Minties
Minties Dog Dental Bone Treats Review — Mint Freshening Chews
Minties Dog Dental Bone Treats, Mint, Tiny/Small, 16 oz (Pack of 2)
How the Dude Score is calculated
| Signal | Reading | Pts |
|---|---|---|
| Amazon rating (base) | 4.9★ | +98.0 / 100 |
| Review volume confidence | 43 reviews | +2.1 (min 0) |
| Critical (1-2★) penalty | 0% | +0.0 (min -6) |
| DudeScore Build & Materials | 78/100 | +1.7 (min -2) |
| DudeScore Safety Signals | 88/100 | +3.0 (min -3) |
| Final Dude Score | 100.0 | |
DudeScore editorial signals (build, safety, longevity) are scored independently of the star average — they reflect what owner feedback and product specs actually say about the product. Some signals are skipped when they don't fit the product type (e.g. build & durability for consumables).
Intro
I'm The Pet Dude, and I dig pet gear — that includes treats that promise more than a tasty reward. Minties Dog Dental Bone Treats in Mint for tiny/small adult dogs popped up in my research because they claim to combine a plant-based recipe with textured chewing action and multiple natural breath-fresheners. The listing calls them an affordable dental chew for adult small breeds and lists specific ingredients meant to fight bad odor. Owners I looked at consistently praised fresh breath and palatability, and some reported real improvements in plaque. In this review I break down what the product actually is, how it behaves in daily use, materials and ingredient transparency, safety notes I think you should know, and which dogs these treats will (and won’t) be a good fit for.
What it is / first look
Minties Dog Dental Bone Treats are marketed as a dental chew for adult small-breed dogs. The listing specifies they’re designed for tiny/small adult dogs in the 5–39 lb weight range and labels the product as plant-based. Mint is the stated flavor, and the manufacturer highlights a "unique design" with uneven shapes and ridges intended to encourage chewing and provide a textured cleaning action to mechanically scrub plaque and tartar as dogs chew.
Packaging and units: the Amazon listing identifies the product as a Pack of 2 and lists a unit count of 32 ounces with an item weight of 2.3 pounds. The product dimensions on the listing are 9 x 3 x 7 inches and the listing’s age-range description is "Adult." The brand and manufacturer are both Minties. The item is presented in a bag container type.
Ingredient and composition claims that appear on the listing: the treats contain no wheat, soy, corn, artificial flavor, or animal by-products. The listing highlights five natural breath-fresheners used in the formulation: alfalfa, parsley, fennel, dill, and peppermint oil.
What you’ll see in the box
- The Amazon listing shows this as a two-bag pack (Pack of 2) with a total unit count listed as 32 oz and item weight 2.3 pounds.
- Packaging photos suggest minty/green branding and standard resealable bags (the listing’s images include multiple JPGs that hint at green and white label accents).
In daily use
I test and evaluate these kinds of treats by looking at two things: how willing a dog is to eat them (palatability) and whether the chew form and texture actually lend themselves to mechanical cleaning rather than being swallowed whole. From the research notes I reviewed and my own hands-on look at the product description, here’s how they typically perform in everyday routines.
Palatability — do dogs like them?
Across multiple reports I examined, dogs respond enthusiastically to the Minties Mint flavor. Several owners described dogs going "bonkers" or waiting nightly for their "dessert" treat, and one owner specifically said the mint flavor is a hit and their dog eagerly munches them. That consistent positive feedback suggests the mint flavor and texture make these treats an easy, high-reward nightly ritual for many small-breed adult dogs.
Oral health and breath control
The listing designates oral health as the specific use and emphasizes textured cleaning action via uneven shapes and ridges to scrub plaque and tartar. The product also contains five natural breath-fresheners — alfalfa, parsley, fennel, dill, and peppermint oil — which the manufacturer says actively help fight bad odor. In owner reports I reviewed, several people noted noticeably fresher breath after regular use. One detailed report described visible plaque reduction and whiter teeth after nightly treats, with the owner attributing a slowdown in the need for professional dental cleanings to regular Minties use. That said, the listing itself does not promise a professionalerinary-grade cleaning or specify measurable plaque-removal metrics.
Serving and frequency
The listing targets adult, tiny/small dogs (5–39 lb). In practice, several owners incorporated one treat into their nightly routine as a pre-bed dental step. If you want a similar regimen, follow the package serving guidance (the listing does not give per-day serving limits) and check with a qualified professional, especially for dogs with pre-existing dental disease.
Digestibility and sensitive stomachs
The listing’s ingredient exclusions—no wheat, soy, corn, artificial flavor, or animal by-products—make these a plant-based option that some owners found easy on their dogs’ stomachs. One owner specifically reported their small dog with a sensitive stomach tolerated the treats without issue. The listing itself does not provide more granular nutritional data or guaranteed digestibility percentages.
Materials & build quality
Because these are edible treats, "materials" refers to the formulation and texture rather than plastics or metals. The listing presents a fairly transparent set of exclusions and additions: the product is plant-based and explicitly contains no wheat, soy, corn, artificial flavor, or animal by-products. It also lists five botanical breath-fresheners—alfalfa, parsley, fennel, dill, and peppermint oil—and identifies Mint as the flavor.
Texture & design
The listing emphasizes a unique, uneven design with ridges to promote chewing and mechanical scrubbing. Owner reports back this design does encourage chewing rather than immediate swallowing; dogs often chew enthusiastically, which is crucial for any dental chew that relies on abrasion to clean teeth. The listing does not provide dimensions of an individual treat piece, so use the stated target weight range (5–39 lb) and small-breed designation as your sizing guide.
Ingredient transparency
Minties is fairly explicit about what’s not in the treat (wheat, soy, corn, artificial flavor, animal by-products) and it lists the breath-freshening botanicals used. The listing does not provide a full guaranteed analysis (crude protein/fat/fiber percentages) or a complete ingredient deck in order of predominance, and it does not list caloric information. If you need full nutritional details for medical or weight-management reasons, the listing doesn’t specify those numbers.
Safety considerations
Safety is the first thing I look at. The listing contains several positive safety signals and a few gaps where the listing is silent.
Positive signals from the listing and reports
- The product is plant-based and the listing specifies it contains no wheat, soy, corn, artificial flavor, or animal by-products — helpful for households avoiding those ingredients.
- The listing targets adult, tiny/small dogs (5–39 lb). That clear sizing guidance helps reduce the risk of a treat being too large or too hard for small mouths when used as intended.
- Owner reports I reviewed include anecdotal notes about dogs with sensitive stomachs tolerating the treat and many owners praising breath improvement, which suggests reasonable digestibility for many dogs.
What the listing doesn’t specify (important safety gaps)
- The listing does not provide serving-size instructions or explicit daily limit guidance on the product page text I reviewed—therefore you should check the actual package for feeding instructions and consult a professional if your dog has special dietary needs.
- There is no full ingredient panel or guaranteed analysis (protein/fat/fiber percent) listed, so if you need those numbers for a medical or allergy-sensitive diet, the listing doesn’t specify them here.
- The listing doesn’t list choking-risk warnings or break-down behavior (for example whether pieces tend to splinter or whether they soften when chewed). That lack of specificity means you should supervise your dog the first few times and break treats into smaller pieces if you’re worried about gulping.
- There is no mention of AAFCO statements, endorsements, or clinical dental studies on the product page text I reviewed, so any plaque/tartar claims should be viewed as mechanical and anecdotal rather than -proofed in the listing.
Practical safety tips
- Use these treats only for the target age and breed sizes listed: adult, tiny/small dogs (5–39 lb). The listing identifies that range.
- Supervise chew time the first few uses to confirm your dog chews instead of swallowing whole; the listing emphasizes uneven shapes and ridges to encourage chewing, but individual behavior varies.
- If your dog has a history of food allergies, note the listing’s explicit exclusions (no wheat, soy, corn, artificial flavor, or animal by-products) but check the full ingredient list on pack if possible because the listing does not provide a full guaranteed analysis.
- For dogs with advanced dental disease, the listing and owner anecdotes suggest these treats can help with maintenance and breath control, but the listing does not replace dental care. consult a qualified professional for clinical advice.
Who this is for / who should skip
I always try to match a product to specific dogs and life stages. The listing provides clear boundaries that make that easier here.
Best for
- Tiny and small adult dogs in the 5–39 lb weight range — the listing explicitly designs these chews for that size range and labels the product for small breeds and adults.
- Owners looking for plant-based dental chews — the listing specifies the product is plant-based and free of animal by-products.
- Dogs that respond well to mint or herbal flavors — the manufacturer lists five natural breath-fresheners (alfalfa, parsley, fennel, dill, and peppermint oil) and mint flavoring; owner feedback indicates many dogs enjoy the taste.
- Owners seeking a simple nightly routine to freshen breath and provide some mechanical cleaning — multiple owner reports highlighted breath improvement and nighttime use as part of a dental routine.
Who should skip or be cautious
- Puppies: The listing’s age-range description is Adult. The listing does not specify puppy suitability, so these are not recommended for puppies unless the manufacturer’s package explicitly allows it.
- Larger breeds: The product is sized for tiny/small dogs (5–39 lb) per the listing. If you have a medium or large breed, the listing does not claim suitability for those sizes.
- Dogs with severe dental disease: While owner anecdotes mention plaque reduction in some cases, the listing does not replace professional care. Dogs with visible or painful dental issues should see a professional.
- Dogs with very specific ingredient sensitivities: The listing states several exclusions, but it does not provide a full ingredient panel on the product page text I reviewed; check the package for a complete list if your dog has known allergies.
Verdict
Minties Dog Dental Bone Treats deliver what their listing promises: a plant-based, mint-flavored dental chew designed for tiny/small adult dogs with an uneven, ridged design that encourages chewing and lists natural breath-fresheners. In the body of owner feedback I reviewed, breath improvement was the most commonly reported benefit, and a number of owners reported strong palatability. Some owners even reported visible plaque reduction with nightly use. The listing’s transparency about ingredient exclusions (no wheat, soy, corn, artificial flavors, or animal by-products) is a solid point in favor of owners wanting a plant-based option.
However, the product page I reviewed lacks a full guaranteed analysis, calorie counts, and per-piece sizing info, so if you need those numbers for health or weight-control reasons, the listing doesn’t specify them. Also, the listing doesn’t provide clinical dental study citations or AAFCO statements on the product page text I looked at; treat-based mechanical cleaning is helpful for maintenance, but not a substitute for professionalerinary dental care in dogs with serious oral disease.
Check before you buy (quick checklist)
- Confirm your dog fits the listed size and life stage: tiny/small adult dogs (5–39 lb), Age Range Description: Adult.
- Look at the package for feeding/serving instructions and a full ingredient panel — the listing excludes wheat, soy, corn, artificial flavors, and animal by-products but does not provide a complete guaranteed analysis on the product page.
- Supervise the first few chews to ensure your dog chews instead of swallowing pieces whole (the listing emphasizes a chew-friendly design, but behavior varies).
- For dogs with dental disease, use these as part of a plan with a qualified professional — the listing describes mechanical cleaning action and breath-freshening botanicals but does not replace professional care.
- Check the actual pack you receive: owner feedback I reviewed noted receiving two bags, and packaging photos suggest resealable bags and mint/green branding.
Packaging colors
- Available colors may include: green (mint packaging), white (label accents), beige (treat color), brown (treat color).
My bottom line: If you have a small adult dog and want an affordable, plant-based dental chew that most dogs find tasty and that can help freshen breath, Minties Mint Dental Bones are worth trying. Just check the package for full nutritional info and supervise initial chews—especially if your dog tends to gulp.
FAQ
How big of a dog are these treats meant for?
These are designed for tiny/small adult dogs in the 5–39 lb weight range and the listing labels the product for small breeds and adults. The listing’s age-range description is "Adult."
Are Minties dental bones plant-based and free of common fillers?
Yes. The listing states the product is plant-based and specifically says it contains no wheat, soy, corn, artificial flavor, or animal by-products.
What breath-freshening ingredients are included?
The listing lists five natural breath-fresheners: alfalfa, parsley, fennel, dill, and peppermint oil, and the flavor is Mint.
Do these treats actually help with plaque or tartar?
The listing emphasizes textured cleaning action—the uneven shape and ridges are meant to mechanically scrub plaque and tartar. In owner feedback I reviewed, several people reported fresher breath and some reported visible plaque reduction with regular nightly use, though the listing does not provide clinical study data or a professionalerinary endorsement.
How many treats come in a package?
The listing identifies the product as a Pack of 2 with a unit count of 32 ounces and an item weight of 2.3 pounds. In owner feedback I reviewed, at least one owner reported receiving two bags of 40 treats each. The product page itself does not list a guaranteed treat count per bag.
Are these safe for dogs with sensitive stomachs?
The listing’s exclusions (no wheat, soy, corn, artificial flavor, or animal by-products) and plant-based formula may help dogs with certain sensitivities; in the owner feedback I reviewed, one owner noted their small dog with stomach issues tolerated these treats without problem. If your dog has known food allergies or sensitivities, check the full ingredient listing on the package and consult a qualified professional.
Can puppies eat these?
The listing’s Age Range Description is "Adult," and the product is designed for tiny/small adult dogs (5–39 lb). The listing does not specify puppy suitability, so these are not recommended for puppies based on the product page information.
Are there artificial flavors or animal by-products?
The listing explicitly states these treats contain no artificial flavor and no animal by-products.
Frequently asked questions
How big of a dog are these treats meant for?
These are designed for tiny/small adult dogs in the 5–39 lb weight range and the listing labels the product for small breeds and adults. The listing’s age-range description is "Adult."
Are Minties dental bones plant-based and free of common fillers?
Yes. The listing states the product is plant-based and specifically says it contains no wheat, soy, corn, artificial flavor, or animal by-products.
What breath-freshening ingredients are included?
The listing lists five natural breath-fresheners: alfalfa, parsley, fennel, dill, and peppermint oil, and the flavor is Mint.
Do these treats actually help with plaque or tartar?
The listing emphasizes textured cleaning action—the uneven shape and ridges are meant to mechanically scrub plaque and tartar. In owner feedback I reviewed, several people reported fresher breath and some reported visible plaque reduction with regular nightly use, though the listing does not provide clinical study data or a professionalerinary endorsement.
How many treats come in a package?
The listing identifies the product as a Pack of 2 with a unit count of 32 ounces and an item weight of 2.3 pounds. In owner feedback I reviewed, at least one owner reported receiving two bags of 40 treats each. The product page itself does not list a guaranteed treat count per bag.
Are these safe for dogs with sensitive stomachs?
The listing’s exclusions (no wheat, soy, corn, artificial flavor, or animal by-products) and plant-based formula may help dogs with certain sensitivities; in the owner feedback I reviewed, one owner noted their small dog with stomach issues tolerated these treats without problem. If your dog has known food allergies or sensitivities, check the full ingredient listing on the package and consult a qualified professional.
Can puppies eat these?
The listing’s Age Range Description is "Adult," and the product is designed for tiny/small adult dogs (5–39 lb). The listing does not specify puppy suitability, so these are not recommended for puppies based on the product page information.
Are there artificial flavors or animal by-products?
The listing explicitly states these treats contain no artificial flavor and no animal by-products.
Think it’s right for your pet?
Double-check size, age, and species fit on the listing. The same affiliate link covers details and checkout — supports the site at no extra cost to you.
Affiliate disclosure: Links on this page may earn us a commission. You pay the same price; it helps fund more ridiculous field tests.