Milk-Bone
Milk-Bone MaroSnacks & Flavor Snacks review
Milk-Bone Dog Treats Bundle: MaroSnacks Beef 40 Ounce + Flavor Snacks Mini's 36 Ounce
How the Dude Score is calculated
| Signal | Reading | Pts |
|---|---|---|
| Amazon rating (base) | 4.9★ | +98.0 / 100 |
| Review volume confidence | 103 reviews | +2.5 (min 0) |
| Critical (1-2★) penalty | 0% | +0.0 (min -6) |
| DudeScore Build & Materials | 78/100 | +1.7 (min -2) |
| DudeScore Safety Signals | 85/100 | +2.8 (min -3) |
| Final Dude Score | 100.0 | |
DudeScore editorial signals (build, safety, longevity) are scored independently of the star average — they reflect what owner feedback and product specs actually say about the product. Some signals are skipped when they don't fit the product type (e.g. build & durability for consumables).
Intro
I'm The Pet Dude, and I spend a lot of time testing and parsing pet gear and food-related products so you don't have to. The Milk-Bone Dog Treats Bundle (MaroSnacks Beef 40 Ounce + Flavor Snacks Mini's 36 Ounce) is a two-can pack that combines a marrow-centered crunchy biscuit with a pack of right-sized mini flavor biscuits. On paper it's a simple promise: snacks that taste great, help with dental care, and are easy to use for training and everyday rewarding.
What it is / first look
The listing bundles two canisters: one 40-ounce canister of MaroSnacks and one 36-ounce canister of Flavor Snacks, for a combined unit count of 76 ounces and an item weight of 4.75 pounds. The brand and manufacturer listed are Milk-Bone and The J.M. Smucker Co., respectively, with a date first available of January 29, 2024.
Here are the product facts I lean on:
- Included components: 1 - 40 ounce canister + 1 - 36 ounce canister (unit count 76 Ounce).
- Key features called out on the listing: MaroSnacks have a biscuit shell that encases a real bone marrow center; Flavor Snacks are mini biscuits in beef, chicken and bacon flavors.
- Claims from the manufacturer: treats are rawhide-free, made with calcium, use only natural ingredients as sources of color, and Flavor Snacks are 5 calories per treat with 12 vitamins and minerals.
- Targeting and uses listed: Age Range Description is "All Life Stages", Breed Recommendation says "All Breed Sizes" while a separate field lists Dog Breed Size as "Medium" (the listing contains both entries). Specific uses for product include dental care, and recommended uses list snacking, training, everyday use, occasional treats, and dog training rewards. The listing also says the Flavor Snacks are baked in Buffalo, New York, USA.
In short: the bundle is a mix of a marrow-filled crunchy biscuit (MaroSnacks) and the classic Milk-Bone mini Flavor Snacks, sized for frequent rewarding, with dental-care positioning and rawhide-free formulation.
In daily use
I look at how a treat performs in three everyday roles: training rewards, casual snacking, and dental-support/stale-breath management. My impressions below combine my hands-on with the items and the owner feedback I reviewed as part of research.
Training and high-reward moments
The Flavor Snacks are explicitly framed in the listing as "right-sized for treating more often" and are listed at only 5 calories per treat. That makes them an obvious pick during repetitive training sessions where you want to reward frequently without blasting the daily calorie budget. Owner feedback I reviewed repeatedly highlights that these treats work well to get attention and shape behavior — people noted dogs learn quickly when these treats are in play.
MaroSnacks are thicker and crunchier with a real bone marrow center. Because they're more substantial, I treat them as high-value rewards or for special-play sessions rather than rapid-fire training. The textural contrast — crunchy shell with a meaty center — is the product's signature and is why many dogs respond strongly to them.
Everyday snacking and portion control
With two canisters totaling 76 ounces, this bundle leans toward multi-dog households or single-dog owners who prefer buying in bulk. Flavor Snacks' 5-calorie-per-treat fact is useful for tracking—if you're counting treats as part of your dog's daily calories, those minis are easy to add up. The listing doesn't provide calorie counts for MaroSnacks, so you'll need to assume those are higher per piece compared with the minis and use them more sparingly.
Dental-care positioning
The product claims include breath freshening and tartar reduction benefits thanks to the crunchy texture—Flavor Snacks specifically claim a crunchy texture that helps freshen breath and reduce tartar build-up. The listing also lists "Dental Care" as a specific use and cites "promotes dental health" under product benefits. Don't expect a substitute for brushing, but the treats are positioned as a small dental-support tool in a broader hygiene routine.
Materials & build quality
For treats, "materials" means ingredients and formulation transparency. The listing highlights a few worth repeating: MaroSnacks contain a real bone marrow center and the product is "made with calcium." Flavor Snacks advertise 12 vitamins and minerals, and the listing emphasizes the use of natural ingredients as sources of color. The manufacturer also states the Flavor Snacks are baked in Buffalo, New York, USA.
These points matter because they indicate the brand's positioning: this is not a single-ingredient or novel-protein treat, but a fortified, multi-ingredient dog biscuit built around palatability (flavor and texture) and some dental benefits. The listing also explicitly flags "Rawhide-Free" in the allergen information, which is a material-level safety decision many owners look for.
Safety considerations
Safety is my first filter when recommending treats. The listing supplies several safety-relevant facts you should know before you hand a piece to your dog.
- Rawhide-free: The product explicitly lists "Rawhide-Free" under allergen information. For owners avoiding rawhide due to digestibility concerns, that is a clear positive from the listing.
- Calories and size: Flavor Snacks are listed at 5 calories each. The listing doesn't give per-piece calories for MaroSnacks, nor does it provide exact piece counts per canister, so portioning the marrow-filled biscuits requires extra attention.
- Age and breed guidance: The listing's Age Range Description is "All Life Stages" and Recommended Uses list training and everyday use. However, the listing also contains both "Breed Recommendation: All Breed Sizes" and a separate field that says "Dog Breed Size: Medium." Because the listing contains both entries, I flag this as an internal inconsistency and recommend owners cross-check whether the marrow-filled MaroSnacks are an appropriate texture for very small puppies or dogs with dental fragility.
- Dental-claim context: The listing states the crunchy texture helps freshen breath and reduce tartar build-up. These are common claims for crunchy biscuits, but they are complementary hygiene tools—not replacements for tooth brushing or professional dental care. always get professional guidance about dental health strategies for your dog.
- Choking risk and supervision: The listing doesn't specify choking-risk warnings or recommended minimum ages. Owner feedback singled out that the Flavor Snacks are a perfect size for small dogs and that MaroSnacks deliver a satisfying crunch without being too hard, but every dog is different. Supervise new treat types until you know how your dog chews and swallows them.
Because the listing lacks explicit piece counts and per-piece calories for MaroSnacks, owners who must track calories tightly or have dogs on strict elimination diets should consult the label on the package and consider asking their qualified professional for guidance.
Who this is for / who should skip
Below I break this down by household type and canine life stage so you can see whether the bundle fits your needs.
Best for
- Owners who want a mix of everyday mini training treats and higher-value marrow-centered biscuits in one purchase. The listing markets both uses explicitly: Flavor Snacks for frequent treating and MaroSnacks as a savory crunchy option.
- People who prefer rawhide-free treats. The product is expressly listed as rawhide-free.
- Households that like buying in bulk—a two-can bundle totaling 76 ounces is sized for regular treat use.
- Those looking for treats with added vitamins/minerals and calcium—Flavor Snacks are listed as having 12 vitamins and minerals and MaroSnacks are described as made with calcium.
- Owners who appreciate U.S. baking claims—Flavor Snacks are listed as baked in Buffalo, New York, USA.
Who should skip or be cautious
- Owners of dogs with strict ingredient allergies or sensitive stomachs who require full ingredient transparency before trying a new treat—while the listing calls out several ingredients/features, it does not present a full ingredient list in the product facts provided here.
- People who need exact piece counts or per-piece calorie numbers for the MaroSnacks—those specifics are not given in the listing copy I reviewed.
- Caregivers of puppies with fragile baby teeth or dogs with significant dental issues—although the listing calls out dental benefits from crunch, the marrow-centered biscuits are still crunchy and the listing includes both "All Life Stages" and a separate "Dog Breed Size: Medium" field, so double-check the physical product packaging or consult a qualified professional.
Verdict
Here’s my take: the Milk-Bone MaroSnacks + Flavor Snacks two-can bundle is a practical, broadly appealing mix for owners who want both frequent-training minis and more indulgent marrow-centered biscuits. The listing gives clear selling points—real bone marrow center in the MaroSnacks, 5 calories per Flavor Snack with 12 vitamins and minerals, rawhide-free formulation, dental-care positioning, and a U.S.-baked callout for the minis. Owner feedback I looked at during research strongly indicates dogs respond well to both textures and flavors, and many owners reported repeated purchases.
That said, the listing leaves out some specifics that matter to calorie counters and allergy-conscious owners—there's no per-piece calorie callout for MaroSnacks, and the listing does not list a full ingredient panel in the fields provided to me. Also, the listing contains a small internal inconsistency: Age Range is "All Life Stages" while a separate product field lists "Dog Breed Size: Medium" even though a different field says "Breed Recommendation: All Breed Sizes." Because of those gaps, my recommendation is conditional: if you want a reliable bulk treat bundle that is rawhide-free and dental-forward, this is a solid pick; if you need full ingredient transparency or specific per-piece nutrition for the marrow biscuits, look at the physical label or contact the manufacturer before buying.
Check before you buy (quick checklist)
- Verify ingredients on the actual package if your dog has allergies—the listing highlights real bone marrow, calcium, and natural colors but doesn't show a full ingredient panel in the listing copy I reviewed.
- Confirm portioning strategy: Flavor Snacks are 5 calories per treat; the listing doesn't state per-piece calories for MaroSnacks.
- Note the included sizes: 1 x 40 oz MaroSnacks canister + 1 x 36 oz Flavor Snacks canister (76 oz total; item weight 4.75 pounds).
- Supervise your dog the first few times you offer these treats to ensure they chew and swallow safely—especially for very small dogs and puppies.
- Check the product package for any additional safety or feeding instructions that aren't listed in the online product facts.
Colors and packaging: the image files associated with the listing suggest natural biscuit tones and multi-flavor packaging. Available colors may include light tan, brown, and reddish-brown tones consistent with beef/chicken/bacon flavor variants.
Overall, if you want a dependable, mass-market treat bundle from a longstanding brand that positions itself around palatability and small dental benefits, this Milk-Bone bundle checks a lot of boxes. If your needs are more specialized (exact calorie math for every piece, a single-ingredient treat, or novel protein), the listing doesn't provide enough detail and you'll want to check the physical label or the manufacturer.
Frequently asked questions
How many canisters and what sizes are included in this bundle?
The listing states the bundle includes one 40 ounce canister of MaroSnacks and one 36 ounce canister of Flavor Snacks, for a combined unit count of 76 ounces and an item weight of 4.75 pounds.
Are these treats rawhide-free?
Yes. The product's allergen information explicitly lists the treats as Rawhide-Free.
Can I use these for training and how many calories are in each treat?
Flavor Snacks are marketed as "right-sized for treating more often" and the listing specifies they are 5 calories per treat. The listing does not provide per-piece calorie information for the MaroSnacks, so use the MaroSnacks more sparingly or check the package label for nutritional details.
Are these suitable for puppies and all dog sizes?
The listing's Age Range Description is "All Life Stages" and one field lists "Breed Recommendation: All Breed Sizes," but another field separately lists Dog Breed Size as "Medium." Because of that mixed information, verify the physical package and consider your puppy's dental maturity before offering marrow-centered MaroSnacks.
Do the treats help with dental health?
The listing claims a crunchy texture that helps freshen breath and reduce tartar build-up and lists Dental Care as a specific use. These are positioned as a supplemental dental aid rather than a replacement for brushing or professional care.
How many individual treats are in each canister?
The listing provides the canister weights and total unit count (76 ounces) but does not specify the number of individual treats per canister.
Where are these treats made?
The listing states the Flavor Snacks are baked in Buffalo, New York, USA. The listing does not specify a manufacturing location for the MaroSnacks beyond manufacturer information (The J.M. Smucker Co.).
Are colors or dyes used in these treats?
The listing says the product uses only natural ingredients as sources of color.
Think it’s right for your pet?
Double-check size, age, and species fit on the listing. The same affiliate link covers details and checkout — supports the site at no extra cost to you.
Affiliate disclosure: Links on this page may earn us a commission. You pay the same price; it helps fund more ridiculous field tests.