not be the best option if you need an industrial-strength containment solution.
  • Anyone who expects a solid-wood drawer: internal notes indicate the storage drawer’s inner compartment is a collapsible fabric insert rather than an all-wood drawer, and some buyers were surprised by that detail.
  • People who need documented electrical certifications for built-in outlets: the listing lists the outlets and USB ports but does not list safety/certification details for the charging station in the visible product copy.

Verdict

Overall: the GOUUN Modern Dog Crate Furniture is a thoughtfully designed furniture-style kennel with features that will appeal to home-focused pet parents — the built-in charging station, the flip-up acrylic door, the FSC-certified wood claim, and the interior sized for dogs up to 50 lb are the product’s headline strengths. The listing’s specifications and my research notes make clear that assembly is easy and the crate is visually attractive.

On the flip side, durability and door hardware are the two areas where my research notes raise caution: there are reports of door breakage and screws popping loose that led to escapes. Also, the pull-out storage is a collapsible fabric drawer in at least some units, which is something to confirm if you expected a solid wood drawer.

Check before you buy (quick checklist)

  • Measure your dog against the interior dimensions (listing shows 19.9"L x 25.6"W x 23.6"H for the smaller model and a larger model at 24.2" x 36.6" x 29.5").
  • Confirm the color and size you want — available finishes are Oak and Grey and the listing offers at least two size footprints.
  • Know that the listing includes a charging station (2 AC, 1 USB-A, 1 USB-C) but does not specify electrical certifications in the visible copy — ask the seller if you need that documentation.
  • Inspect the drawer on arrival — research notes show the pull-out storage may be a collapsible fabric insert rather than a full wood drawer.
  • Test the door hardware right away (open/close, pull at the screws/latches) — my research notes include isolated but serious reports of door hardware failing.
  • If you have concerns about off-gassing the listing does not specify any details about that — reach out to the seller for clarification.

Final thoughts from The Pet Dude

I like products that try to blend form and function, and the GOUUN crate does precisely that on paper: a furniture-first design with useful extras like a charging station and a flip-up acrylic door. If you want a crate that looks like furniture and will live in your main living space, this is one of the more attractive mid-range options on the market according to the product copy and owner experience notes.

That said, I can’t ignore the durability signals: do your own inspection when the crate arrives and be especially careful with the door hardware if you have a determined chewer or an escape-artist pup. If you need a heavy-duty containment solution, a metal wire crate may still be the safer choice. If you want a stylish, furniture-like kennel for a calm small or medium dog, and you follow the checklist above, this GOUUN model is worth considering.

Frequently asked questions

What size dog will fit in the smaller model?

The listing states the interior dimensions for the smaller model are 19.9"L x 25.6"W x 23.6"H and recommends the crate for dogs up to 50 lb (listing gives French Bulldogs and Corgis as examples). The listing advises measuring your dog to confirm the fit.

Does this crate include a charging station and what ports are available?

Yes — the product bullets list a built-in 4-device charging station with 2 AC outlets, 1 USB-A, and 1 USB-C port.

Is assembly difficult?

The listing advertises 40-minute assembly with pre-drilled parts, numbering tags, a clear manual, and a step-by-step video guide; the listing states the assembly time was verified by over 1,200 verified buyers.

Is the pull-out drawer solid wood?

The specifications list a drawer as an included component, but internal research notes indicate the pull-out storage compartment is a collapsible fabric insert rather than an all-wood drawer, so the listing’s short spec does not show that nuance.

Is the door chewproof and escape-proof?

The listing labels the crate as chewproof and lockable, but my research notes include multiple reports of door hardware failures (a door breaking on first use and screws popping out within the second week), so inspect the door and hardware carefully after assembly.

What materials is the crate made from?

The product specifications list the material types as Acrylic, Engineered Wood, and Metal; the brand copy also references FSC-certified wood.

Does the listing specify whether the crate off-gasses?

The listing contains buyer questions asking about off-gassing, but the visible product details do not provide an answer — the listing doesn’t specify.

Think it’s right for your pet?

Double-check size, age, and species fit on the listing. The same affiliate link covers details and checkout — supports the site at no extra cost to you.

Affiliate disclosure: Links on this page may earn us a commission. You pay the same price; it helps fund more ridiculous field tests.