K9 Granola Factory
K9 Granola Blueberry Pumpkin Crunchers review
K9 Granola Factory Blueberry Pumpkin Crunchers (2Pack)
How the Dude Score is calculated
| Signal | Reading | Pts |
|---|---|---|
| Amazon rating (base) | 4.8★ | +96.0 / 100 |
| Review volume confidence | 66 reviews | +2.3 (min 0) |
| Critical (1-2★) penalty | 0% | +0.0 (min -6) |
| DudeScore Build & Materials | 82/100 | +1.9 (min -2) |
| DudeScore Safety Signals | 88/100 | +3.0 (min -3) |
| Final Dude Score | 100.0 | |
DudeScore editorial signals (build, safety, longevity) are scored independently of the star average — they reflect what owner feedback and product specs actually say about the product. Some signals are skipped when they don't fit the product type (e.g. build & durability for consumables).
Intro
I'm The Pet Dude — I obsess over ingredients, packaging, and whether treats actually behave in real life. The K9 Granola Factory Blueberry Pumpkin Crunchers (2Pack) caught my eye because pumpkin is listed as the number-one ingredient and the product is marketed for adult dogs. In this review I break down what these treats are, what they contain, how they behave in daily use, any safety flags to watch for, and which pets and life stages they suit — all based on the product listing and the internal owner feedback I reviewed.
What it is / first look
What the listing says: K9 Granola Factory Blueberry Pumpkin Crunchers come as a 2-pack in a bagged format. The listing lists the unit count as 14 Ounce and the package is described as a bag with a "Freshness Sealed inner Pouch." The product is labeled for the Adult age range and the item form is "Flake." The manufacturer copy makes a few marketing points that show up on the listing: "Pumpkin is our #1 ingredient," the treats are "wheat, corn, and soy free," and they're "Made proudly in the USA." The full ingredients list in the listing reads exactly: Pumpkin, Pumpkin, Oatmeal, Barley Flour, Oat Flour, Blueberries, Potatoes, Vegetable Oil, Molasses, Cinnamon, Vanilla.
Packaging and availability details from the listing: the product dimensions are 10.98 x 7.6 x 3.58 inches and the package weight is 1.79 pounds (package dimensions and weight are included in the listing). The listing also notes "Only 5 left in stock - order soon," which is a live-stock message carried on the product page at the time of that snapshot.
What you see when you open the bag
The listing text and owner feedback emphasize a crunchy cookie-like treat with visible blueberry/brown cookie appearance. The listing claims a new freshness-sealed inner pouch, and internal notes include examples of owners finding the treats fresh and well-liked by picky eaters. One internal quote called them "Yummy treats!!" while another straightforwardly stated: "Best Treats!"
In daily use
These are straightforward crunchy cookie-style treats meant for adult dogs. Owners' impressions in the internal notes highlight a few recurring practical themes I want to call out:
- Palatability: Multiple notes say dogs (and even a few other pets) loved the flavor — quotes include "Yummy!" and "Delicious". A number of owners said they use these as favorites and even give them as gifts to dog-owning friends.
- Training and portioning: The treats are described as easily broken into pieces for training — one owner specifically said they are "easily broken into peices for training." The item form listed as "Flake" aligns with that training-friendly, breakable texture.
- Texture and dental effect: Owners repeatedly described the Crunchers as crunchy and said the crisp texture helps reduce tartar/plaque. One quote from the notes: "I like these treats because I feel that they are crunchy and help reduce tartar/plaque in my dogs' teeth." The listing itself distinguishes a crunchy version and references pumpkin as the base.
- Freshness and packaging variability: the listing advertises a freshness-sealed inner pouch, but internal notes include at least one comment that the bag was razor cut. That suggests occasional packaging damage at arrival for a minority of buyers; the sealed pouch claim on the product page is intended to guard freshness.
- Cross-species curiosity: Internal notes include unusual but explicit instances where buyers fed these to other animals — one owner reported giving them to a B&G Macaw who liked them, and another said their rabbits loved them. The listing itself is in the dog treats category and is specified for adult dogs, so any use with other species is owner-driven and outside the product category's stated intent.
How I’d use them day-to-day
In my rotation I’d stash a bag in the training pocket and a resealed pouch in the pantry. The listed 14-ounce unit size and the breakable texture make the Crunchers a good option for quick training rewards or mid-day pocket treats that won't leave your hands greasy — owners mentioned the treats are "not greasy" and "safe in your pockets." Given the listing's adult-only age range, I would keep these for adult dogs unless a professional explicitly clears them for a younger or different species.
Materials & build quality
For food items, "materials" maps to ingredients, sourcing, and packaging. Here's what the listing and internal notes provide.
Ingredients and formulation
The listing gives a short ingredient list — again, exactly as written on the product page: Pumpkin, Pumpkin, Oatmeal, Barley Flour, Oat Flour, Blueberries, Potatoes, Vegetable Oil, Molasses, Cinnamon, Vanilla. The company and bullet points emphasize that pumpkin is the top ingredient and that the treats are "wheat, corn, and soy free." The presence of oatmeal, barley flour, and oat flour means these are not grain-free treats; they contain grains from oats and barley.
From a formulation perspective, the treat is clearly pumpkin-forward with blueberry as a flavor accent. The listing also calls out pumpkin's nutrients (carotenoids, zinc, iron, fiber) in the marketing copy, and owners in the internal notes described the treats as "very healthy" and "low in fat" for sensitive breeds like schnauzers (that quote is in the internal notes). Those health-related descriptions come from the owner feedback and the manufacturer's marketing copy on the listing.
Packaging quality
The product page advertises a "Freshness Sealed inner Pouch" inside the brown sack-style bag. That is a positive detail for shelf life and keeping the cookies crisp. On the flip side, internal notes include isolated reports of damaged or razor-cut bags; one buyer specifically said "The bag was razor cut." That suggests you should check the inner pouch when you receive the order, and that occasional shipping or fulfillment issues can affect presentation even if the inner pouch is there.
Safety considerations
Pet safety is my top priority when recommending treats. Below I list safety-relevant facts you can find in the listing and in the owner feedback I reviewed.
- Age range: The listing specifies Adult. The listing doesn't specify puppy or senior formulations, so follow the product's stated age guidance or consult a qualified professional before giving to very young or medically fragile dogs.
- Ingredients and allergens: The listing explicitly says the treats are "wheat, corn, and soy free." Ingredients include oatmeal, barley flour, and oat flour, so these treats are not free of grains altogether. If your dog has a specific grain allergy (for example, to oats or barley), the ingredient list should be checked carefully. Internal notes include several owners choosing these for dogs needing to avoid wheat, corn, soy, and additives.
- Choking and size: The treats are described as crunchy and easily broken into pieces for training. That breakable texture reduces the risk of large, hard chunks, but the listing does not provide a recommended feeding size or an explicit choking-warning. Always supervise your dog with any new treat and break pieces small enough for your dog's breed and chewing ability.
- Cross-species feeding: Internal notes mention that some owners gave these to a macaw and to rabbits and observed enthusiasm. The product listing itself is for dog treats and does not specify suitability for birds or small mammals; if you consider giving human- or dog-formulated snacks to other species, consult an avian or exotic first. The listing does not claim these are safe for rabbits or birds.
- Freshness & contamination risk: The listing's freshness-sealed inner pouch is intended to preserve crispness and limit contamination. Because internal notes include a report of a razor-cut bag at arrival, inspect the inner pouch when you receive the product and discard if the inner pouch is open or the treats look compromised.
- Ingredient transparency and sourcing: The listing states "Made proudly in the USA." That's the extent of origin/sourcing claims on the product page; there are no specific facility or sourcing certifications on the listing.
Who this is for / who should skip
Below I separate common buyer scenarios so you can decide quickly whether these treats fit your household.
Best for
- Adult dogs needing low-fat, simple-ingredient treats: Internal notes include owners who give these to dogs prone to pancreatitis and call the treats "excellent" for fat-sensitive breeds. The listing emphasizes pumpkin as the top ingredient, and owners praised the treats as "very healthy."
- Picky eaters and training rewards: Multiple internal quotes call the treats delicious to their dogs, and the "flake" form plus breakable texture makes them convenient for training sessions.
- Owners avoiding wheat/corn/soy: The listing explicitly states the treats are free from wheat, corn, and soy; internal notes show people with those constraints opted for these treats.
- People who want pumpkin-based treats: If you like pumpkin-forward formulations for the fiber and nutrient marketing angle, this product lists pumpkin first and the listing copy calls out pumpkin's carotenoids and nutrients.
Skip or be cautious if
- Your dog needs a grain-free diet: The ingredients include oatmeal, barley flour, and oat flour — the listing does not claim grain-free.
- Your dog is a puppy or has special dietary needs: The listing age range is Adult. For puppies, nursing dogs, or dogs with complex medical diets, the listing doesn't provide specialized feeding guidance; consult a qualified professional.
- Your dog has oats/barley allergies: These treats contain oat and barley ingredients, so they're not suitable for dogs with those grain sensitivities.
- You expect human-grade food safety guarantees or certifications: The listing states "Made proudly in the USA" but does not list third-party certifications on the product page.
Verdict
Short version: K9 Granola Factory Blueberry Pumpkin Crunchers are a pumpkin-forward, crunchy adult dog treat with a short ingredient list and a freshness-sealed inner pouch on the product page. They land as a solid mid- to upper-tier treat option for adult dogs who can eat grains from oats and barley and for owners who want a low-grease, breakable training treat. Owner feedback in the internal notes praised palatability, described them as helpful for tartar control because of the crunch, and highlighted usefulness for dogs that must avoid wheat, corn, and soy. The main real-world caveats are that the listing does not claim grain-free status (oats and barley are present), the bag can occasionally arrive damaged even though the product page advertises an inner freshness pouch, and the product is labeled for adult dogs only.
Check before you buy
- Confirm the 14 Ounce, 2-pack matches the quantity you want — the listing lists Unit Count: 14 Ounce and Number of Items: 2.
- Verify the ingredient list (copy it into your notes if needed): Pumpkin, Pumpkin, Oatmeal, Barley Flour, Oat Flour, Blueberries, Potatoes, Vegetable Oil, Molasses, Cinnamon, Vanilla.
- Note the age range is Adult; the listing does not specify puppy or senior formulations.
- Inspect the inner pouch on arrival; although the listing advertises a freshness-sealed inner pouch, some orders in the internal feedback arrived with razor-cut bags.
- If your dog has grain allergies, check that oats/barley are acceptable — these treats contain oatmeal and barley flour.
- The listing claims "Made proudly in the USA"; if you need specific facility certifications, the product page does not list them.
Colors available
- Available colors may include: brown (bag packaging), orange (pumpkin imagery/snack color), blue (blueberry accents).
Final thought: If you want a pumpkin-first crunchy cookie for an adult dog who tolerates oats and barley, these are a convenient, flavorful option that many dogs seem to enjoy. Keep an eye on the packaging when it arrives and consult a professional for any specific dietary or cross-species feeding questions.
Frequently asked questions
What size and quantity do these come in?
The listing shows a 14 Ounce unit count and this is sold as a 2-pack in a bag; package dimensions in the listing are 10.98 x 7.6 x 3.58 inches and listed package weight is 1.79 pounds.
Are these treats grain-free or free of common allergens?
The product page explicitly states these are wheat, corn, and soy free, but the ingredient list includes oatmeal, barley flour, and oat flour, so they are not grain-free and contain grains from oats and barley.
Are these safe for puppies or other species like rabbits or birds?
The listing specifies the age range as Adult. Internal notes include owners who fed them to a macaw and to rabbits and reported those animals liked them, but the product listing does not specify safety or suitability for species other than dogs, so consult a qualified professional before offering to other species or to puppies.
Do these help with tartar or dental health?
Internal owner feedback describes the Crunchers as crunchy and said the texture helps reduce tartar/plaque. The listing itself highlights a crunchy cookie format but does not make an explicit dental-health claim beyond that description.
What are the exact ingredients?
The listing lists the ingredients as: Pumpkin, Pumpkin, Oatmeal, Barley Flour, Oat Flour, Blueberries, Potatoes, Vegetable Oil, Molasses, Cinnamon, Vanilla.
How is the packaging? Any freshness concerns?
The product page advertises a 'Freshness Sealed inner Pouch.' Internal notes include mostly positive freshness reports, but at least one buyer commented 'The bag was razor cut,' so inspect the inner pouch on arrival and discard if it appears compromised.
Think it’s right for your pet?
Double-check size, age, and species fit on the listing. The same affiliate link covers details and checkout — supports the site at no extra cost to you.
Affiliate disclosure: Links on this page may earn us a commission. You pay the same price; it helps fund more ridiculous field tests.