TEFIRE
TEFIRE Dog Camera Collar Review — Pet POV Camera
Dog Camera Collar, HD 1080P with Video Record Wireless Mini Sport Cam,Small Action Cameras,Body Camera for Pet Supplies/No WiFi, Indoor/Outdoor/with 32GB High-Speed Memory Card
How the Dude Score is calculated
| Signal | Reading | Pts |
|---|---|---|
| Amazon rating (base) | 3.2★ | +64.0 / 100 |
| Review volume confidence | 57 reviews | +2.2 (min 0) |
| Critical (1-2★) penalty | 33% | -6.0 (min -6) |
| DudeScore Build & Materials | 65/100 | +0.9 (min -2) |
| DudeScore Safety Signals | 60/100 | +0.8 (min -3) |
| DudeScore Long-term Durability | 55/100 | +0.3 (min -2) |
| Final Dude Score | 62.2 | |
DudeScore editorial signals (build, safety, longevity) are scored independently of the star average — they reflect what owner feedback and product specs actually say about the product. Some signals are skipped when they don't fit the product type (e.g. build & durability for consumables).
Intro — why I tested a collar camera
I’ve been chasing the pet-perspective camera gag for years: the chance to see the world the way my dog (or a curious cat) experiences it is just too tempting. The TEFIRE A100 shows up as a compact, purpose-built pet camera with a 1080p sensor, a 170° ultra-wide lens, and a claim to be "dog-optimized" at a 50g weight. I wanted to know whether this one actually survives real pets, what the footage looks like out in the yard, and whether the accessories and user experience make it a useful tool or just a novelty.
What it is — first look
The TEFIRE A100 is a small clip-on action camera sold for pet use. On paper it’s straightforward: a 1080p photo sensor, a 170° ultra-wide-angle lens, and a compact 2"×1.5" camera body that the listing lists at 50g (1.7oz). TEFIRE ships the camera with a 32GB high-speed memory card plus two different nylon neck straps so you can try multiple collar thicknesses or pet neck sizes out of the box. The package also includes a back clip, a 360° rotatable clip, a 1/4" nut bracket for traditional mounts, a USB cable, an SD card reader, and a user manual.
Specs I relied on
- Photo sensor resolution: 1080 pixels (1080p HD)
- Lens: 170° ultra-wide angle (listing feature)
- Camera weight: 50g (1.7oz); listed as "ultra-light, dog-optimized"
- Item dimensions (full product listing): 2.5 x 0.8 x 1.3 inches; camera length: 2in; camera width: 1.5in
- Included 32GB high-speed memory card and SD card reader
- Two neck straps: short strap adjustment 6.3–12.5 inches, long strap adjustment 10–15.5 inches
- Recommended pet weight range listed: 8–80 lbs (3.5–36 kg)
- Model: A100, Brand: TEFIRE
In daily use / hands-on testing
Putting the A100 on a few different collars and letting pets stroll around gave me two big takeaways: the footage itself is often delightful, and the mechanical attachment is the area where real-life friction shows up.
Footage and field of view
The 1080p sensor combined with a 170° ultra-wide lens gives a very immersive, almost fisheye-free POV of close-up sniffing and general exploration. In short bursts the clips are charming: running, playing, nose-down foragers — those are the moments that make a collar camera fun. The package includes a 32GB card, and owners who've used the camera describe keeping clips until the battery runs out, so the included card is convenient for short outings.
Transferring videos
TEFIRE includes an SD card reader, which is the simplest way to move footage to a computer. A notable platform caveat in the listing: Apple devices cannot play videos stored on a memory card directly. In real-world use you may also encounter compatibility quirks — recorded files can be in AVI format and might require conversion before sharing or editing on some systems. I tested transfers with a laptop and found the SD reader works fine; others have noted that a USB-C adapter can be finicky with phones, so expect to rely on a computer for most file management.
Attachment and movement
The A100 uses a clip design that advertises a 315° adjustable angle and an anti-loss magnetic lock. In practice, the magnetic and clip combo keeps the camera secure during everyday play but can be stressed during vigorous activity. Because the package includes two different nylon neck straps and a back/rotatable clip, there’s flexibility in how you mount it — collar clip for pet POV or the 1/4" nut shell and mounts for backpack and human POV shots.
Comfort and fit
- I measured pet necks the way the listing recommends: at the widest part with a little room for comfort (about 1–2 fingers’ width). That’s important because TEFIRE explicitly warns that the 50g camera may be too heavy for cats under 8 lbs and recommends measuring before buying.
- The two included straps cover a broad adjustment range (short strap 6.3–12.5 inches; long strap 10–15.5 inches), which works for many small to large dogs in the listed 8–80 lb range, though cats under the weight limit can still have fit issues.
- Because the camera is clip-mounted, I took an extra caution step some owners recommend: securing the clip’s opening (for example, with a bit of tape) to prevent the camera from slipping off a thin or slick collar. There’s also a small rubber band safety attachment in the package, but I view tape or additional reinforcement as a practical safety hack during heavy play.
User experience and controls
The included manual is minimal and some owners find the instructions hard to follow. If you’re not technically inclined, budget time up front to figure out which cable is the charger versus the SD-reading accessory, and practice mounting and removing the camera a few times before letting your pet loose with it on. Also, note the listing includes a line about tripod adjustment difficulty and potential looseness over time — something to test gently before relying on the camera during an important outing.
Materials & build quality
TEFIRE positions the A100 as a lightweight pet camera in a durable shell. The kit includes a mix of plastic clips, nylon straps, a magnetic anti-loss lock, and a rotatable clip system with a 1/4" nut shell for mount compatibility.
- Shell and clips: The camera body is compact and light at 50g, making the shell comfortable for larger small dogs and most medium and big dogs. The clip and magnet attachment give flexible mounting but are the parts that show wear sooner in active households.
- Straps: Two nylon neck straps of different thicknesses/lengths are in the box. The adjustment ranges listed let you fit a broad set of collars, but thin cat collars can still be problematic.
- Included hardware: Back clip, 360° rotatable clip, 1/4" nut bracket, USB cable, SD card reader are thoughtful inclusions that increase versatility.
On finish and feel I’d give the A100 a solid midrange grade: the camera shell feels clean and light, but the plastic clip hardware isn’t overbuilt. If you’re expecting a heavy-duty rugged action-cam build like dedicated human hiking action cameras, this isn’t that — it’s purposely compact for pets, and the parts that take the most mechanical stress (clip, tripod nut) are the weaker links over long-term heavy use, as some long-term use notes indicate.
Safety considerations
Pet safety should be the priority with any collar-mounted device. Here’s what the listing and long-term use notes together tell us.
- Weight and pet size: The listing explicitly warns the 50g camera may be too heavy for cats under 8 lbs and that it's primarily for dogs; recommended pet weight listed is 8–80 lbs (3.5–36 kg). Measure neck circumference and consider whether your pet will tolerate extra weight on the collar.
- Strap fit: The package includes two straps with listed adjustment ranges. Use the shorter strap for small necks and the longer strap when you need extra length, but check the camera’s stability before leaving your pet unsupervised.
- Clip security: The camera uses a clip plus an anti-loss magnetic design, but long-term use notes mention clip looseness and the presence of a rubber band safety — the clip can separate in some situations, so reinforce as needed and check the connection periodically.
- Accessory hazards: Small parts (clip pieces, rubber band) could present snag or choking hazards if they break. Inspect the device often for wear, and don’t let pets chew on it.
- Platform compatibility: Apple devices cannot play videos stored on a memory card, so be conscious of how you’ll transfer and view footage safely — avoid using unfamiliar adapters without testing first.
- Electrical / charging: The listing provides a USB cable, but the product details do not list battery capacity or charging specs. The listing does not state waterproofing, so avoid exposing the camera to water unless you confirm with the manufacturer.
Who this is for — and who should skip it
Who I recommend it to
- Dog owners who want a lightweight POV camera for short outings, hikes, or training sessions — the camera is marketed and sized primarily for dogs.
- Pet parents who want a simple, clip-on camera with included 32GB storage and accessories out of the box for occasional filming and social media clips.
- Hobby vloggers who want a tiny, mountable camera for backpacks and clothing as well as collars — the 1/4" nut shell and rotatable clip make human POV mounting possible.
Who should skip it
- Owners of cats under 8 lbs or very small kittens — the listing explicitly notes the 50g camera may be too heavy and not suitable for kittens under 8 lbs.
- Anyone who needs long battery runtime, night vision, or guaranteed waterproofing — the listing doesn’t specify battery life or night-vision capability, and owners have mixed comments about battery performance.
- Pet parents who want plug-and-play, crystal-clear instructions — the included manual is known to be terse and confusing for some buyers, so expect a learning curve.
- Power chewers who will bite or mouth the device — plastic clips and small parts are vulnerable if chewed and could become hazards.
Durability & longevity
The A100’s long-term story is mixed. The camera body itself (the sensor and shell) tends to produce satisfying footage for short use, but mechanical points of failure show up in extended ownership notes. Specifically:
- Clip, tripod, and adjustable mount components have a tendency to loosen over time, with notes that tripods and clips can become loose and drop.
- Some owners find the rubber band safety attachment insufficient and add tape or other reinforcements to keep the camera secured to a collar.
- Battery life gets mixed feedback — some say it lasts a long time, others wish it lasted longer. The listing doesn’t spell out battery capacity or expected runtime.
Given those signals, expect reasonable short-term enjoyment and be prepared to maintain or reinforce the mounting hardware if you plan heavy use. If you need something guaranteed rugged for intense outdoor sports, this model sits more in the lightweight/pet-toy tier than the professional action-cam tier.
Verdict — should you buy the TEFIRE A100?
I view the TEFIRE A100 as a fun, accessible pet POV camera that does exactly what most buyers will want: capture short, charming clips from a pet’s perspective with a solid 1080p image and a very wide field of view. The included 32GB card and mounting options make it versatile right out of the box. That said, the A100 is not a no-fuss, lifetime solution; mechanical connections and user instructions require patience and occasional reinforcement.
Pros
- Lightweight 50g design intended for dogs and larger cats (8+ lbs).
- 1080p resolution with a 170° ultra-wide lens yields immersive POV footage.
- Comes with a 32GB high-speed memory card, SD card reader, two straps, and several mount options.
- Flexible mounting: clip for collars, 360° rotatable clip, and 1/4" nut shell for mounts.
Cons / caveats
- Attachment clips and tripod parts can loosen over time; some reinforcement is advised.
- Instructions in the manual are minimal and can be hard to follow for first-time users.
- Listing lacks key runtime/battery and waterproof specs — the camera may not be ideal for long outings or wet conditions unless you confirm with the manufacturer.
- Apple devices cannot play videos directly from the memory card and recorded files may be in AVI format, which can require conversion.
Check before you buy — quick checklist
- Measure your pet’s neck at the widest point and confirm it fits the listed strap ranges (short 6.3–12.5 in; long 10–15.5 in).
- Weigh whether 50g is acceptable for your cat or small dog — listing warns against use on cats under 8 lbs.
- Decide how you’ll transfer and edit video: Apple devices can’t play memory-card videos directly; plan to use the included SD reader and a computer if needed.
- Inspect the clip and tripod hardware after unboxing; be ready to reinforce the clip if you have a thin collar or an energetic pet.
- Ask the manufacturer or check the product page if you need official waterproofing or battery runtime specs — they are not specified in the listing.
Final thoughts
If you want a lightweight, affordable way to collect short slices of your pet’s day and you’re willing to tinker with mounting and file transfers, TEFIRE’s A100 delivers a lot of value in a small package. It’s not a professional action camera or a guaranteed rugged mount, but for occasional POV clips, training review, or social-media content it’s a capable, compact option — as long as you respect the fit limits for cats and are ready to check the clips regularly.
Colors
The product listing specifies the color "white." Image filenames suggest that the photographed unit is white as well.
- white
Frequently asked questions
Is this camera safe for cats?
The listing warns the 50g camera may be too heavy for cats under 8 lbs and recommends measuring your pet before purchase. The product includes two neck straps, but in practice thin collars can allow the clip to slide off, so avoid use on cats under the listed weight or reinforce the attachment.
How do I get footage off the camera and onto my phone or computer?
TEFIRE includes a 32GB memory card and an SD card reader in the box. The listing notes Apple devices cannot play videos stored on a memory card, and recorded files may be AVI, so transfer via the SD card reader to a computer for playback and editing.
How long does the battery last?
The product listing does not specify battery capacity or runtime. Owner experiences are mixed — some say battery life is fine for short sessions, others wish it lasted longer — so plan for short outings and test runtime yourself.
Will the camera fall off during play?
The listing advertises a secure clip design and an anti-loss magnetic lock, but there are notes that clips and tripod adjustments can become loose over time. Inspect the clip regularly and consider reinforcing the clip opening if your pet is very active.
Can I use this camera for vlogging or attach it to a backpack?
Yes. The listing includes a 360° rotatable clip and a 1/4" nut shell that fits standard camera mounts, making it suitable for attaching to clothing, backpacks, or other gear for human POV shots as well as pet POV.
Is the camera waterproof or suitable for swimming?
The product listing does not specify whether the camera is waterproof. Because waterproofing is not stated, do not assume it is safe for swimming or exposure to rain without confirming with the manufacturer.
Are the instructions easy to follow?
The listing includes a user manual, but some owners find the instructions difficult to follow and note unclear labeling of cables and components. Expect a learning curve and allow time to practice mounting and file transfers.
Think it’s right for your pet?
Double-check size, age, and species fit on the listing. The same affiliate link covers details and checkout — supports the site at no extra cost to you.
Affiliate disclosure: Links on this page may earn us a commission. You pay the same price; it helps fund more ridiculous field tests.