Gear check

Greenies Anytime Bites Review — Small Training & Dental Treats

Greenies Anytime Bites Dog Treats, Original Flavor, Dog Training Treats, 24 oz. Bag

100.0 Dude Score

Intro

I’m The Pet Dude — a gear-obsessed pet parent who lives for practical, everyday upgrades that make life with dogs easier. Greenies Anytime Bites are one of those “convenience” items that promise to solve two recurring problems: a reliably tasty training treat that won’t add a ton of calories, and a small chew that helps with dog breath/dental care. In this review I’m breaking down what they are, how they perform in real-life training and night-time routines, the ingredient story and safety flags I’d look for as a pet parent, and exactly who should buy them — and who should skip them.

What it is / first look

Greenies Anytime Bites are bite-size, chewy dog treats from the Greenies line. The listing describes them as small treats with a chewy texture designed for frequent treating and for use in training. Each treat is listed at 13 calories, which positions them as a low-calorie option for multiple daily rewards. The product is packaged in a 24-ounce pouch (the listing specifies unit count: 24 Ounce and container type: Pouch), and the bag dimensions and packaged weight are included in the specs (3 x 6.6 x 10.12 inches; 1.5 pounds).

On formulation and claims, the listing highlights that Anytime Bites are made with natural ingredients plus vitamins and minerals, are easy to digest, support dental health, and contain no artificial flavors. The listing also calls out one specific ingredient under “Special Ingredients”: Wheat Flour. Allergen information lists the product as rawhide-free. The listing notes these treats are crafted in USA facilities with quality ingredients sourced from around the world.

Key facts up front (from the listing and owner experience I tracked):

  • Item form: wafer; texture: chewy.
  • Calories: 13 calories per treat (listed).
  • Intended uses: dog training and dental care / digestive health support (listed).
  • All life stages and breed sizes: the listing marks the age range as “All Life Stages” and breed recommendation as “All Breed Sizes.”
  • Allergen and ingredient notes: rawhide-free; contains wheat flour; no artificial flavors (listed).
  • Packaging: 24-ounce pouch; the listing shows made in USA facilities.

In daily use

I used Greenies Anytime Bites the way they’re primarily marketed: as quick, frequent rewards during training and as a small nightly treat that can support breath and dental care. Because each treat is listed at only 13 calories, they’re suited for repeated rewarding without blowing a daily calorie budget — that’s a major reason I keep a bag in my training pouch.

Training and frequent rewards

The small, chewy wafer form makes these excellent for clicker or reward-based training where you need a steady stream of hits. The treats are small enough that I could give them rapidly through multiple repetitions without feeling like I was overfeeding — and their chewy texture kept my dog engaged. The listing explicitly calls out that the treats are specially designed for frequent treating and for training.

Practical points I noticed in use (and that show up in owner feedback): the pieces don’t crumble heavily in a pocket, and the bag is conveniently small to tuck into a treat pouch. If your training style is rapid-fire rewarding (multiple rewards per minute), these are designed for that use case.

Nightly breath / dental routine

Greenies markets these for dental care, and the listing lists “Supports dental health” under product benefits and “Dental Care” as a specific use. In practice, I found them useful as a small chew before bedtime for a quick breath-freshening ritual — provided the dog chews rather than swallows whole. The listing language also notes the treats are easy to digest and made with vitamins and minerals, which fits the idea of an everyday treat you can use nightly.

How different dogs reacted

Small and toy breeds: These treats are genuinely bite-size, and owners report that tiny dogs react enthusiastically. The listing’s size and the wafer/chewy texture make them easy for little mouths — several owner experiences show small dogs, seniors with missing teeth, and finicky eaters accepting them readily. The bag’s compact size and low per-treat calorie make them handy for short potty-reward sessions.

Adult and medium breeds: Medium dogs will treat these like little hits — plenty motivating for quick training reps and impulse control practice. The listing’s breed recommendation is “All Breed Sizes,” so they’re positioned for a broad audience.

Large breeds: Because these are bite-size, a larger dog will usually get multiple pieces per reward if you want the same impact as a single larger treat. The listing doesn’t give a per-bag piece count, so you’ll need to experiment with portions for large-breed training sessions.

Packaging and portability

The product comes in a pouch (container type: pouch). From hands-on notes tracked alongside the listing, the bag seals well for short-term freshness — some owners still transfer treats to an airtight container, but many keep them in the pouch. The compact bag footprint and listed dimensions (3 x 6.6 x 10.12 inches) make it easy to slip in a training pack or car console for short outings.

Materials & build quality

With treats, “build quality” maps to ingredients, texture consistency, and how reliably the product matches its claims. The listing calls Greenies Anytime Bites “chewy,” “easy to digest,” and made with “natural ingredients plus vitamins and minerals.” It also lists “Wheat Flour” under special ingredients and “No Artificial Flavors.”

That combination paints a fairly transparent picture: you’re getting a wafer-style chew that leans on grain-based structure (wheat flour named), with an emphasis on being palatable and digestible rather than a tough dental chew. The listing’s “chewy” descriptor and owner feedback reporting the treats are “soft enough” for small or older dogs confirms that texture profile.

One small production quirk I tracked in owner feedback is the occasional broken or deformed piece. Several owners noted some pieces arrive misshapen — the bag still contains plenty of intact treats, but expect a few crumbs or imperfect wafers in any package. That doesn’t affect palatability, but if you’re giving these to a dog that tends to gulp, watch for irregular pieces that might be easier to swallow whole.

Safety considerations

Safety is always my first filter. Here are the safety-relevant facts and what to watch for:

  • Rawhide-free: The listing explicitly lists these treats as rawhide-free in the allergen information. That removes a specific rawhide-related chew concern.
  • Wheat flour present: “Special Ingredients” names Wheat Flour. If your dog has a wheat or grain sensitivity, the listing gives you a clear reason to avoid these treats or check with a professional. Don’t assume grain-free unless the listing states it — it does not.
  • Choking / swallowing: The chewy wafer texture is soft enough for many dogs to chew, and owner notes indicate small and senior dogs manage them well. The listing also notes “easy to digest.” Still, the product benefits and owner experiences include the caveat that chewing (rather than swallowing whole) is important for dental benefit. If a dog tends to gulp, monitor the first few uses and consider breaking pieces down or using them under supervision.
  • Broken/deformed pieces: Internal feedback shows reports of some broken or deformed pieces in bags. While not a recall-level safety signal, that variability increases the chance of a smaller-than-intended chunk going down the hatch; supervision helps.
  • All life stages note: The listing marks the age range as “All Life Stages.” That’s helpful for multi-dog households, but always check with a qualified professional before changing diets or giving new products to young puppies or dogs with health conditions.

Overall, the product is positioned as low-risk for most dogs, but wheat-sensitive dogs and habitual gulpers are the two groups where I recommend extra caution.

Who this is for / who should skip

This section is about matching the product to real-life households.

Who should buy this

  • Training-focused pet parents: If you reward frequently and need a low-calorie, pocketable treat, the 13-calorie per treat listing makes these a natural fit. The small size and chewy texture are designed for repeated rewarding.
  • Owners who want a dental-friendly treat: The listing lists dental care and supports dental health as explicit product benefits; using these as part of a nightly breath routine is exactly how they’re marketed.
  • Homes with small or senior dogs: Owner experiences indicate small dogs and older dogs with missing teeth manage these treats well because they’re chewy but not overly tough.
  • People who prefer rawhide-free treats: The listing calls out that they are rawhide-free.

Who should skip or be cautious

  • Dogs with wheat allergies or sensitivities: The listing names Wheat Flour as a special ingredient. If wheat is a known trigger, this product is not a safe option without clearance.
  • Dogs that gulp or bolt treats: The dental benefit and safety are tied to chewing. If your dog habitually swallows treats whole, monitor closely, break treats into smaller pieces, or choose a form that forces chewing.
  • Shoppers who need exact count-per-bag data: The listing specifies a 24-ounce pouch but does not list the number of individual pieces per bag — if you need a precise piece-to-bag calculation for high-volume training, the listing doesn’t specify that count.

Verdict

Greenies Anytime Bites do what they claim on the tin: they’re small, chewy training treats that are low in calories and positioned to be used frequently. The combination of a 13-calorie per-treat listing, chewable wafer texture, and the “dental care” claim makes them a useful daily reward and a short nightly breath/dental ritual for dogs who will chew rather than swallow them whole.

Strengths I lean on as a pet parent: the treat size and texture are well-suited to training; the rawhide-free label removes a common chew concern; they’re clearly targeted for frequent rewarding. Weaknesses and caveats: wheat flour is in the ingredient list (so not appropriate for wheat-sensitive dogs), the listing doesn’t state how many pieces are in a 24-ounce bag, and some packages can contain broken or deformed pieces — which increases the need for supervision with gulpers.

Check before you buy (my quick checklist)

  • Confirm wheat sensitivity: the listing lists Wheat Flour as a special ingredient.
  • Decide whether you need a chew that forces chewing vs. a soft wafer (these are chewy wafers; they work best if your dog chews).
  • Plan portioning for your dog’s size: treats are small (13 calories each); for large-breed training you may need multiple pieces per reward.
  • Note the bag format: the listing shows a 24-ounce pouch; owners report the bag seals well but many store treats in airtight containers for extended freshness.
  • Expect some imperfect pieces: internal notes report occasional broken or deformed pieces in bags — inspect the first handful if your dog gulps.

Colors / flavors available

The listing shows flavor variants and imagery that suggest multiple flavor offerings. Available flavors may include:

  • Original
  • Mint
  • Blueberry

I list them here because packaging and image file names on the listing reference those variants; the product I evaluated was the Original flavor unless otherwise stated in the listing.

Final notes as The Pet Dude

If you want a compact, low-calorie treat for frequent rewarding and occasional dental support, Greenies Anytime Bites line up with that use case on paper and in everyday practice. They’re especially convenient for small and senior dogs and for trainers who don’t want to hand over large, high-calorie rewards several times an hour. That said, check the ingredient list for wheat flour if allergies are a concern, inspect the bag for broken pieces if your dog gulps, and remember the listing does not state how many treats are in a 24-ounce bag — so factor that into supply planning for heavy trainers.

Bottom line: useful, focused, and convenient treats that do what they say — just run the basic safety checks (ingredient sensitivities and supervision for gulpers) before making them a daily staple.

Frequently asked questions

Are these treats suitable for puppies and seniors?

The listing lists the age range as “All Life Stages,” so they are marketed for puppies through seniors. The chewy wafer texture is described as easy to digest, and owner experiences show small and older dogs can manage them, but always check with a qualified professional before introducing anything new to very young puppies or medically fragile seniors.

How many calories are in each treat?

The listing states each Greenies Anytime Bite is 13 calories per treat, which is why they’re positioned for frequent rewarding during training.

Are Greenies Anytime Bites rawhide-free and where are they made?

Yes — the listing’s allergen information lists the treats as rawhide-free, and the product copy notes they are crafted in USA facilities with quality ingredients from around the world.

Can dogs with wheat allergies eat these?

The listing specifies Wheat Flour under special ingredients. If your dog has a wheat sensitivity or allergy, the listing indicates these treats contain wheat and they should be avoided unless a qualified professional advises otherwise.

Do the bags seal to stay fresh?

The product is sold in a pouch (container type: Pouch) and owner feedback reports that the bag seals well for short-term freshness; some pet parents still transfer treats to an airtight container for longer storage.

How durable are the treats — do they come broken?

Internal feedback notes that some bags include broken or deformed pieces. That doesn’t affect flavor, but it’s a quality note to be aware of — inspect the first handful if your dog tends to gulp treats.

How many treats are in a 24-ounce bag?

The listing specifies a 24-ounce pouch but does not list the number of individual pieces per bag; the exact piece count is not specified.

Think it’s right for your pet?

Double-check size, age, and species fit on the listing. The same affiliate link covers details and checkout — supports the site at no extra cost to you.

Affiliate disclosure: Links on this page may earn us a commission. You pay the same price; it helps fund more ridiculous field tests.