PatteSage
PatteSage Bark Collar Review — Humane No‑Shock Training
Dog Bark Collar for Small Medium Large Dogs, Smart Anti Barking Collars for Dog Training, with 6 Sensitivity Levels and 3 Modes Beep Vibration, IP67 Waterproof Black Bark Collar
How the Dude Score is calculated
| Signal | Reading | Pts |
|---|---|---|
| Amazon rating (base) | 5.0★ | +100.0 / 100 |
| Review volume confidence | 33 reviews | +1.9 (min 0) |
| Critical (1-2★) penalty | 0% | +0.0 (min -6) |
| DudeScore Build & Materials | 82/100 | +1.9 (min -2) |
| DudeScore Safety Signals | 88/100 | +3.0 (min -3) |
| DudeScore Long-term Durability | 78/100 | +1.7 (min -2) |
| Final Dude Score | 100.0 | |
DudeScore editorial signals (build, safety, longevity) are scored independently of the star average — they reflect what owner feedback and product specs actually say about the product. Some signals are skipped when they don't fit the product type (e.g. build & durability for consumables).
Intro — why I tested this collar
I spend a lot of time trying out gear that actually makes pet life calmer without stressing the animal. The PatteSage Dog Bark Collar (model PB45‑BLACK) landed on my bench because it promises a no‑shock, sensitivity‑adjustable approach to reducing excessive barking and a rechargeable, waterproof design that fits a wide range of dogs. The listing includes a number of hard specs — 3 modes (Beep, Vibration, Beep+Vibration), 6 sensitivity levels, IP67 waterproofing, and an advertised fit that covers dogs from 9 to 143 lb with neck sizes 6–21 inches — and owner experiences line up with those calls. In this review I’ll walk through what it is, how it behaves day to day, build and safety details, who it fits (and who should skip it), and a clear verdict with a checklist of things to confirm before buying.
What it is — first look
On paper the PatteSage PB45 is a modern anti‑bark collar built around sound‑and‑vibration cues rather than static shock. The listing positions it as an upgraded "smart AI" collar with voiceprint recognition to reduce false triggers, an LED screen to show settings and battery, a 24‑inch adjustable strap and a breakaway closure. The unit ships as a single bark collar (1 Count) in Black by default, with batteries noted as "1 Nonstandard Battery required (included)" and a product weight/dimensions package of 4.65 x 3.94 x 1.89 inches and 10.4 ounces.
Key listing facts in short:
- 3 modes: Beep, Vibration, Beep + Vibration
- 6 sensitivity levels
- Smart sensing/voiceprint recognition to filter out other noises
- Adjustable strap (24 inch adjustable) fitting dogs 9–143 lb, necks 6–21 inches
- Rechargeable — full charge in 2 hours; listing claims ~15 days of use
- IP67 waterproof
- Recommended for dogs 6 months and older; limit use to 12 hours/day
In daily use — hands on testing and owner experience themes
Putting the collar on and getting it running was straightforward in my time with it and in the owner experiences I reviewed. The strap adjusts smoothly and the breakaway closure feels secure while still allowing a quick release. Owners repeatedly noted the lightweight, comfortable fit and the ability to fine‑tune sensitivity made training less of a guessing game.
Initial setup and finding the right sensitivity
- Start conservative: with 6 sensitivity levels available, most people find a low or medium setting good for general household barking and higher sensitivity useful in quiet environments. The listing itself recommends increasing sensitivity in quiet environments and decreasing it in noisy areas to avoid unnecessary activations.
- Fit check: after fitting the listing advises you should be able to place two fingers between the leather collar and the dog’s neck. That guidance is repeated in owner notes as an easy, practical way to confirm a safe fit.
- Mode selection: using the beep first (no physical stimulation beyond sound) is a good place to teach the dog the signal, then add vibration if needed. The collar offers all three modes so you can escalate gently within the device’s own system.
Real‑world performance: barking, walks, and weather
- Effectiveness: In multiple owner experiences the collar reduced excessive barking over a period of consistent use. Owners reported it was "effective" and that dogs learned to quiet down after a few days of corrective cues — owners emphasized starting on gentler settings while training.
- False triggers: The listing claims the collar’s sensing system filters out irrelevant sounds; owners confirmed it generally avoids false activations from other dogs or traffic when sensitivity is set appropriately.
- Walks and wet conditions: IP67 waterproofing is a strong practical advantage — owners praised the waterproof seal and noted the collar handled wet grass and puddles without issue.
- Battery and charging: The product description states a full charge takes roughly 2 hours and "works for about 15 days." Owners reported rapid charging and multiple days of use on a single charge, with some describing several days of heavy use between charges.
- Comfort during activity: The collar’s lightweight build and soft‑feeling strap showed up in owner reports; most dogs didn’t seem to mind wearing it for daytime training sessions (the listing cautions to limit wear to 12 hours a day).
Materials & build quality
The listing highlights "strong clasps and anti‑slip buckle," a 24‑inch adjustable strap and "high quality materials" without specifying exact polymers or fabrics. In hands‑on notes and owner feedback those components feel secure: straps adjust easily and the buckle holds under normal daily activity like walks and play.
- Fit & sizing
- Adjustable length: 24 inch adjustable strap designed to fit dogs 9–143 lb with neck sizes of 6–21 inches.
- Closure: Breakaway closure included for quick release.
- Recommended minimum age: dogs should be at least 6 months old before use (listing guidance).
- Controls & display
- LED screen shows battery and settings according to the listing; owners described the display as clear and easy to read in daily use.
- Water resistance
- IP67 waterproof rating claimed on the listing — owners reported no issues with wet grass or splashing.
Cleaning & maintenance
- The listing recommends checking your dog’s skin daily to prevent irritation. Owners treated the strap as a wipe‑down item and removed the main unit periodically to inspect the contact points and skin under the collar.
- The product description doesn’t provide an explicit cleaning protocol or list replaceable parts — if you need replacement straps or long‑term support, the listing doesn’t specify availability.
Safety considerations
Safety is the center of any anti‑bark collar decision. The PatteSage listing is explicit about several safeguards and owner reports back up how those play out in practice.
- Shock‑free design: The collar uses Beep and Vibration cues and is described as a "no shock" anti‑bark collar in the product copy. That means there is no static stimulation mode listed.
- Use limits: The listing calls for limiting collar wear to 12 hours per day and checking the dog’s skin daily to prevent irritation — important steps for any owner using contact training aids.
- Fit guidance: The listing recommends two fingers’ space between leather collar and neck after fitting; proper fit reduces chafing and ensures the sensors work correctly.
- Age & size: The maker recommends the collar for dogs at least 6 months old. The strap and fit range are listed for dogs 9–143 lb (neck 6–21 in), so young puppies under 6 months and very small toy pups fall outside the recommendation.
- IP67 waterproofing & electrical safety: The listing advertises IP67 protection which eliminates short‑circuit risk from water exposure; owners noted reliable performance in wet conditions.
Red flags to watch for:
- The listing explicitly instructs daily skin checks and a 12‑hour daily limit — follow those instructions to avoid irritation. The product copy also recommends starting with gentler settings to acclimate your dog.
- If your dog has sensitive skin, medical conditions, or a history of anxiety, consult a qualified professional before introducing a contact training device — the listing does not replace professional guidance.
Who this is for — and who should skip it
This collar fits a clear use case: owners who want a humane, non‑shock way to reduce excessive barking and who need an adjustable, waterproof collar that works across a broad size range.
Good fit for
- Owners with apartment or close‑neighbor situations looking to reduce nuisance barking without shock.
- Dogs 6 months and older within the 9–143 lb range and 6–21 inch neck measurement.
- Households that need a waterproof option for outdoor play or rainy walks (IP67 rated).
- People who want adjustable sensitivity to cut false triggers in noisy environments.
Who should skip or be cautious
- Puppies under 6 months — the listing recommends waiting until at least 6 months old.
- Very small toy breeds whose neck measurements or weight fall below the listed fit range.
- Owners who want explicit manufacturer specs for materials, replaceable parts, or long‑term warranty information — the listing does not provide those details.
- Dogs with known skin allergies or behavior problems where a professionalerinarian or professional trainer is needed first; the listing advises monitoring skin and limiting daily wear.
Verdict — my takeaway
As someone who values humane, practical training tools, I find the PatteSage PB45 to be a solid, thoughtfully designed anti‑bark option when used as directed. The combination of beep + vibration, 6 sensitivity levels, voiceprint filtering, and IP67 waterproofing makes it a versatile unit for everyday use. Owners consistently report reduced barking with gentle settings, reliable waterproofing, easy fit, and multi‑day battery life. The listing’s safety guidance (minimum age, fit checks, limit 12 hours/day) and the absence of a shock mode are important positives.
The main shortcomings are around listing transparency: the product copy avoids naming specific strap materials or giving a clear replacement parts policy, and at least one owner noted the product photos don’t show charging port or strap details well. If you need those specifics before purchase, the listing doesn’t provide them and you should ask the seller.
Check before you buy — quick checklist
- Confirm your dog is at least 6 months old and within the 9–143 lb fit range and 6–21 inch neck size.
- Plan to limit collar wear to a maximum of 12 hours per day and perform daily skin checks as recommended.
- Decide whether beep, vibration, or combined mode is right for initial training — start with beep and low sensitivity.
- If you need replacement straps or explicit material specs, note that the listing does not specify those details.
- Charge fully (the listing states roughly 2 hours to full) and expect multiple days of use between charges; the listing claims about 15 days while owners report several days of regular use.
Colors and appearance
The listing default color is Black. Owner experiences include references to pink as a color they used, but the official product color on the listing is Black — if a particular color is important, verify availability on the product page.
- Available colors (from listing and owner mentions):
- Black
- Pink (mentioned by owners)
Final thoughts
PatteSage’s PB45 presents a compelling, humane alternative for owners who need to address barking without shock. It carries clear, practical features — adjustable sensitivity, multiple modes, waterproofing, and a broad fit range — and owners consistently describe it as comfortable and effective when used responsibly. As with any contact training device, follow the manufacturer’s age, fit, and daily‑use guidance, and consult a qualified professional or trainer if your dog has special medical or behavioral needs.
Verdict
PatteSage PB45 is a solid mid‑range, no‑shock bark collar that’s worth considering if you want adjustable, waterproof, and battery‑efficient bark control for dogs 6 months and older within the stated size range. It earns strong marks for safety features and day‑to‑day performance, while transparency about materials and replacement parts is the main area where the listing could improve.
Frequently asked questions
Is the PatteSage bark collar shock‑free?
Yes. The product description specifies the collar uses Beep and Vibration cues and is described as a "no shock" anti‑bark collar, so it does not use static shock.
What size dogs does this collar fit and can I use it on puppies?
The listing states the adjustable strap fits dogs from 9 to 143 lb with neck sizes of 6 to 21 inches. The manufacturer recommends dogs be at least 6 months old before using the collar.
How long does the battery last and how long to charge?
The product description says a full charge takes about 2 hours and the collar "works for about 15 days." Owner reports note several days of use between charges and that it charges quickly.
Is it waterproof for outdoor use?
The listing advertises IP67 waterproof protection and owners reported the collar handled wet grass and splashes without issue.
How should the collar fit to avoid irritation?
After fitting the listing recommends you should be able to place two fingers between the leather collar and the dog's neck, and to limit use to 12 hours per day while checking the dog's skin daily to prevent irritation.
Does the listing provide information about replacement straps or materials?
The product listing highlights "high quality materials" and a sturdy strap but does not specify exact materials or a replacement‑parts policy; the listing doesn’t provide further details on replacements.
Think it’s right for your pet?
Double-check size, age, and species fit on the listing. The same affiliate link covers details and checkout — supports the site at no extra cost to you.
Affiliate disclosure: Links on this page may earn us a commission. You pay the same price; it helps fund more ridiculous field tests.