HAVEATAG
HAVEATAG Stainless Steel Pet ID Tag Review
Cute Dog Tag with Custom Text - Engraved on Both Sides Stainless Steel Pet ID Tags - Personalized cat & Dog Tags for Collar Pendant (Bone)
How the Dude Score is calculated
| Signal | Reading | Pts |
|---|---|---|
| Amazon rating (base) | 4.8★ | +96.0 / 100 |
| Review volume confidence | 190 reviews | +2.9 (min 0) |
| Critical (1-2★) penalty | 0% | +0.0 (min -6) |
| DudeScore Build & Materials | 86/100 | +2.2 (min -2) |
| DudeScore Safety Signals | 90/100 | +3.2 (min -3) |
| DudeScore Long-term Durability | 82/100 | +1.9 (min -2) |
| Final Dude Score | 100.0 | |
DudeScore editorial signals (build, safety, longevity) are scored independently of the star average — they reflect what owner feedback and product specs actually say about the product. Some signals are skipped when they don't fit the product type (e.g. build & durability for consumables).
Intro
I’m The Pet Dude, a gear-focused pet parent who spends a lot of time picking practical, safe accessories for collars and daily wear. On paper the HAVEATAG Cute Dog Tag with Custom Text looks like a classic single-item fix: a personalized ID pendant engraved on both sides and built from "high strength premium stainless steel," according to the listing. With pet safety and everyday durability at the top of my checklist, I read the listing closely and walked through the features the brand calls out so you can decide whether this is the right ID tag for your cat, puppy, or big dog.
What it is / first look
The listing positions this as a straightforward, personalized pet ID tag: "Cute Dog Tag with Custom Text - Engraved on Both Sides Stainless Steel Pet ID Tags - Personalized cat & Dog Tags for Collar Pendant (Bone)." That title already tells you several concrete things the brand emphasizes—engraving on both sides, stainless-steel construction, and personalization for cats and dogs.
At a glance the product listing highlights three core selling points in its bullet features: the material ("High strength premium stainless steel"), the engraving ("Clearly engraved and long-lasting"), and safety details ("Hand sanded edges that won't cut your four-legged friend"). It also lists the shapes and a three-size system intended to fit small pets, medium dogs, and large dogs.
Shapes and sizing called out in the listing
- Available shapes: Bone, Circle, Hexagon.
- Available sizes tied to weight ranges: Small (5–20 lbs), Medium (20–50 lbs), Large (over 50 lbs).
I always start with shapes and sizes because those are the immediate practical decisions: a bone tag reads as a classic dog silhouette, while circle and hexagon give slightly different fits and visual footprints on a collar. The listing provides the weight-based guidance above so you can map small/medium/large to your pet's size class.
In daily use
The listing focuses on daily-wear strengths rather than accessories or mounting hardware. It promises a premium stainless-steel construction that "never bend[s]" and engraving that is "clearly engraved and long-lasting." That wording is intended to address two daily-use concerns: the tag surviving normal knocks and the engraving remaining readable over time.
Because the listing explicitly names the three weight-based size buckets, here’s how that ties to daily wear and life stage in the listing’s terms.
Small pets & kittens/puppies (Small: 5–20 lbs)
The listing calls out a Small size for 5–20 lb pets, which the brand suggests for "cat, puppy or dog." If your pet falls into that weight range, the Small size is what the listing specifies.
Medium dogs (Medium: 20–50 lbs)
The listing specifies Medium for pets between 20–50 lbs. If you own a medium-breed dog in that bracket, the listing’s size guidance points you toward the Medium option.
Large dogs (Large: over 50 lbs)
For larger breeds the listing lists a Large size marked "over 50 Lbs." That is the only size guidance the listing gives for big dogs.
Beyond size and shape, the listing's copy and bullets emphasize longevity of engraving and resistance to bending—both practical points for a tag you expect to wear daily. The product copy does not specify how the tag attaches to a collar (split ring, clasp, etc.), nor does it list exact dimensions or weight of the tag, so those details are "the listing doesn't specify."
Materials & build quality
The listing is explicit about base materials and a few build traits: it calls the metal "high strength premium stainless steel," says tags are "Clearly engraved and long-lasting," and adds that tags "Never bend." Those three claims are the core of the listing’s build-quality pitch.
Listing copy also highlights a finishing step: "Hand sanded edges that won't cut your four-legged friend." That indicates the brand is calling attention to an extra finishing stage intended to improve the feel of the perimeter of the pendant where it might rub on collars or fur.
Because the listing repeats "high strength premium stainless steel" and includes the "never bend" claim, the brand is positioning this as a sturdier option versus low-grade metal tags. The listing does not provide any additional manufacturing details, such as grade of stainless steel, thickness, or exact engraving depth, so I limit my read of materials to what the listing states.
Safety considerations
Pet safety is my top editorial priority. The listing contains a few explicit safety-related claims I read closely.
- Edges: The listing says the tag has "hand sanded edges that won't cut your four-legged friend." That directly addresses a common safety concern about sharp edges rubbing or cutting a pet's neck or paws.
- Engraving readability: The listing calls the engraving "clearly engraved and long-lasting," which speaks to identification safety—if engraved text remains readable it helps with a lost-pet scenario, per the listing's claim.
- Durability claim: The listing's "Never bend" assertion is a safety-adjacent durability claim; a tag that resists bending is less likely to warp and create a jagged edge, according to the product copy.
What the listing does not specify (so you should factor that in): it doesn't list the recommended method of attachment to a collar, it doesn't state exact tag dimensions or hole diameter for a ring, and it doesn't note any choking-risk guidance or weight of the pendant. Those omissions mean you should double-check mount compatibility if you plan to attach the tag to a narrow or specialized collar hardware.
Who this is for / who should skip
Reading the listing strictly, the HAVEATAG pet ID pendant is aimed at owners who want a personalized, stainless-steel tag available in three shapes and three weight-based sizes. Here’s how I break that down by pet size and use case based on the listing copy.
Fits the listing's stated audiences
- Owners of cats and small dogs: the listing explicitly lists Small sizing for "cat, puppy or dog" in the 5–20 lb range.
- Owners of medium and large dogs: the listing provides Medium (20–50 lbs) and Large (over 50 lbs) sizing options.
- Buyers who want engraving on both sides: the product title and copy specify double-sided engraving.
- Shoppers prioritizing a smoothed finish: the listing points out hand-sanded edges as a safety and comfort feature.
Who should skip (based on listing gaps)
- If you need exact tag dimensions or hole diameters for a specific collar attachment, the listing doesn't specify those numbers—so skip if that precise fit is critical without contacting the seller.
- If you require specified color options: the listing doesn't list color names, so skip if color matching is essential to you.
- If you need manufacturing-grade details such as stainless-steel grade, thickness, or precise engraving depth, the listing doesn't specify those technical metrics.
Verdict
Short version: based on the listing, this is a straightforward, personalized stainless-steel pet tag with a few seller-highlighted safety and durability attributes—engraving on both sides, hand-sanded edges, and wording that suggests a sturdy finish that "never bend[s]." The listing also gives clear size guidance tied to pet weight ranges and offers three shape options (Bone, Circle, Hexagon).
I appreciate that the listing calls out hand sanding and double-sided engraving; those are the kinds of details I look for when I want a reliable ID tag for daily wear. The trade-offs here are transparency gaps the listing doesn't fill: exact dimensions, attachment hardware type, listed color names, and technical grade of the stainless steel are all left unspecified in the product copy.
Check before you buy (checklist)
- Confirm your pet's weight and select the listed size: Small (5–20 lbs), Medium (20–50 lbs), or Large (over 50 lbs).
- Decide which shape you want: Bone, Circle, or Hexagon (these are the shapes shown in the listing).
- Remember the listing claims the tag is made from "high strength premium stainless steel" and is "clearly engraved and long-lasting." If you need a specific stainless-steel grade or thickness, contact the seller because the listing doesn't specify that detail.
- Note the listing's safety claim: "hand sanded edges that won't cut your four-legged friend." If you have a pet with skin sensitivities or unusual collar hardware, verify fit and finish visually when the tag arrives.
- The listing does not specify attachment hardware or exact dimensions—make sure the tag hole and pendant size will work with your collar and ring before relying on it for a lost-pet ID solution.
- The listing does not list color names. If a specific color or finish match matters, the listing doesn't specify those options and you should check images closely or ask the seller.
Colors & images
The product images on the listing are present under filenames but the listing copy does not name colorways. Image files include:
- B0CF1YMQ6M_7571.jpg
- B0CF1YMQ6M_8421.jpg
- B0CF1YMQ6M_605.jpg
- B0CF1YMQ6M_8878.jpg
- B0CF1YMQ6M_794.jpg
- B0CF1YMQ6M_2275.jpg
- B0CF1YMQ6M.jpg
From the listing text we can reliably state the material finish is stainless steel, so "stainless steel (silvery finish)" is a safe read. The listing does not specify additional color names, so any other finishes are unlisted in the product copy.
Final thoughts from The Pet Dude
I like that the listing focuses on a few specific, practical selling points: premium stainless-steel construction, long-lasting engraving on both sides, and hand-sanded edges for safety. Those are exactly the kinds of attributes I'd check for when I want a basic personalized ID pendant to survive daily wear and still be readable.
That said, the listing leaves out some technical details that I often use to finalize a purchase—exact tag dimensions, hole diameter for attachment, stainless-steel grade, and named color options. If those specifics are important to you, the listing doesn't provide them and you should ask the seller or look at the product images closely before ordering.
Overall, based strictly on the listing copy, this looks like a solid, no-frills stainless steel personalized tag option in three shapes and three weight-based sizes. The safety claims (hand-sanded edges) and the durability claims ("never bend," "long-lasting engraving") make it worth considering if you want a clean, readable, stainless-steel ID pendant and the missing technical specifics are not dealbreakers for your collar setup.
Frequently asked questions
What material is the HAVEATAG pet tag made from?
The listing states the tag is made from "high strength premium stainless steel."
Are the edges sharp — could this cut my pet?
The listing specifically says the tags have "hand sanded edges that won't cut your four-legged friend."
What sizes are available and which size matches my pet?
The listing lists three sizes: Small (5–20 lbs), Medium (20–50 lbs), and Large (over 50 lbs).
Can I get engraving on both sides of the tag?
Yes—the product title and copy indicate the tag is "engraved on both sides."
What shapes can I choose for the tag?
The listing shows Bone, Circle, and Hexagon shapes as available options.
How long will the engraving last?
The listing claims the engraving is "clearly engraved and long-lasting," but it does not give a specific duration.
Does the listing specify color options?
The listing does not specify color names. Image filenames exist, but the listing copy does not list color options.
Think it’s right for your pet?
Double-check size, age, and species fit on the listing. The same affiliate link covers details and checkout — supports the site at no extra cost to you.
Affiliate disclosure: Links on this page may earn us a commission. You pay the same price; it helps fund more ridiculous field tests.