WholeHearted
WholeHearted Grain Free Pork, Beef & Lamb Dry Dog Food review
WholeHearted by Petco Grain Free Pork Beef & Lamb Recipe Dry Dog Food 25 lbs.
How the Dude Score is calculated
| Signal | Reading | Pts |
|---|---|---|
| Amazon rating (base) | 4.7★ | +94.0 / 100 |
| Review volume confidence | 119 reviews | +2.6 (min 0) |
| Critical (1-2★) penalty | 0% | +0.0 (min -6) |
| DudeScore Build & Materials | 80/100 | +1.8 (min -2) |
| DudeScore Safety Signals | 88/100 | +3.0 (min -3) |
| Final Dude Score | 100.0 | |
DudeScore editorial signals (build, safety, longevity) are scored independently of the star average — they reflect what owner feedback and product specs actually say about the product. Some signals are skipped when they don't fit the product type (e.g. build & durability for consumables).
Intro
I'm The Pet Dude — gear nerd and pet parent — and I spent time digging into WholeHearted's Grain Free Pork, Beef & Lamb Recipe Dry Dog Food so you don't have to. This review pulls directly from the product listing and owner research notes I collected: what the bag promises, who the recipe is designed for, and the real-life signals that matter to pet parents (palatability, digestive tolerance, and ingredient transparency). I treat every claim here as coming from the listing or owner experience summaries, and I flag anything the listing doesn't specify so you can follow up before you feed it to your dog.
What it is / first look
WholeHearted Grain Free Pork, Beef & Lamb is a dry kibble marketed as a grain-free adult dog food. The product is sold in a 25-pound bag (the listing shows dimensions and package weight), and the manufacturer lists "Real Pork is the 1st ingredient" and that the formula "contains real pork, beef, and lamb." The brand calls the recipe poultry free and highlights canine probiotics, omega-3 fatty acids, antioxidants (with guaranteed levels of Vitamin E, Selenium, and Zinc), and added vitamins and minerals for balanced nutrition. The listing also flags a specific use: "Hip and Joint Support."
Important bag-level specs pulled straight from the listing: the package size is 25 LBS and the product dimensions are published on the listing. The listing identifies the target age range as Adult, but the manufacturer-recommended age field also states "1 month and up" — I call that out later in safety because it’s an inconsistency worth confirming with the bag label or the brand. Directions on feeding are handled by the bag: the listing says to "refer to the bag label for serving suggestions based on your dog's weight."
In daily use
Palatability and appetite: The research notes I gathered repeatedly highlight that dogs take to this flavor mix — remarks like "my dog will only eat this food" and "my picky eater eats it" show up in the owner signal set I reviewed. From my perspective, that makes the formula a solid pick for dogs that need a tastier, protein-forward dry food. The listing itself supports that focus by naming three real meat sources and placing pork first in the ingredient billing.
Digestion and probiotics: The listing specifically calls out "canine probiotics help maintain digestive health." In the owner notes I reviewed, multiple signals say dogs don't get an upset stomach on this recipe — one owner highlights that the food "doesn't upset her stomach." While the listing doesn't publish guaranteed probiotic strains or CFU counts on the product page, the inclusion of probiotics as a feature suggests the brand intended digestive support as a benefit.
Texture and acceptance: The listing emphasizes "irresistible flavor and texture," and owner signals align with that claim. The listing does not specify kibble size, shape, or calorie density, so if your dog needs a particular kibble size (for dental, age, or jaw conformation reasons), the listing doesn't provide that detail and you should check the bag or contact the manufacturer.
By size & life stage
Medium & Large adult breeds
The listing includes a breed recommendation of "Large Breeds, Medium Breeds," and it also lists "Hip and Joint Support" under specific uses — two indicators that WholeHearted intended this bag to serve adult medium-to-large dogs, especially ones that might benefit from joint-focused nutrition. Owners in my research also flagged use with larger adults (for example, an 8-year-old lab was noted specifically). The exact nutrient profile and how it supports joint health (glucosamine/chondroitin levels, for instance) are not detailed on the product page, so the listing doesn't specify the active joint-support ingredient amounts.
Puppies and senior dogs
The listing's primary age designation is "Adult," yet the manufacturer-recommended age shows "1 month and up." Because of that mismatch, the listing doesn't clearly specify whether this exact formula is fully appropriate for growing puppies. The bag label is the referenced source for feeding instructions, so check the physical bag or reach out to the brand before feeding to a puppy. For seniors: the listing does call out hip and joint support and omega-3 fatty acids for skin and coat, which are often useful for older dogs, but the listing doesn't provide senior-specific feeding guidance or guaranteed levels for joint actives — again, consult the bag label and a professional for suitability.
Materials & build quality
For dry food, "materials" means ingredients and formulation transparency. The listing gives a clear set of headline features: "Real Pork is the 1st ingredient," the recipe "contains real pork, beef, and lamb," and it is described as "Poultry free." It also lists added functional ingredients and nutrient categories: canine probiotics, omega-3 fatty acids, antioxidants (with guaranteed levels of Vitamin E, Selenium, and Zinc), and vitamins and minerals for balanced nutrition. From a formulation standpoint, those are solid claims to see on a bag: a named primary meat source, multiple meat proteins, and explicit functional supports for digestion, skin/coat, and immunity.
The "grain free" callout is explicit on the product page: "Formulated without corn, wheat, or grains of any kind.*" The listing includes an important manufacturing caveat: "*manufactured in a facility that process grains. Trace amount of grain may be present." That means the recipe itself is grain-free, but cross-contact is possible in that facility — a detail to weigh if you need strict grain-free handling for an allergy or sensitivity.
Safety considerations
When I evaluate a food, safety is first. Here are the safety-focused facts and signals the listing and research notes provide:
- Allergen profile: The recipe contains pork, beef, and lamb as named meats and is explicitly "poultry free." If your dog has a pork, beef, or lamb allergy, this recipe is not a fit. Conversely, if your dog has a poultry sensitivity, the listing's "poultry free" label may be helpful — but remember the facility caveat below.
- Grain-free but not grain-free handling: The listing states the formulation is without corn, wheat, or grains of any kind, but it is manufactured in a facility that processes grains and cautions that trace amounts may be present. If your dog has a strict grain allergy (or you need guaranteed zero cross-contact), the bag-level caveat is a safety signal you can't ignore.
- Age labeling inconsistency: The listing labels the product as for "Adult" dogs while the manufacturer-recommended age field says "1 month and up." The listing doesn't specify the reason for that mix — because of that inconsistency, I recommend confirming with the bag or the manufacturer before feeding to a puppy under the care of a professional.
- Probiotics and digestion: The product highlights canine probiotics for digestive health and owner signals in my research indicate dogs tended to tolerate the food well. The listing, however, does not provide strain names or probiotic counts, so if you need that level of detail for a medically managed digestive issue, the bag itself or the manufacturer should be consulted.
- Choking and kibble size: The listing does not specify kibble size or shape. If your dog is a small-breed adult with limited jaw size or an elderly dog with dental issues, the listing doesn't give a definite answer on whether the kibble is appropriately sized. Check the bag or manufacturer materials.
Who this is for / who should skip
Based on the listing and owner research notes, here’s who I see this bag being aimed at — and who I’d be cautious with.
Good fit
- Adult medium and large breeds: the listing explicitly recommends large and medium breeds and lists hip & joint support as a specific use.
- Picky eaters who like meat-forward formulas: the listing highlights real pork as the 1st ingredient and contains multiple meat sources; owner research signals strongly note palatability ("my dog loves it," "dogs favorite").
- Dogs needing grain-free nutrition but not strict zero-cross-contact: the formula is grain-free in formulation, though the facility caveat allows trace grains.
- Pets where skin/coat support is a priority: omega-3 fatty acids are called out for skin and coat health.
Who should skip or check first
- Puppies unless you confirm suitability: the listing lists "Adult" in the age field but also shows a manufacturer age of "1 month and up," so the bag doesn't clearly resolve whether this is a growth formula. Check the bag label or the brand before using for puppies.
- Dogs with pork, beef, or lamb allergies: the recipe contains those meats, so this is not suitable for those specific protein allergies.
- Dogs needing guaranteed grain-free handling: because the product is manufactured in a facility that processes grains and may have trace amounts, this is not a good fit if you require strict absence of grain contamination.
- Owners who need precise probiotic strains or joint-ingredient guarantees: the listing mentions probiotics and joint support but does not list strains, CFU counts, or ingredient amounts. For medically guided diets you’ll need the detailed bag or manufacturer info.
Verdict
WholeHearted Grain Free Pork, Beef & Lamb Recipe Dry Dog Food is a meat-forward, grain-free-in-formulation dry food presented for adult medium and large breeds and positioned with functional benefits including probiotics, omega-3 fatty acids, and antioxidant support. In my review of the listing and owner research signals, several strengths rise to the top: dogs find it palatable, the primary ingredient is a named real meat (pork), and the brand highlights digestive and skin/coat supports that owners in my research corroborated as helpful for appetite and tolerance.
The important caveats are also clear from the listing: the formula is made in a facility that processes grains (trace grain presence possible), the listing contains an age-label inconsistency between "Adult" and "1 month and up," and the product page does not publish kibble size, probiotic strain or CFU details, or guaranteed levels for joint-specific actives. Those aren't deal-breakers for many families, but they are the exact sorts of details you should confirm on the bag or by contacting WholeHearted if your dog has strict dietary needs or medical conditions.
Check before you buy (quick checklist)
- Confirm the age suitability on the physical bag: the listing shows "Adult" and also "manufacturer recommended age: 1 month and up." If you plan to feed a puppy, verify feeding guidelines and formulation details.
- If your dog has a grain allergy, verify whether trace grains from the manufacturing facility are acceptable — the listing warns trace amounts may be present.
- Confirm kibble size if your dog has dental issues or is a small-breed adult; the listing does not specify kibble size or shape.
- If you need probiotics with specified strains or counts, or specific joint-support ingredient amounts, check the bag or ask the manufacturer — the listing notes probiotics and hip & joint support but doesn't publish counts or ingredient amounts.
- Make sure your dog tolerates pork, beef, and lamb; the recipe lists those meats explicitly and is poultry free.
Colors available (bag artwork)
The listing's image files show the packaging artwork. Available colors may include earth-tone bag artwork such as:
- brown
- tan
- green
- red
Note: the listing doesn't provide a color catalog for the bag — I inferred these tones from the product images on the page.
Final thoughts from The Pet Dude
If you want a meat-forward, grain-free-in-formulation dry food that many dogs seem to find tasty, WholeHearted's Pork, Beef & Lamb recipe is worth considering. The product page lists real meats, probiotics, omega-3s, and antioxidant vitamins and minerals, and owner signals in my research indicate strong palatability and good digestive tolerance for many dogs. For families where strict grain avoidance, specific probiotic strains, or puppy-specific formulations are essential, double-check the bag and ask the brand — the listing doesn't include every technical detail and includes a facility caveat about trace grains.
I like that the brand calls out hip & joint support and that the recipe is poultry free while using clear meat-first ingredient language — those are practical, shopper-focused features. Just remember: feeding guidelines and detailed ingredient guarantees live on the bag label and in manufacturer documentation; the listing points you there for that reason. If you want a mid- to large-breed adult food with broad owner-reported palatability and digestive success, this bag is a reasonable option in that category. If your dog has narrow dietary needs, check the label and consult a professional.
Frequently asked questions
Is this dog food grain-free?
The listing states the recipe is "Formulated without corn, wheat, or grains of any kind," but it also says the food is manufactured in a facility that processes grains and that trace amounts may be present.
What are the first ingredients?
The listing specifies "Real Pork is the 1st ingredient" and that the recipe "contains real pork, beef, and lamb." It is also described as poultry free.
Can I feed this to a puppy?
The product page lists the Age Range as "Adult," but the listing's manufacturer recommended age field states "1 month and up." Because of that inconsistency, the listing doesn't clearly specify puppy suitability — the listing directs shoppers to the bag label for feeding suggestions, so check the bag or the manufacturer before feeding to a puppy.
Does this food include probiotics?
Yes. The listing calls out "Canine probiotics help maintain digestive health," but it does not list specific probiotic strains or counts on the product page.
Is this food suitable for dogs with poultry allergies?
The listing labels the recipe as "Poultry free," which means the formulation does not include poultry. However, the food contains pork, beef, and lamb and is manufactured in a facility that processes grains (so trace grains are possible).
Does this bag provide hip and joint support?
The listing includes "Specific Uses for Product: Hip and Joint Support." The product page does not specify exact ingredient amounts for joint-support actives, so the listing doesn't provide guaranteed levels for those compounds.
Think it’s right for your pet?
Double-check size, age, and species fit on the listing. The same affiliate link covers details and checkout — supports the site at no extra cost to you.
Affiliate disclosure: Links on this page may earn us a commission. You pay the same price; it helps fund more ridiculous field tests.