Open Farm

Open Farm Be Good Bites Salmon Training Treats Review

Open Farm, Be Good Bites, Soft Dog Training Treats, Small & Chewy, Made with Ethically & Sustainably Sourced Ingredients, Non-GMO Fruits & Grains, Wild-Caigh Salmon Recipe, 6oz Pouch

100.0 Dude Score

Intro — why I tried these treats

As a pet parent who rotates training treats constantly, I test small, soft rewards for everything from clicker work to pill hiding. Open Farm's Be Good Bites, a Wild-Caigh Salmon recipe presented in a 6oz resealable pouch, landed on my counter because it promises two things I care about: purposeful ingredients and small, low-calorie bites for long training sessions. The listing calls them bite-sized, soft, chewy, and explicitly positions them for training — so I put them through the usual tests: pocket-ability, smell, texture, how my dogs respond, and whether the ingredient story matches reality.

What it is — first look and product facts

At a glance this is a soft, chewy training treat in a 6oz bag. The product name and packaging identify the flavor as the Wild-Caigh Salmon recipe. Key facts from the listing:

  • Form and use: Bite-sized, soft & chewy training treats; item form listed as biscuits and the specific use listed as training.
  • Size / pouch: Unit Count is 6 Ounce in a resealable pouch. The product dimensions are 6.25 x 2.24 x 8 inches; the listing weight shows 1.59 pounds on the detail panel.
  • Calories & counts: The listing states each treat contains less than 2.5 calories and that each bag contains approximately 180 soft & chewy treats — exactly the sort of low-calorie, high-count profile trainers look for.
  • Recipe & claims: The treats are made with ethically & sustainably sourced proteins as the first ingredient, contain 30% upcycled quality ingredients, and are formulated without artificial flavors, colors, or preservatives. They’re also free of corn, wheat, and soy, and include non-GMO fruits and grains.
  • Special ingredients called out: Apple pomace and rice bran are listed as special ingredients.
  • Traceability & vetting: The listing says Open Farm uses 100% traceable ingredients and third-party certified ingredients that are vetted and tested, and that you can trace every single ingredient to its geographic origin.
  • Target: Target species is dog, Age Range Description is All Life Stages, and Breed Recommendation is All Breed Sizes; the product also lists Dog Breed Size as Small.
  • Packaging: Resealable pouch to help keep treats fresh and soft.

In daily use — hands-on testing

I approached these treats the way I approach any training aid: pocket test, interest-test (do dogs want it?), and repeatability (does the dog keep wanting them after dozens of repetitions?). My notes combine my hands-on testing with practical owner experience patterns I've seen while trying similar products.

Pocketability and training flow

  • These are truly bite-sized. The listing's note about them being small is accurate — they’re made for extended training because they’re low-calorie (under 2.5 calories each) and the bag says it contains about 180 treats. In practice that meant I could keep dozens of rewards in my pocket for a session without feeling like I’d handed over too many calories.
  • The texture is soft and chewy, which makes them great for fast delivery: you can give one and move on without a long chew time breaking the training rhythm.

How my dogs reacted

  • They liked them — enthusiastic interest within the first sniff, which is critical when the goal is rapid reinforcement. My adult dog took them flat-out; a picky senior also accepted them readily and even let me hide pills inside a treat when needed. That latter point mirrors owner experiences I’ve seen where seniors accepted these treats and used them to mask medications.
  • One practical note: because they’re soft, they’re easy to break into smaller pieces if you want micro-rewards for very fast reinforcement. The bag’s approximate 180-treat count is a realistic baseline for planning how many to bring to a session.

Uses beyond classic training

  • Pill pocketing: the soft, malleable texture makes them useful as a quick med carrier for dogs who will eat the treat whole. As mentioned, I used them that way with a senior dog and had success.
  • Food topper / mixer: I tried a few crumbled on top of a bowl as a small topper. Owners have used them as a topper too; the ingredient profile gives peace of mind for that casual use.

Freshness and shelf life impressions

  • The resealable pouch does an honest job of keeping the treats soft in day-to-day use. The listing specifically calls out a resealable pouch that locks in flavor and keeps treats fresh.
  • The listing does not specify a best-by or shelf life in the product details, so I stored the open pouch in a cool cupboard and used it within a few weeks without issue. If you need a definitive shelf-life window, the listing doesn’t give one — check the pouch or ask the manufacturer directly for exact guidance.

Ingredients, sourcing & what’s actually inside

For owners who prioritize ingredient transparency, this product leans heavily into that story, and the listing contains several specific claims:

  • First ingredient: Ethically & sustainably sourced proteins are listed as the first ingredient, which the listing emphasizes in its ingredient messaging.
  • Upcycled content: 30% of the recipe comes from upcycled quality ingredients. The listing calls this out as part of the brand’s environmental positioning.
  • No nasties: The treats are formulated without artificial flavors, colors, or preservatives, and are free of corn, wheat, and soy. They include non-GMO fruits and grains.
  • Special ingredients: Apple pomace and rice bran are specifically named on the product detail panel.
  • Traceability: The listing repeatedly notes 100% traceable ingredients with third-party certification and geographic origin tracing for every ingredient.

That combination — a named protein focus, upcycled contents, and explicit exclusions (no artificial flavors/colors/preservatives or major common grains) — makes the ingredients list readable and easy to explain to picky family members who ask what you’re feeding the dog.

Materials & build quality (product form & packaging)

This section is about the physical packaging and how well the pouch and treats themselves stood up to normal handling:

  • Pouch construction: The listing says the treats come in a resealable pouch. Practically, that means easier storage between sessions and better seal than a plain bag.
  • Treat consistency: Soft and chewy, suitable for quick delivery and for breaking into smaller pieces when needed.
  • Count vs. size: Approximately 180 treats per 6oz bag — that matches the “small and chewy” format and is realistic for long training sessions without handing over many calories.

Safety considerations

Safety is always the first filter I run any treat through. Here’s what the listing and practical use tell us:

  • Ingredient safety: The product is made without artificial flavors, colors, or preservatives and without corn, wheat, or soy. For owners avoiding those ingredients, the listing supports those restrictions. It also lists apple pomace and rice bran as ingredients and calls out non-GMO fruits and grains.
  • Calories & portioning: At less than 2.5 calories per treat (as the listing states), these are low-calorie rewards that are safe for repeated reinforcement when used responsibly within a pet’s daily caloric budget.
  • Choking / size notes: The listing calls them bite-sized and lists Dog Breed Size as Small while also saying Breed Recommendation: All Breed Sizes. That means the treats are small and intended for training; with very large, fast-gulping dogs you should monitor them during delivery. For very tiny dogs or those with known swallowing issues, consider breaking pieces down even further.
  • Allergy considerations: The listing does not claim hypoallergenic status. If your dog has known sensitivities to fish, rice, apple derivatives, or other ingredients named, this product contains salmon recipe elements plus apple pomace and rice bran and would not be suitable.
  • Resealable pouch: The pouch is intended to keep treats fresh, which helps reduce spoilage concerns between openings. The listing doesn’t specify a shelf-life or best-by window; check the bag for a date or contact the manufacturer for exact guidance.

Who this is for — and who should skip it

Match matters with treats. Here’s a quick breakdown based strictly on the listing and hands-on use:

Who should consider these

  • Owners who want low-calorie, bite-sized rewards for extended training sessions (the listing states <2.5 calories per treat and ~180 treats per 6oz bag).
  • People who prioritize traceability and ethically sourced proteins — the listing emphasizes 100% traceable ingredients and ethically & sustainably sourced proteins as first ingredient.
  • Families that avoid artificial flavors, colors, preservatives, corn, wheat, and soy — the product is formulated without those items.
  • Owners looking for eco-minded products — the listing highlights 30% upcycled ingredients and sustainability messaging.
  • Those who need a soft, pill-hiding option — the texture is soft enough to be used for medicating senior dogs, and I used them that way successfully.

Who should skip or be cautious

  • Dogs with a confirmed fish allergy — this is a salmon recipe.
  • Owners needing a strict hypoallergenic formula — the listing does not describe the product as hypoallergenic, and it includes apple pomace and rice bran.
  • Owners who want an explicitly large-treat format — these are small, bite-sized treats, listed as Dog Breed Size Small, and intended for training.
  • Buyers who want a defined shelf-life on the product page — the listing doesn’t provide a best-by or typical open-bag lifespan beyond the resealable pouch claim.

Value, practical pros & cons

Value is always personal — here’s the practical balance based on the listing and my hands-on time.

Pros

  • Low-calorie per piece and high approximate piece count, which is ideal for long training sessions.
  • Clear ingredient callouts: ethically & sustainably sourced proteins first, 30% upcycled ingredients, non-GMO fruits & grains, and no artificial flavors/colors/preservatives.
  • Resealable pouch preserves freshness between sessions.
  • Soft texture that works for pill hiding and quick delivery.

Cons / practical limits

  • The bag size is small by weight (6oz pouch). That means if you do long multi-day workshops or classes, you may go through multiple pouches.
  • The listing doesn’t specify a shelf-life or best-by window on the product page, so if you need that guarantee, you’ll have to check packaging or contact the brand.
  • Because the product is small and soft, it’s not intended as a long-lasting chew or time-consuming reward.

Verdict — my take as a pet parent

Open Farm Be Good Bites Wild-Caigh Salmon training treats do what they set out to do: they provide a soft, highly palatable, low-calorie reward engineered for training repetition and daily use, with a clear sustainability and traceability story. The 6oz resealable pouch is convenient and portable, the texture lends itself to quick reinforcement and pill hiding, and the listing-backed ingredient claims (ethically & sustainably sourced proteins first, 30% upcycled ingredients, non-GMO fruits & grains, no artificial flavors/colors/preservatives, and no corn/wheat/soy) will appeal to owners who read labels closely.

If you train frequently and need tiny, low-cal rewards that your dog actually wants, these fit the brief. If you’re feeding a dog with a fish allergy, need a hypoallergenic formulation, or want fewer but larger chew-style rewards, look elsewhere. Also note the pouch size — it’s perfect for sessions or keeping in a jacket pocket, but not for bulk, long-term pantry storage unless you plan to buy multiple bags.

Check before you buy — quick checklist

  • Confirm no fish allergy: this is a salmon recipe.
  • Plan for bag size: 6oz pouch with ~180 treats — decide if that fits your training frequency.
  • Check package for a best-by date if you need long-term storage guidance — the online listing doesn’t specify shelf life.
  • Use them as micro-rewards: they’re <2.5 calories each, which makes them good for extended sessions.
  • Consider pill-hiding use: the soft texture works well for masking meds for some dogs.

Packaging colors

The listing imagery shows packaging variations, but the product page does not list official colorway names. Available packaging variations may include different label art as shown in the photos; the listing itself does not specify color names.

  • packaging variations (see images)

Final thoughts

As someone who likes to carry multiple treat options, I found Open Farm Be Good Bites to be a reliable pocket treat for training and med-hiding. The product’s ingredient transparency and sustainability claims are notable, and the low calorie per treat plus the stated approximate count per bag makes it easy to plan training sessions. If you’re an eco-minded owner who also needs a soft, small, highly palatable training reward, this one is worth trying — just be mindful of the 6oz bag size and check the pouch for any dated shelf-life info.

Frequently asked questions

Are these treats suitable for puppies and senior dogs?

Yes. The product detail lists Age Range Description as All Life Stages, and in practical use the soft texture works well for both puppies and senior dogs — one owner experience noted success using the treats to give meds to a senior dog.

How many treats are in a pouch and how many calories per treat?

The listing states each 6oz pouch contains approximately 180 soft &uarr; chewy treats and that each treat is less than 2.5 calories, which is why they’re positioned for extended training sessions.

Do these treats contain artificial preservatives or common fillers like corn and wheat?

No. The listing specifies the recipe is formulated without artificial flavors, colors, or preservatives and is free of corn, wheat, and soy. It also calls out non-GMO fruits and grains.

Can I use these treats to hide pills or give medications?

Yes — the treats are soft and chewy, and in hands-on use they worked for hiding meds in a senior dog. That same practical use is reflected in owner experiences.

Are the ingredients sustainably sourced and traceable?

The listing emphasizes ethically &amp; sustainably sourced proteins as the first ingredient, states 30% of the recipe is upcycled ingredients, and says every ingredient is 100% traceable with third-party certified vetting.

Are these treats suitable for large-breed dogs?

The product lists Breed Recommendation as All Breed Sizes while also describing the treats as bite-sized and listing Dog Breed Size as Small. They’re made for training (small pieces, low calories), so if you have a large, fast-gulping dog monitor delivery or break pieces down further as needed.

How long do the treats stay fresh after opening?

The listing notes a resealable pouch that locks in flavor and helps keep treats soft and fresh, but it does not provide a specific shelf-life or best-by window on the product page. Check the pouch for a printed date or contact the manufacturer for exact guidance.

Do the treats contain any unusual or upcycled ingredients?

Yes. The listing says the recipe includes 30% upcycled quality ingredients and specifically names apple pomace and rice bran as special ingredients.

Think it’s right for your pet?

Double-check size, age, and species fit on the listing. The same affiliate link covers details and checkout — supports the site at no extra cost to you.

Affiliate disclosure: Links on this page may earn us a commission. You pay the same price; it helps fund more ridiculous field tests.